THE LONG ISLAND RAIL ROAD

STEEL PASSENGER CAR ROSTER

 

GENERAL NOTE

 

When “:1”, “:2”, “:3” or “:4” is added to the end of a car number or car name, this denotes the first, second, third or fourth time the number or name has been assigned.

 

Builder abbreviations:

ACF - American Car & Foundry Company

BS - Bethlehem Steel

B&S - Barney & Smith

BT - Bombardier Transportation

Budd - Budd Company

Budd-GE - Budd Company/General Electric

KRC-Kawasaki Rail Car Inc.

OB - Osgood-Bradley

PRR - Pennsylvania Railroad (Altoona Shops)

P - Pullman Company

PCM - Pullman Car & Manufacturing Corporation

PS - Pullman-Standard Car Manufacturing Company

PSC - Pressed Steel Car Company

SSC - Standard Steel Car Company

TCC - Tokyu Car Corporation

 

NOTES

 

1-Scrapped at the Central Railroad of New Jersey’s Brills Yard, Newark NJ.

2-Scrapped at the New York City Transit Authority’s Coney Island Yard.

3-Scrapped at Corona.

4-Scrapped at Holban Yard.

5-B40 DETAILS

Exterior:  Arch-roof locomotive-hauled baggage-express car; no diaphragms; two windows per side; single baggage door in middle of each side; lightweight trucks on cars 641-650 and arch-bar trucks on cars 651-670.

Interior:  Single sliding end doors with small windows; steam heat coils along car sides; two kerosene lamps hanging from the ceiling, one on either side of the doors.

Modifications:

641 converted to chloride car 497100, 1934-35.

642 converted to chloride car 497101, 1934-35.

643 converted to chloride car 497102, 1934-35.

644 converted to chloride car 497103, 1934-35.

645 converted to chloride car 497104, 1934-35.

649 converted to brush car 498840, 1934-35.

650 converted to brush car 498841, 1934-35.

651 converted to brush car 498844, 1934-35.

652 converted to snow-scraper car 495745, 1934-35.

653 converted to snow-scraper car 495746, 1934-35.

654 converted to snow-scraper car 495772, 1934-35.

655 converted to brush car 498842, 1934-35.

656 converted to snow-scraper car 495773, 1934-35.

657 converted to brush car 498843, 1934-35.

659 converted to snow-scraper car 495744, 1934-35.

660 converted to snow-scraper car 495791, 1934-35.

662 converted to snow-scraper car 495792, 1934-35.

663 converted to brush car 498845, 1934-35.

664 converted to snow-scraper car 495793, 1934-35.

665 converted to brush car 498846, 1934-35.

667 converted to brush car 498847, 1934-35.

Dispositions:  658 scrapped at Babylon Yard.

General:  When these cars were used in express service they were sealed after loading at their western terminal, set out at their respective points and had their seals broken by the agents there.  Photographs have shown these cars at various locations in and out of electrified territory in express service.  Several of these cars were used to bring back barrels and crates of fish from Montauk, at least as late as 1935.  Other uses included mail storage during heavy seasons, bicycle specials and what was known as the “Bean Train” from Greenport in harvest season.  By 1932 their usefulness was about over.  Many were stored in the Long Island City Passenger Yard.

Most of the B40’s were transferred to the Maintenance of Way roster during 1934-35, as indicated in the modifications above.  Car 658 was used on the Montauk Fisherman’s Special from 1934 to 1941 as the iced-tray car for the fish on the westbound runs.  From 1942 to 1946 it was used for additional baggage storage space at Hempstead for Mitchell Field personnel.  From 1947 to 1955 it sat unused in the shop at Morris Park, still in faded tuscan red with “World’s Fair” style Futura lettering.  Finally, from 1955 to 1963 it was used as a storage car for the Track Department in Babylon Yard.

6-B60B DETAILS

Exterior:  Balloon-roof locomotive-hauled baggage car; diaphragms; brake wheel on one outside end; no windows; four-wheel trucks.

Interior:  Wooden floor; pipe-type load dividers suspended from the ceiling; 3’x3’x3’ iron safe bolted to the floor.

Modifications:  Safety chains replaced diaphragms on all cars in 1954-55.

717 rebuilt into a baggage-mail car, class BM60B, in 1953.  A 15’ RPO section was installed in one end, equipped with a toilet, wash basin and a water cooler.  One baggage door per side was replaced with a small RPO door and a window.

7715 renumbered W71 in 1974 and transferred to the Maintenance of Way roster.

7716 converted to a tool and block car and renumbered W60 in 8/1970.

7717 converted to a wreck train car and renumbered W57 in 3/1966.

7719 converted to a diesel-powered steam generator car and renumbered W94 in 11/1968.

7721 renumbered W72 in 1974 and transferred to the Maintenance of Way roster.

Modernization:  New baggage doors with porthole windows; electric markers; removal of safes; renumbered into 7000’s.

Dispositions:

7720 wrecked at Water Mill, 2/1963.

7723 donated to Suffolk County, 12/1974, and moved to the Suffolk County Airport siding at Westhampton.  Relocated to a siding west of Riverhead in 1979.

General:  These cars were used to bring out payrolls and carry back stain revenue (ticket sales, express and LCL charges), which was the reason for the safes.  The express messenger in charge of the car carried a gun while on duty.  Both end and side doors had to be locked when not engaged in loading or unloading.  Since the cars had no windows or ventilators, they were extremely hot in the summer.  Sawdust usually covered the floor to absorb melted ice from perishables.  Car 7723 was used as an iced-tray car on Montauk Fisherman’s Specials from 1946 to 1950.

7-B60C DETAILS

Exterior:  Monitor-roof locomotive-hauled baggage car; no diaphragms; four-wheel trucks.

Modernization:  RPO section and diaphragms removed; electric markers installed.

General:

7756 ex-Boston & Maine 3110

7757 ex-Boston & Maine 3112

7758 ex-Boston & Maine 3114

Built for the Boston & Maine as a baggage-mail car equipped with diaphragms.  Purchased by the Long Island in 5/1959 and not put into service until after modernization, during which they were repainted, re-lettered and renumbered.

8-B60D DETAILS

Exterior:  Arch-roof locomotive-hauled baggage car; no diaphragms; four-wheel trucks.

Modernization:  RPO section and diaphragms removed; electric markers installed.

General:

7754 ex-Boston & Maine 3116

7755 ex-Boston & Maine 3121

Built for the Boston & Maine as a baggage-mail car equipped with diaphragms.  Purchased by the Long Island in 5/1959 and not put into service until after modernization, during which they were repainted, relettered and renumbered.

9-B62 DETAILS

Exterior:  Monitor-roof locomotive-hauled baggage car; no diaphragms; four windows with bars across them per side; one double and one single sliding baggage door per side.

Interior:  Wooden floor with steel plates by the doors; steam heating coils along the sides.

General:  None of the B62’s were ever painted in the gray paint scheme.

10-B70 DETAILS

Exterior:  Monitor-roof locomotive-hauled baggage-express car; diaphragms; six-wheel trucks.

Modernization:  Diaphragms removed and electric markers installed.

General:  Ex-Western Maryland 186, purchased by the Long Island in 5/1958.  Used by the Railway Express Agency and also for mail storage.

11-BM60 DETAILS

Exterior:  Balloon-roof locomotive-hauled baggage-mail car; diaphragms; one baggage and one RPO door per side; two RPO windows per side; brake wheel on one outside end; four-wheel trucks; multiple-unit jumpers.

Interior:  45’ baggage section; 15’ RPO section equipped with a toilet, water cooler, wash basin and electric heaters.

Modifications:  Safety chains replaced diaphragms 1954-55.

738  rebuilt into a baggage car, class B60, during modernization by removing the RPO section, partition and multiple-unit jumpers.

7737 converted to a wreck train car and renumbered W57, 4/1966.

7738 renumbered W74 and transferred to the Maintenance of Way roster 1974.

Modernization:  New baggage doors with porthole windows; electric markers; renumbered into the 7000’s.

General:  The BM60’s had multiple-unit jumpers for electric heat in the RPO section when being hauled by multiple-unit cars between Jamaica and New York.

12-BM60C DETAILS

Exterior:  Monitor-roof locomotive-hauled baggage-mail car; no diaphragms; four-wheel trucks.

Modernization:  Diaphragms removed; electric markers installed.

General:

7751 ex-Boston & Maine 3134

7752 ex-Boston & Maine 3137

Purchased by the Long Island in 6/1958 and not put into service until after modernization, during which they were repainted, relettered and renumbered.

13-BM60D DETAILS

Exterior:  Arch-roof locomotive-hauled baggage-mail car; no diaphragms; six-wheel trucks.

Modernization:  Diaphragms removed; electric markers installed.

General:

7753 ex-Boston & Maine 3118

Purchased by the Long Island in 5/1959 and not put into service until after modernization, during which it was repainted, relettered and renumbered.

14-BM62 DETAILS

Exterior:  Monitor-roof locomotive-hauled baggage-mail car; one baggage and one RPO door per side; four RPO windows per side; porthole windows in end sheets;  no diaphragms; four-wheel trucks; multiple-unit jumpers on cars 739-741.

Interior:  29’ baggage section; 30’ RPO section equipped with a toilet, water cooler and wash basin; 3’ section on the RPO end of the car containing two windows and a hand brake; electric heating on cars 739-741, in addition to the steam heating.

Modifications:

739 rebuilt into a baggage car, class B62, in 1953.  The RPO section, partition and multiple-unit jumpers were removed, the RPO windows were blanked and the RPO doors were replaced with baggage doors.

740 rebuilt into a baggage car, class B62, during modernization. The RPO section, partition and multiple-unit jumpers were removed, the RPO windows were blanked, the RPO doors were replaced with baggage doors with porthole windows, electric markers were added and renumbered into the 7000’s.

742 had its RPO section shortened 15’ in 1954.  Three out of four windows per side were blanked and multiple-unit jumpers and electric heating were installed.

743 modernized by adding multiple-unit jumpers, electric heating, electric markers and renumbering into the 7000’s.  A small undercar diesel engine was added to furnish heating and lighting in the RPO section when being hauled by the RDC’s between Babylon and Patchogue.

General:  The multiple-unit jumpers on cars 739-741 were for electric heating in the RPO section when being hauled by multiple-unit cars.

15-BM62A/BM62B DETAILS

Exterior:  Monitor-roof locomotive-hauled baggage-mail car; one baggage and one RPO door per side; three RPO windows per side; porthole windows in end sheets; no diaphragms on the BM62A’s; diaphragms on the BM62B’s; four-wheel trucks.

Interior:  29’ baggage section; 30’ RPO section equipped with a toilet, water cooler and wash basin; 3’ section on the RPO end of the car containing two windows and a hand brake.

Modifications:  Safety chains replaced diaphragms on the BM62B’s in 1955.

744 had its RPO section shortened 15’ in 1944 with two out of three RPO windows per side being blanked.

746, 747 had their RPO sections shortened 15’ in 1946 with two out of three RPO windows per side being blanked.

748, 749 had their RPO sections shortened 15’ in 1947 with two out of three RPO windows per side being blanked.

General:  749 was the last car in tuscan red paint.

16-BUSINESS CAR DETAILS

Exterior:  Lightweight, stainless-steel, locomotive-hauled, flat-end observation car; telephone antenna on roof; streamline four-wheel trucks.

Interior:  30-seat, 5 double bedroom-buffet-lounge-observation; steam heat; electro-mechanical air conditioning.

Modifications:  Converted into a club car and renamed Morris Park, 8/1980 to 5/1981, for use on the summer-only Greenport train.  Steam heat and electro-mechanical air conditioning converted to all electric; 480 volt jumpers added; power supplied by either a power unit, bar-generator or under car diesel generator; stainless steel fluting replaced with smooth sheet steel; end windows blanked out.

Disposition:  Donated to Blue Ridge Rail Restoration, Roanoke, VA, 1-2/1996.

General:  Originally Chesapeake & Ohio 2502-Tidewater Club.  Sold to Baltimore & Ohio in 7/1951 and renumbered and renamed 7500-Nappanee.  Purchased by the Long Island 8/5/1968 in exchange for RDC2 3121 and used in parlor car service.  Damaged in a collision at Greenport on 8/9/1978 and temporarily withdrawn from service.

17-BUSINESS CAR DETAILS

Exterior:  Monitor-roof locomotive-hauled business car; open-end observation platform; six-wheel trucks; diaphragm; single headlights mounted under the observation platform.

Interior:  30-seat business car; steam heat; ice air conditioning.

Disposition:  Donated to Long Island-Sunrise Trail Chapter, National Railway Historical Society, Babylon, NY.  Leased and moved to the Black River & Western RR, Ringoes, NJ for restoration where it was renumbered 100.  Sold to ? and moved to Minerva Junction, OH.

General:  Originally Nevada Northern 100; sold to the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western in 1935, where it was renumbered and renamed 97-Anthracite.  It was renamed Scranton in 1937 but had its named removed in 1941.  Transferred to Erie Lackawanna after 10/17/1960 merger with the Erie.  Purchased by the Long Island 10/25/1962 and repainted, relettered and renumbered Long Island in 5/1963.  Used as a lounge-observation car on parlor car trains from 6/1963 to 9/1968.  Also used on annual inspection trains from 1963 to 1970.  Renumbered W99 (although only the number 99 was applied to car ends), renamed Jamaica:2 and transferred to the Maintenance of Way roster in 3/1971.

18-BUSINESS CAR DETAILS

Exterior:  Lightweight, stainless-steel, locomotive-hauled, flat-end observation car; telephone antenna on roof; diaphragm; streamline four-wheel trucks.

Interior:  56-seat tavern-lounge-observation; no vestibule or toilet; steam heat; electro-mechanical air conditioning.

Disposition:  Sold to Dennis Brawn/Tom McOwen/Robert Sarr/William F. Sprague, Cincinnati, OH, 5/1976.  Leased to Railway Exposition Co., Cincinnati, OH.

General:  Ex-Florida East Coast Lake Okeechobee.  Purchased 1/1969 and operated in its FEC paint scheme until being repainted, relettered and renumbered Long Island 6/9/1971.  The diaphragm was removed during repainting.  Used as a lounge-observation car on parlor car trains.

19-C1 DETAILS

Exterior:  Stainless steel, bi-level locomotive-hauled coach; semi-permanently coupled in pairs with a drawbar between; no cab; diaphragms; single sliding side doors; N2A automatic couplers on the ends of each pair; 480v heating/lighting/air conditioning system.

Interior:  1?? seat coach; vinyl flooring; 2/3 non-reversible vinyl seating in various color patterns (color(s)); one toilet per pair (?); no vestibules; hinged end doors; fluorescent lighting; air conditioned; public address system; door close warning bell.

Dispositions: Sold to Mid Atlantic Rail Car Co, Stewartstown PA, 2000.  Stored in Torrington, CT in 2004.

3008-09 resold to Iowa Pacific Holdings LLC, Chicago IL, and operated on West Texas and Lubbock Rwy, Brownfield TX.  Iowa Pacific transferred the cars to their Rio Grande Scenic Railroad operation in Alamosa CO in 2010.

General:  These cars were an experiment in new car technologies for a future order to replace all of the 1955-56 Pullman-Standard cars.  There was no existing equipment (locomotives or power cars) to provide the 480v (?) required for these cars.  Two METRA (Chicago) E8As (516 and 521) were leased to operate with them.  After several months of testing, the C1s with the METRA E8As entered passenger service on 8/19/1991 on Port Jefferson-Hunterspoint Avenue trains #603 and #660.  This was also the day Hurricane Bob passed through the New York metropolitan area.  During the summer of 1991, retired FA2 #608 was converted into a power car and renumbered 3100, to supply the 480v (?) necessary to power the C1s.  At the same time, GP38-2s 251 and 269 had their standard couplers replaced with N2A automatic couplers to haul the C1s and the power car.  Less than two weeks later, the GP38-2s and power car took over and the METRA E8As were then returned to Chicago.  When the ex-Metro North FL9s 300-302 arrived, they replaced the two GP38-2s and power car.

20-C3 DETAILS

Exterior:  Stainless steel, bi-level locomotive-hauled coach (4001-4134) and cab coach (5001-5023); 85’ car length; 9’10½” car width; 14’5½” car height; 145,284 lbs. car weight (4001-4087 odd numbers only); 142,197 lbs. car weight (4002-4134 even numbers only); 149,693 lbs. car weight (5001-5023); diaphragms; single-leaf side doors; light-emitting-diode side destination signs; lightweight welded frame trucks; radius arm primary suspension with coil springs; air spring secondary suspension; AAR Type-H couplers; 26-C type microprocessor-controlled brake system; roof-mounted air conditioning units.

Interior:  137 seat (4001-4087 odd numbers only and 5001-5023) and 143 seat (4002-4134 even numbers only) coach; 2/2 two-tone blue non-reversible vinyl seating with head rests; side cantilevered seats; one accessible toilet (4001-4087 odd numbers only and 5001-5023); no vestibules; engineer’s compartment on “F” end (5001-5023 only); hinged end doors and storm door (F end); fluorescent lighting; 3 phase 480 VAC electric system supplied from locomotive; baggage racks; fixed coat hooks; skid resistant floor material; air conditioned; automated announcements and light-emitting-diode displays; door close warning chime; emergency intercom system that allows riders to speak directly with train personnel; pay telephone located in wheelchair area opposite toilet.

General:  These cars completely replaced the 1955-6 and 1963 Pullman-Standard push-pull fleet.

Modifications:

Pay telephones removed by 2001? except for 4007.

4051, 4055, 4061, 4067 and 4071 modified for Hamptons Reserve service in 2000?  8 seats removed from the intermediate level on the west end to provide space for a bar area.  4 seats removed from the center of the lower level on the north side to provide space for luggage shelves.  Seating capacity reduced to 125.

Dispositions:  4011 damaged in Sheridan Car Shop at Morris Park, 2000 (?).  Shipped to Kawasaki, Yonkers, NY, 3/10/2005 for repairs.

21-LP70A DETAILS

Exterior:  Monitor-roof locomotive-hauled club car; diaphragms; porthole windows in end sheets; end gates.

Interior:  ? seat club car; wicker chairs facing the aisle; window screens in summer; two flush toilets; water cooler; hinged end doors; water raising system.

Modifications:  Converted to a 91-seat coach, class P70L, in 1917 by removing the wicker chairs and installing 2/2 plush seating.  The car name was removed at this time also.  Plush seating replaced with vinyl seating in 1951.  Safety chains replaced the diaphragms and electric markers were installed in 1955.  Renumbered 815:2 in 5/1961.

22-M1 DETAILS

Exterior:  Lightweight, stainless steel, multiple-unit control motor coach with fiberglass cab ends; 85’ car length; 10’8” car width; 12’10” car height; 90,750 lbs. car weight (odd numbers only); 93,520 lbs. car weight (even numbers only); semi-permanently coupled in pairs; dual headlights and taillights; diaphragm on “B” end; lightweight trucks; double sliding side doors; color-coded destination signs on front above engineer’s window and side; passenger-operated door open button next to each door set.

Interior:  120 seat (odd numbers only) and 124 seat (even numbers only) coach; tile floor (odd numbers only) and carpeted floor (even numbers only); 2/3 non-reversible vinyl seating in various color patterns; one toilet (odd numbers only); no vestibules; engineer’s compartment on “F” end; hinged end door (B end) and storm door (F end); fluorescent lighting; eight incandescent lights turn on when power to fluorescent lights is removed; air conditioned; public address system; door close warning bell; passenger-operated door open button on windscreen.

Modifications:  Destination signs removed about 1972 from all cars, glass eventually replaced with stainless steel blanks.  Passenger-operated door open buttons removed about 1975.  Tile floors in smoking cars and carpeting in non-smoking cars replaced with vinyl flooring in 1970s.  Large vertical grab iron added to left of storm door on front ends, 2/1978 to 4/1978.  Door close warning bell replaced with alarm-type warning sound in 1980s (?).  All seats replaced with dark blue and burgundy seats in 1980s (?).  “Egg crate” style light diffusers in doorways replaced with M3-style translucent plastic diffusers, early 1990s(?).  4 seats removed and 1 flip-down seat installed (even numbers only) on either side of the vestibule at the “B” end of the car for wheelchair use and wheelchair ramp storage locker, reducing seating capacity by 3, 1990s (?).  FRA-mandated additional headlight added above storm door 1997-98.  During 1999-2000, 132 cars were rebuilt under the Component Replacement Program.  These cars received new trucks, new wheels, new or rebuilt traction motors, completely new computer controlled "Main [propulsion] Group", rebuilt and retrofitted "KM" propulsion group, rebuilt and retrofitted "Field Shunt" contactors, Converter/Inverter retrofit replaced Motor Alternator, US&S "Microcab" ATC package retrofit, rebuilt A/C units and new evaporator coil/overhead heat coil assembly, bathroom retrofit, new battery set, new air compressor, new door operator panels, and a host of other smaller rebuilds and modifications.  These cars were:

Car #         Car #         Car #         Car #         Car #         Car #         Car #         Car #         Car #

9013          9198          9313          9436          9509          9581          9657          9689          9723

9014          9209          9314          9449          9510          9582          9658          9690          9724

9021          9210          9331          9450          9513          9607          9659          9691          9755

9022          9241          9332          9451          9514          9608          9660          9692          9756

9037          9242          9371          9452          9523          9609          9661          9697         

9038          9253          9372          9457          9524          9610          9662          9698         

9075          9254          9377          9458          9529          9611          9663          9699         

9076          9261          9378          9469          9530          9612          9664          9700         

9107          9262          9397          9470          9531          9625          9669          9703         

9108          9275          9398          9471          9532          9626          9670          9704         

9161          9276          9400          9472          9533          9633          9671          9709         

9162          9291          9405          9483          9534          9634          9672          9710         

9181          9292          9406          9484          9555          9639          9677          9715         

9182          9299          9431          9502          9556          9640          9678          9716         

9187          9309          9432          9503          9561          9641          9679          9721         

9197          9310          9435          9504          9562          9642          9680          9722

 

Dispositions:

9001 and 9002 out of service 12/28/2004 and stored in Morris Park for possible preservation.

9043 destroyed by fire, 5/19/1976.

9074 destroyed by fire, 1977.

9175:1 and 9176:1 destroyed by fire, 6/29/1970, at Johnson Avenue Yard.

9243-9244 destroyed by fire.

9327 destroyed by fire, 1988, in West Side Yard.

9328 renumbered 9366:2, 6/1994.

9379-9380 destroyed by fire, 1971.

9048, 9058, 9193-94, 9272, 9359, 9481, 9592, 9717, 9726 out of service, stored at Calverton, until 8/15/2002, when they were disposed of.

9366 wrecked when hit by train #657 after it struck a disabled tractor-trailer on the Park Avenue grade crossing east of Huntington and derailed, 8/25/1988.

9401 damaged by a fire in the cab, 12/15/2000.  Converted into combination alcohol/sandite spray car and renumbered E-401, 8/2001.

9591 damaged in an accident with a work train, 5/17/2001.  Converted into combination alcohol/sandite spray car and renumbered E-591, 8/2001.

9625 wrecked in the derailment of train #112 at Babylon, 8/24/1984, and cut up on the spot.

General:  The even numbered cars were designated “A” units and were always the non-smoking car while the odd numbered cars were designated “B” units and were the smoking cars; the “A” unit is always on the east end of the pair.  Cars 9175:2 and 9176:2 were ordered as replacements for the two that were destroyed by fire.

23-M3 DETAILS

Exterior:  Lightweight, stainless steel, multiple-unit control motor coach with fiberglass cab ends; semi-permanently coupled in pairs; dual headlights and taillights; diaphragm on “B” end; lightweight trucks; double sliding side doors; one window on each side replaced with an intake air filter for cooling system; color-coded destination sign on front above engineer’s window.

Interior:  114 seat (odd numbers only) and 120 seat (even numbers only) coach; 2/3 dark blue and burgundy non-reversible vinyl seating; one toilet (odd numbers only); no vestibules; engineer’s compartment on “F” end; hinged end door (B end) and storm door (F end); fluorescent lighting; six fluorescent fixtures remain lit when power is removed; air conditioned; public address system; door close warning alarm; two seats on either side of the vestibule at the “B” end flip up for wheelchair use (odd numbers only); space for two wheelchairs on either side of the vestibule at the “B” end (even numbers only).

Modifications:  Destination signs never used and were removed from all cars soon after their delivery.  FRA-mandated additional headlight added above storm door 1997-98.  9893-4 received a new interior during the summer and fall of 2004 as a test; gray speckled vinyl flooring with blue studded flooring in vestibules, light blue speckled lower wall panels and arm rests, white speckled upper wall panels, light violet wall panels around vestibules and car ends and blue and red vinyl seats; outshopped in 1/2005 (?).

Dispositions:

9795-6 damaged in the derailment of train #98 in Brook Interlocking just east of Flatbush Avenue, 11/2/1989.  Stored at Morris Park (?) until 1997 when they were scrapped.

General:  The odd numbered car is always on the west end of the pair.  Cars 9891 and 9892 were renumbered in 12/1994.

24-M7 DETAILS

Exterior:  Stainless steel, multiple-unit control motor coach; 85’ car length; 10’6” car width; 12’11½” car height; semi-permanently coupled in pairs; triple headlights and dual taillights; diaphragm on “B” end; pantograph gates on car ends; outboard-bearing bolsterless fabricated trucks; single-leaf side doors; light-emitting-diode side destination signs; public address speakers; roof-mounted air conditioning units; three different antennas on roof for radio communication, data link and global positioning system.

Interior:  101 seat (odd numbered cars) and 110 seat (even numbered cars) coach; vinyl flooring; 2/3 two-tone blue non-reversible vinyl seating with head rests; three seats flip down (odd numbered cars) or four seats flip down (even numbered cars) for wheelchair use; one accessible toilet (odd numbered cars); no vestibules; full-width engineer’s compartment on “F” end with cab door that can be closed to form a smaller cab; hinged end door (B end), engineer’s compartment door and storm door (F end); fluorescent lighting; lighting remains lit when power is removed; air conditioned; baggage racks; flip-down coat hooks; automated announcements and light-emitting-diode displays; door close warning chime; earliest cars delivered (up to 7017?) with one pay telephone installed in wheelchair area next to east vestibule (odd numbered cars); later cars (up to 7157?) delivered with provision for pay telephone.

Modifications:  Pay telephones removed within the first year of service.  Yaw dampers added to trucks to prevent excess swaying.  The yaw dampers were part of the original design but were deleted before construction started.  The first hundred or so cars delivered had them installed after a year or so of service.  Later cars were built with them already installed.  Threshold plates and loop steps replaced by Bombardier 2008-9 at the Arch Street Shops in Long Island City.  The replacement threshold plates are 2 inches wider than the originals.  This was done to reduce the gap between the cars and the platform edges of high level platforms.

General:  The odd numbered car is always on the west end of the pair.  These cars completely replaced the original M1 electric car fleet.

25-MB62 DETAILS

Exterior:  Monitor-roof multiple-unit control motor baggage car; four windows with bars across them per side; one double-sliding and one single-sliding baggage door per side; porthole windows in end sheets; square windows in storm doors; safety chains; large brass whistles; four 225 hp traction motors per car; large single headlight on ends of roof.

Interior:  Wooden floors with steel plates next to the doors; engineer’s cabs; electric heating along sides.

Modifications:

1209, 1210 converted to baggage-mail cars, class MBM62, in 8/1925.  RPO section installed in one third of car, separate side for the engineer’s cab on the RPO end added and two traction motors removed.

1211-1214 had two traction motors removed 12/1925 and reclassified MB62A.

1217-1219 converted to locomotive-hauled cars, class B62A, about 1928 by removing head end controls, headlights, traction motors, markers, electric heating and wiring and installing steam heat.

1205-1216 reclassified MB62c, MB62Ac and MBM62c as automatic speed control equipment was installed in 1951.

Modernization:  New baggage doors with porthole windows and new marker lights installed; renumbered into the 4000’s.

Dispositions:

4209 used at Dunton multiple-unit Shop as a switcher from 7/1965 to 7/1969.  Used as a parts storage car at Dunton from 7/1969 to 1/1971.  Donated to Suffolk County and moved to the Suffolk County Airport siding at Westhampton in 12/1974.  Relocated to a siding west of Riverhead in 1979.

4210 used as a shop switcher at Dunton from 7/1965 to 7/1969.

4215 used as a parts storage car at Dunton from 7/1965 to 1/29/1971.  Relocated to Carleton Avenue Yard on 2/1/1971.

General:  Until about 1934 these cars also carried their numbers on the front ends below the windows.

26-MP41 DETAILS

Exterior:  Monitor-roof multiple-unit control motor coach; Van Horn couplers; standard air hoses; square windows in end sheets and storm doors; crank-operated manual side doors; safety chains; safety pantograph gates; small round headlights; marker lights.

Interior:  52-seat coach; “El car”-type non-reversible rattan seating (longitudinal and transverse); grooved wooden floors; standee straps; double sliding end doors; bare bulb lighting on ceiling.

Modifications:  Van Horn couplers replaced by rapid transit type couplers.  Large headlights replaced small ones on about 30 cars in the 1920’s. Marker lights removed from most or all cars after 11/27/1932 discontinuation of marker light use.  Pneumatic doors replaced manual doors on 1100 and 1101 about 1933.  These cars were used on Mitchell Field shuttle from 1934 to 1950.

Dispositions: 

1000 wrecked at Rockaway Park and scrapped.

1040 converted to tool and block car 489527 in 1929.

1056 was used as a crew car at World’s Fair 1939-40.

1065, 1098 and 1102 wrecked at Woodhaven, 5/21/1927.

27-MP54/MP54A DETAILS

Exterior:  Monitor-roof multiple-unit control motor coach; porthole windows in end sheets; square windows in storm doors; automatic air hose couplers; crank-operated manual side doors; safety chains; small round headlights; marker lights; two motors; large brass whistles.

Interior:  72-seat (average) coach; 2/2 reversible rattan seats; one toilet; double sliding end doors; no baggage racks.

Modifications:  Pneumatic doors replaced manual doors about 1923.  Large headlights replaced small ones about 1925.  Various seating arrangements were made by removing toilets and adding side seats at random during the 1930’s, some resulting arrangements seating 86. Marker lights, or indication lights as the railroad referred to them, were either removed entirely or changed to red-only tail lights by blanking out the other three colors, after 11/27/1932 discontinuation of marker light use.  Marker lights remained on some cars as tail lights well into the 1940’s.

1406, 1411, 1415, 1452, 1453, 1459, 1464, 1478, 1480, 1483, 1484, 1490, 1497, 1501, 1506, 1510, 1520, 1526, 1532, 1547, 1552-1554, 1559, 1560, 1562, 1567, 1569, 1573, 1575, 1576, 1578, 1580, 1582, 1583, 1595, 1597, 1614, 1618-1621, 1626, 1630, 1633, 1635, 1636, 1638, 1640, 1643, 1645, 1648, 1653, 1655, 1656, 1659, 1664, 1667-1669 and 1675 converted to blind motors, class MP54AT, in 1951 by removing head end controls and sealing headlights.

1421, 1422, 1428, 1429, 1433, 1434, 1437, 1439, and 1450 converted to blind motors, class MP54T, in 1951 by removing head end controls and sealing headlights.

1528, 1542, 1548, 1557, 1579, 1584, 1601, 1603, 1623, 1625, 1629, 1649, 1671 and 1672 converted to blind motors, class MP54AT, in 1951 by removing head end controls and sealing headlights on one end only.  One set of controls remained intact for yard switching only.

1631, 1632, 1634, 1641, 1651, 1661, 1662, 1665 and 1666 reclassified MP54Ac as automatic speed control apparatus was installed in 1951.

1677 used as a coach until 6/9/1924.  Converted to a control trailer club car, class CT54A, and named Rockaway, in 6/1924, by removing motors and coach seating and installing 44 wicker chairs facing the aisle, one additional toilet, electric clocks on the end walls and a water cooler.  Hinged end doors replaced double sliding doors.  Pneumatic doors replaced manual doors about 1933. Rockaway name removed 9/1942 and numbers reapplied to car sides.  Reclassified CT54Ac when automatic speed control apparatus was installed in 1951.  Third rail shoe equipped trucks replaced by Pennsylvania suburban trucks without shoe beams and pickups and leather seats replaced wicker, about 1955.  Operated Monday to Saturday from Far Rockaway to new York via Valley Stream in the am rush and back to Far Rockaway in the p.m.  It operated on the west end of the train.

General:  All cars that didn’t receive automatic speed control apparatus in 1951 were reclassified either MP54T or MP54AT regardless of whether a car was actually converted into a blind motor or not and was then prohibited from the ends of trains.  After the 11/22/1950 Kew Gardens wreck, cars with thin collision posts, including cars 1401-1636, were restricted from the ends of multiple-unit trains also.  In 3/1951 the Long Island decided to separate these cars into a new series numbered in the 1000’s.  Cars 1423, 1543, 1544, 1591, 1602, 1604, 1611, 1617, 1627, 1628, 1640 and 1663 were converted into blind motors, class MP54T, by removing head end controls and headlights and renumbered into this 1000 series.  However, after these twelve cars were done all subsequent conversions kept their original numbers.

1595 first car painted in the light gray Tichy scheme, 11/1/1949.

1668 last MP54A in service.

Dispositions:

1409 in collision of two New York-bound equipment trains just east of Harold tower, 12/22/1949.

1422 donated to Suffolk County and moved to Suffolk County Airport siding 12/1974.  Relocated to Riverhead 1979.

1445 had its motors and trucks removed about 1949, carbody moved to Bay Ridge engine house area and used as a bunk car for New Haven train and engine crews.  Body scrapped 1958.

1482 wrecked in head-on collision at Rockville Centre, 2/17/1950.

1516 and 1523 wrecked in rear-end collision east of Kew Gardens, 11/22/1950.

1525 and 1526 involved in a wreck at College point, 9/22/1913.

1632 stored until 3/22/1976.  Repainted tuscan red and used on Heritage Train, 5/1976 to 9/1976.

1677 donated to Suffolk County and moved to Suffolk County Airport siding 12/1974.  Relocated to Riverhead 1979 (?).

MP54/MP54A DETAILS (1778-1783 only)

Exterior:  Monitor-roof multiple-unit control motor coach; porthole windows in end sheets; heavy trucks; safety chains; pneumatic doors (an LIRR modification from manual upon arrival on the property).

Interior:  68-seat coach; 2/2 reversible rattan seats; hinged end doors; one toilet; clustered lights on ceiling.

General:  Purchased from the Pennsylvania, 2/1923.  These cars had been used on Penn Station-Manhattan Transfer shuttles from 1912 to 1923.  These cars were prohibited from the ends of trains after 12/1950.

1778 ex-Pennsylvania 202

1779 ex-Pennsylvania 204

1780 ex-Pennsylvania 206

1781 ex-Pennsylvania 203

1782 ex-Pennsylvania 205

1783 ex-Pennsylvania 201

28-MP54A1 DETAILS

Exterior:  Monitor-roof multiple-unit control motor coach; large headlights; safety chains; porthole windows in end sheets; large square windows in storm doors; one heavy roller bearing truck and one light Pennsylvania suburban type truck.

Interior: 72-seat coach; 2/2 reversible rattan seats; six ceiling lights with glass shades; no toilets or baggage racks; single sliding end doors; baseboard and underseat heating.

Modifications:  A few cars had their one light truck replaced with a heavy roller bearing truck.  Reclassified MP54A1c as automatic speed control apparatus was installed in 1951.

Modernization:  2/3 vinyl seating for 89; recessed lighting; one toilet installed; underseat heating removed; baggage racks installed; renumbered into 4000’s.  Some cars received new side and storm doors with porthole windows.

General:  After ordering hundreds of arch-roof cars it is surprising to see this order with monitor roofs again.  Apparently, when these cars were built in 1930, another 15 were built for the West Jersey & Seashore RR; both of these orders are very similar.  It may have been a 60 car order for Pennsylvania-controlled lines.

1150 last MP54A1 in tuscan red, 4/1953.

Dispositions:

1165 wrecked in collision at West Hempstead, 12/1964.

1173 wrecked in yard accident at Jamaica.

4137 donated to New England Electric Railway Historical Society, Kennebunkport, ME, 3/27/1972.

4149 donated to Central New York Chapter, National Railway Historical Society, Marcellus, NY, 6/1975 and renumbered back to 1149.  On display at New York State Fairgrounds.

4153 last MP54A1c in service.  Donated to Connecticut Electric Railway Association, Warehouse Point, CT, 1/12/1972.

29-MP54B/MP54C DETAILS

Exterior:  Arch-roof multiple-unit control motor coach; five roof ventilators; heavy trucks (1884-1943 had roller bearing trucks); porthole windows in end sheets; small square windows in storm doors; recessed headlights and marker lights; safety chains; large brass whistles; pneumatic side doors.

Interior:  78-seat coach; 2/2 reversible rattan seats; bare bulb lighting; under-seat heating; one toilet; single sliding end doors.

Modifications:  During 1930-42 several cars received 3/2 reversible seating for about 95. Marker lights changed to red-only tail lights after 11/27/1932 discontinuation of marker light use.  Reclassified MP54Bc and MP54Cc as automatic speed control apparatus was installed in 1951.

Modernization:  3/2 vinyl seating for 89; recessed lighting; baseboard heating replaced under-seat heating; renumbered into the 4000’s.  Cars renumbered into the 5000’s converted to blind motors, class MP54BT or MP54CT, by removal of head end controls and headlights.

General:

1725 was the only car painted in experimental scheme of all aluminum with tuscan red lettering and trim, 12/17/1934, to determine if car would be cooler in summer.  Apparently results were not satisfactory since it was repainted back into tuscan red by 1937.

1742 was the first multiple-unit modernized.

4684 was the last MP54Bc in service.

4887 was the last MP54Cc in service.

4929 was the only MP54 of any type to receive the World’s Fair (1964) gray/orange paint scheme.

Dispositions:

1919 wrecked in head-on collision at Rockville Centre, 2/17/1950.

4697 converted to alcohol car W-84, 1/1970, and had its head end controls and motors removed.

4900 saved for preservation and stored until 4/1976.  Repainted tuscan red, renumbered back to 1900, and used on Heritage Train from 5/1976 to 8/1976.

4911 wrecked at Far Rockaway, 3/31/1968.

5751 converted to instruction car I-11, 3/1970, for examining LIRR employees.  Kept on stub track in Yard D, Jamaica, 3/1970 to 1/1975.  Moved to Babylon Yard, 3/1975.

5770 wrecked at Far Rockaway, 3/31/1968.

30-MP70 DETAILS

Exterior:  Balloon-roof double-deck multiple-unit control motor coach; eight roof ventilators; large headlight; porthole windows in end sheets; large, square window in storm door; safety chains; four motors; 80’ 8¾” car length.

Interior:  134-seat coach; 2/2 non-reversible leather seats; baggage racks; recessed lighting; no toilets; single sliding end doors.

Modifications:  Reclassified MP70c when automatic speed control apparatus was installed in 1951.  Converted to multiple-unit trailer, class T70, in 1958 by removing head end controls and headlights and windows in end sheets painted over.

31-MP70A/ MP70B DETAILS

Exterior:  Balloon-roof double-deck multiple-unit control motor coach; large headlight; porthole windows in end sheets; large, square window in storm door; safety chains; centralized door control; four motors.

Interior:  132-seat coach; 2/2 non-reversible vinyl seats; air conditioned; public address system; baggage racks; recessed lighting; one toilet; single sliding end doors.

Modifications:  Reclassified MP70Ac or MP70Bc as automatic speed control apparatus was installed in 1951.

1287-1289, 1291, 1334-1336 converted to blind motors, class MP70BT, in 1958-9 by removing controls and sealing headlights on one end only.  One set of controls remained intact for yard switching.

1341 and 1345 converted to blind motors, class MP70AT, in 1958-9 by removing controls and sealing headlights on one end only.  One set of controls remained intact for yard switching.

1301-1307, 1309, 1311 and 1312 rebuilt in 1967 with heavier air conditioning units and sealed, tinted windows.

General:  1301 was the last double-deck in service, 2/29/1972.

1346 was the only double-deck painted into the MTA platinum mist/nordic blue paint scheme.

32-MP70T DETAILS

Exterior:  Arch-roof multiple-unit blind motor coach; safety chains; eight vents along each side of roof; centralized door control; porthole windows in side doors.

Interior: 128-seat coach; 3/2 back-to-back vinyl seating; four axiflow fans; no toilets, baggage racks or arm rests along aisle; recessed incandescent lighting; opening windows; single sliding end doors with porthole windows.

General:  These cars were at first used with the double-deckers and then with the MP72’s after 1955.  The reason for these cars austere interiors was due to the fact that the railroad was in bankruptcy.

Dispositions:  All withdrawn from service by 3/25/1972.

3507 converted to instruction car I-12, 5/1972. Kept on stub track in Yard D, Jamaica, until 1/1975, then moved to Johnson Avenue Yard.  Destroyed by fire in 1980 and moved to Morris Park Shop Yard.

33-MP72c DETAILS

Exterior:  Arch-roof multiple-unit control motor coach; recessed headlights; large brass whistles; porthole windows in end sheets, storm doors and side doors; safety chains; pneumatic side doors; centralized door control.

Interior: 120-seat coach; 3/2 reversible vinyl seating; air conditioned; fluorescent lighting; baggage racks; baseboard heating; one toilet; single sliding end doors with square windows; window shades.

Modifications:  Whistles on 2519 replaced by air horns from RDC1 3101, 1/1968.  Converted to push-pull coaches, class PT72C, on dates listed below.  Traction motors, third rail shoes and shoe beams, storm doors, head end controls and automatic speed control apparatus removed.  Headlights, engineer’s and fireman’s windows blanked out.  Heat, lighting and air conditioning provided by power units at 600v DC.  Automatic air hose couplers replaced with standard hoses.  New toilets installed, reducing seating to 118.  Reversible seats were made stationary and window shades were removed.

                              Car #   Date                Car #   Date                Car #   Date

                              2501    8/1979             2509    5/1979             2516    9/1979

                              2502    4/1980             2510    2/1980             2517    3/1976

                              2503    3/1978             2511    8/1980             2518    9/1979

                              2504    7/1979             2512    12/1979           2519    6/1979

                              2505    3/1979             2513    3/1977             2520    5/1979

                              2506    11/1979           2514    10/1979           2521    3/1980

                              2507    8/1979             2515    11/1979           2522    1/1980

2508        6/1980

Dispositions: All cars sold to Mid Atlantic Rail Car Co, Stewartstown PA, 1998 and leased back until withdrawal from service.

2777

2781

2783

2787 scrapped by Hub Scrap Metals LLC at White Plains, MD.

2791

2797 shipped from Long Island 1/30/1999 to Greenville NJ for scrapping.

2799

2851

2855

2869

2873

2875

2877 shipped from Long Island 1/30/1999 to Greenville NJ for scrapping.

2881

2883

2885

2887

2889

2891

2893

2897

2899

34-MP72T DETAILS

Exterior:  Arch-roof multiple-unit blind motor coach; porthole windows in side doors; safety chains; pneumatic side doors; centralized door control.

Interior: 123-seat coach; 3/2 reversible vinyl seating; air conditioned; fluorescent lighting; baggage racks; baseboard heating; no toilet; single sliding end doors with square windows; window shades.

Modifications: 

2601, 2608, 2610 and 2648 converted to bar generator cars with no seats, class BG72B, during push-pull conversion, for supplying heating, lighting and air conditioning to push-pull cars in the absence of a power unit.  All seating and window shades removed and diesel generator compartment and bar installed on one side of car.  Windows by generator compartment replaced with air filters and grills.  Traction motors, third rail shoes and shoe beams removed; automatic air hose couplers replaced with standard hoses; one toilet installed.

2603, 2613, 2624, 2625, 2629, 2632, 2650, 2663, 2664, 2667 and 2670 converted to 46-seat parlor cars, class PP72B, during push-pull conversion.  Traction motors, third rail shoes, shoe beams and window shades removed; automatic air hose couplers replaced with standard hoses; original 3/2 reversible vinyl seating replaced with 2/1 vinyl/fabric movable lounge chairs; bar installed in middle of car on single seat side; carpeting installed on floor and lower portion of walls; one toilet installed.

2602, 2604, 2607, 2609, 2611, 2612, 2614, 2617, 2623, 2626-2628, 2630, 2631, 2633-2647, 2649, 2651-2662, 2665, 2668, 2669, 2671-2674 converted to push-pull coaches, class PT72C, by removing traction motors, third rail shoes, shoe beams and window shades. Automatic air hose couplers replaced with standard hoses and reversible seats were made stationary.  2602, 2609, 2617, 2626, 2627, 2634, 2642, 2647 and 2658 had one toilet installed, reducing seating to 118.  2622 and 2669 converted to 108-seat bar-coaches during conversion.  Heating, lighting and air conditioning provided by power unit or bar-generator at 600 volts DC.

Push-pull conversion dates:

                              Car #   Date                Car #   Date                Car #   Date

                              2601    7/1976             2625    7/1975             2649    8/1974

                              2602    7/1977             2626    2/1978             2650    3/1975

                              2603    5/1976             2627    10/1975           2651    1/1980

                              2604    11/1975           2628    2/1980             2652    3/1979

                              2605    5/1980             2629    5/1976             2653    3/1979

                              2606    8/1976             2630    8/1973             2655    5/1974

                              2607    5/1974             2631    7/1973             2656    11/1977

                              2608    12/1976           2632    5/1975             2657    5/1979

                              2609    4/1977             2633    9/1973             2658    6/1977

                              2610    3/1976             2634    2/1976             2659    9/1973

                              2611    3/1979             2635    5/1977             2660    10/1973

                              2612    9/1975             2636    12/1973           2661    8/1974

                              2613    6/1975             2637    12/1973           2662    2/1980

                              2614    10/1979           2638    12/1973           2663    5/1975

                              2615    9/1976             2639    11/1973           2664    4/1975

                              2616    7/1973             2640    8/1973             2665    2/1976

                              2617    5/1977             2641    12/1973           2667    5/1975

                              2618    3/1979             2642    12/1975           2668    7/1974

                              2619    3/1979             2643    10/1976           2669    8/1974

                              2620    8/1973             2644    11/1976           2670    7/1975

                              2621    8/1972             2645    5/1972             2671    3/1979

                              2622    8/1974             2646    5/1974             2672    12/1973

                              2623    5/1980             2647    2/1978             2673    3/1979

                              2624    6/1976             2648    5/1976             2674    7/1980

2016 converted to dual push-pull/non-push-pull operation, 3/1989, by adding a Weston undercar diesel engine and renumbered 2001:2.

Dispositions:

2654 converted to storage car for Maintenance of Equipment Department, 3/1973, and moved to Long Island City Passenger Yard.

2656 converted to a school car.

2890 destroyed by fire, 4/5/1978, and stored in Morris Park.

All cars (except 2654, 2656 and 2890) sold to Mid Atlantic Rail Car Co, Stewartstown PA, 1998 and leased back until withdrawal from service.

2001:2 used on Indian Head Central Rwy, White Plains, MD.  Stored at Culbertson, PA.

2011 stored at Landisville, PA.

2012 stored at Culbertson, PA.

2013 used on Indian Head Central Rwy, White Plains, MD.  Converted to 50-seat bar car and sold to Rio Grande Pacific Corp. in 1999.  Operated on New Orleans & Gulf Coast RR (?), Belle Chasse, LA until 5/2001.  Transferred to Idaho Northern & Pacific RR, Horseshoe Bend, ID, 2002. 

2014 used on Indian Head Central Rwy, White Plains, MD.  Converted to concession car.  Sold to Rio Grande Pacific Corp. in 1999 and operated on New Orleans & Gulf Coast RR (?), Belle Chasse, LA until 5/2001.  Transferred to Idaho Northern & Pacific RR, Horseshoe Bend, ID, 2002. 

2015 used on Indian Head Central Rwy, White Plains, MD.  Sold to East Penn Scenic RR, Kutztown, PA.

2017 used on Indian Head Central Rwy, White Plains, MD.  Stored at Culbertson, PA.

2018 used on Indian Head Central Rwy, White Plains, MD.  Stored at Culbertson, PA.

2019 used on Indian Head Central Rwy, White Plains, MD.  Stored at Culbertson, PA.

2020 used on Indian Head Central Rwy, White Plains, MD.  Stored at Culbertson, PA.

2021 Sold to International Rail Road Systems, Fruitvale, BC.

2779 scrapped by Hub Scrap Metals LLC at White Plains, MD.

2782 scrapped by Hub Scrap Metals LLC at White Plains, MD.

2785 shipped from Long Island 1/30/1999 to Greenville NJ for scrapping.

2786 Sold to Railroad Passenger Car Alliance, named Good Vibrations and converted into a lounge car with club chairs and sofas facing the aisle.

2796 scrapped by Hub Scrap Metals LLC at White Plains, MD.

2857 scrapped by Hub Scrap Metals LLC at White Plains, MD.

2862 sold to New York Susquehanna & Western Rwy and renumbered 530. Fluorescent lighting replaced with compact fluorescent fixtures; multiple-unit door control equipment removed; sliding windows installed at alternate positions; public address system installed; diaphragms installed; accessible bathroom installed reducing seating capacity to 99.

2868 sold to New York Susquehanna & Western Rwy and renumbered 531.  Fluorescent lighting replaced with compact fluorescent fixtures; multiple-unit door control equipment removed; sliding windows installed at alternate positions; public address system installed; diaphragms installed.

2895 shipped from Long Island 1/30/1999 to Greenville NJ for scrapping.

35-MP75c DETAILS

Exterior:  Low arch-roof multiple-unit control motor coach; 85’ car length; 10’5½” car width; 13’0” car height; 114,060 lbs. car weight; recessed headlights; large brass whistles; square engineer’s windows in end sheets (no fireman’s window); square windows in storm doors and side doors; safety chains; pneumatic side doors; centralized door control; cast steel bar type trucks with roller bearings.

Interior: 130-seat coach; 3/2 reversible vinyl seating; air conditioned; fluorescent lighting; baggage racks; baseboard heating; one toilet; single sliding end doors with square windows; tinted windows; no window shades.

Modifications: 

2525, 2530, 2532, 2533 and 2536 converted to control trailers, class CT75c, 1/1972, by removing their traction motors and renumbering into the 5500’s.  All cars converted to push-pull coaches, class PT75, on dates listed below by removing traction motors (on remaining MP75c cars only), third rail shoes, shoe beams, storm doors, head end controls and automatic speed control apparatus.  Headlights and engineer’s windows were blanked out.  Automatic air hose couplers replaced with standard air hoses. Heating, lighting and air conditioning provided by power unit or bar-generator at 600 volts DC.  Reversible seats were made stationary and the toilets were removed, increasing seating capacity to 132.

                              Car #   Date__            Car #   Date___          Car #   Date____

                              5525    7/1973             2529    10/1973           5533    5/1973

                              2526    8/1973             5530    6/1973             2534    8/1972

                              2527    9/1973             2531    10/1973           2535    10/1972

                              2528    9/1973             5532    7/1973             5536    4/1973

Microphor toilet installed in 2707 and 2713 in 1977, reducing seating capacity to 128.

General:  The MP75c’s and MP75T’s operated in three 10-car trains when first delivered, but were split up when recurrent braking problems developed.  Cars were nicknamed World’s Fair cars or Zips.

Dispositions: All cars sold to Mid Atlantic Rail Car Co, Stewartstown PA, 1998 and leased back until withdrawal from service.

2701 sold to Cape Cod Central RR; arrived Quincy, MA 4/22/1999.

2703

2705 sold to Adrian & Blissfield RR, Adrian, MI but lost in transit.

2707 sold to Cape Cod Central RR; arrived Quincy, MA 4/22/1999.

2709

2711 wrecked when train #657 struck a disabled tractor-trailer on the Park Avenue grade crossing east of Huntington and derailed, 8/25/1988.

2713

2715 sold to Cape Cod Central RR; arrived Quincy, MA 4/22/1999.

2717

2719

2721 sold to Cape Cod Central RR; arrived Quincy, MA 5/15/1999.

2723

36-MP75T DETAILS

Exterior:  Low arch-roof multiple-unit blind motor coach; 85’ car length; 10’5½” car width; 13’0” car height; square windows in side doors; safety chains; pneumatic side doors; centralized door control; cast steel bar type trucks with roller bearings.

Interior: 133-seat coach; 3/2 reversible vinyl seating; air conditioned; fluorescent lighting; baggage racks; baseboard heating; no toilet; single sliding end doors with square windows; tinted windows; no window shades.

Modifications: 

2676, 2677, 2679, 2682-2684, 2689 and 2692 converted to multiple-unit trailers, class T75A, by 1/1972, by removing their traction motors and adding a T suffix to their numbers that were on the bottom of their end sheets.

2682 was renumbered 5682:2 by 1/1973.

2675, 2680 and 2688 converted to multiple-unit trailers, class T75A, by 1/1972, by removing their traction motors and renumbering into the 5600’s.  All cars converted to push-pull coaches, class PT75A, on dates listed below by removing traction motors (on remaining MP75T cars only), third rail shoes and shoe beams.  Automatic air hose couplers replaced with standard air hoses. Heating, lighting and air conditioning provided by power unit or bar-generator at 600 volts DC.  Reversible seats were made stationary.

                              Car #   Date__            Car #   Date__            Car #   Date__

                              5675    3/1973             2681    2/1973             2687    2/1973

                              2676    5/1973             5682:2 4/1973             5688:2 6/1972

                              2677    7/1972             2683    2/1973             2689    5/1973

                              2678    4/1973             2684    6/1973             2690    3/1973

                              2679    8/1972             2685    4/1972             2691    6/1972

                              5680:2 2/1973             2686    9/1972             2692    5/1973

General:  The MP75c’s and MP75T’s operated in three 10-car trains when first delivered, but were split up when recurring braking problems developed. Cars were nicknamed World’s Fair cars or Zips.

Dispositions: All cars sold to Mid Atlantic Rail Car Co, Stewartstown PA, 1998 and leased back until withdrawal from service.

2702

2704 wrecked when train #657 struck a disabled tractor-trailer on the Park Avenue grade crossing east of Huntington and derailed, 8/25/1988.

2706

2708

2710

2712

2714

2716 sold to Cape Cod Central RR; arrived Quincy, MA 5/15/1999.

2718 sold to Cape Cod Central RR; arrived Quincy, MA 4/22/1999.

2720 sold to Cape Cod Central RR; arrived Quincy, MA 5/15/1999.

2722

2724 sold to Cape Cod Central RR; arrived Hyannis, MA 8/19/1999.

2726

2728 sold to Cape Cod Central RR; arrived Hyannis, MA 8/19/1999.

2730 sold to Cape Cod Central RR; arrived Quincy, MA 4/22/1999.

2732

2734

2736 sold to Cape Cod Central RR; arrived Hyannis, MA 8/19/1999.

 

Repainted Cape Cod Central cranberry red with yellow stripes and black roofs:

101-Barnstable, ex-????

102-Sandwich, ex-????

103-Bourne, ex-????

 

37-MPB54 DETAILS (1348 and 1349 only)

Exterior:  Monitor-roof multiple-unit control motor combine; porthole windows in end sheets; square windows in storm doors; safety chains; pneumatic side doors.

Interior: 52-seat baggage-coach; 2/2 reversible rattan seats; 18’ baggage section; hinged end doors; one toilet; clustered lights on ceiling.

General:  These cars were used on Penn Station-Manhattan Transfer shuttles from 1912 to 1923.  Bought by the Long Island 2/1923.  Pneumatic doors were installed after arrival on property.  They were not used on the ends of trains after 12/1950.

1348 ex-Pennsylvania 4513

1349 ex-Pennsylvania 4514

MPB54 DETAILS (Rest of the class)

Exterior:  Monitor-roof multiple-unit control motor combine; porthole windows in end sheets; square windows in storm doors; safety chains; large brass whistles; two 225 h.p. traction motors; crank-operated manual side doors; one baggage door per side.

Interior: 53-seat baggage-coach; 2/2 reversible rattan seats; one toilet; double sliding end doors on vestibule end; hinged end door with no window on baggage end; baggage compartment had wooden floor and separate engineer’s cab; underseat and baseboard heating.

Modifications:  Pneumatic doors replaced manual about 1923.

1365-1381 and 1385-1399 reclassified MPB54c as automatic speed control apparatus was installed in 1951. 

1359, 1360, 1368, 1391 and 1398 converted to baggage cars, same class, starting in 1950, by removing the partition between coach and baggage sections and all seats and blanking the windows. 

1391 and 1398 converted back to combines during modernization.

Modernization:  New baggage doors with porthole windows; double sliding end doors replaced by a hinged door; 3/2 vinyl seating for 65; underseat heating removed; recessed lighting installed.

General:  Almost every non-rush hour train had a combine, usually on the east end.  Newspapers, baggage pre-sorted mail and even corpses were carried over the years.  After the 1950 accidents, 1350-1364 were prohibited from the ends of trains due to their thin collision posts.  4395 was the last MPB54c in service.

Dispositions:

1356 had motors and head end controls removed in 1951 and was converted to an office-register car for Port Washington.  It was used until 1956 and scrapped there.

1364 converted to an office-register car in 1951 for Hempstead.  It was used until 1963 and scrapped there.

1371 wrecked at College Point, 9/22/1913.

1399 converted to a materiel car, 11/1956, class MB54, for carrying repair parts between Morris Park and Brooklyn Electric Car Shop until 7/1965.

4379 wrecked at Far Rockaway, 3/31/1968.

4391 was used as parts storage car for M1’s at Dunton Shop, 1969 to 2/18/1971.  Saved for preservation.  Repainted tuscan red and renumbered back to 1391 for use on Bicentennial Train 1975-76?  Donated to Port Jefferson Station-Terryville Chamber of Commerce 19??, becoming a tourist information center at the intersection of State Highways 112 and 347, Terryville, NY. 

4396 converted to radio repair car W6, 11/12/1970, located at Johnson Avenue Yard.

38-MPBM54 DETAILS

Exterior:  Monitor-roof multiple-unit control motor RPO-combine; porthole windows in end sheets; square windows in storm doors; safety chains; large brass whistles; two 225 h.p. traction motors; crank-operated manual side doors; one baggage and one RPO door per side; three barred RPO windows per side.

Interior: 32-seat baggage-RPO-coach; 2/2 reversible rattan seats; one toilet; double sliding end doors on vestibule end; 20’ RPO section; 12’ baggage section with wooden floor and engineer’s cab; coach and baggage sections connected by a walkway along one wall.

Modifications:  Pneumatic doors replaced manual doors about 1923.

39-P54 DETAILS

Exterior:  Monitor-roof locomotive-hauled coach; porthole windows in end sheets; diaphragms; hinged side doors; Pennsylvania suburban-type trucks; window screens in summer.

Interior: 68-seat coach; 2/2 reversible plush seats; hinged end doors; one toilet; water cooler; baseboard and underseat heating.

Modifications:  Vinyl seats replaced plush seats 1950-52; some cars had electric marker lights installed 1951-52.

General:  The P54’s were purchased from the Pennsylvania in 1930 to replace P54D’s 51-90 which were converted to multiple-unit cars in that year.  The P54’s were made surplus by the Pennsylvania’s AC electrification of the Philadelphia area.  These cars, along with 314-389 and 452-461, furnished the base service to Speonk and Port Jefferson as of 1/1/1942.  After 1946, they were used everywhere.  They were nicknamed “Mainliners” by the train crews.

                              Car #   PRR #              Car #   PRR #              Car #   PRR #

                              139      21                    153      80                    166      153

                              140      29                    154      86                    167      156

                              141      34                    155      87                    168      171

                              142      38                    156      92                    169      315

                              143      49                    157      97                    170      333

                              144      51                    158      98                    171      351

                              145      53                    159      632                  172      703

                              146      58                    160      635                  173      709

                              147      64                    161      125                  174      711

                              148      70                    162      701                  175      718

                              149      74                    163      127                  176      719

                              150      76                    164      130                  177      713

                              151      77                    165      170                  178      739

                              152      78

Dispositions:

153 used as an instruction car for Maintenance of Equipment Department personnel at Morris Park, 1959-60.

161 wrecked near MP114 (west of Montauk) 10/25/1932 and scrapped soon after.

388:2 ex-Pennsylvania 143, bought 3/1947 to replace 388:1.

40-P54A/P54B/P54E DETAILS

Exterior:  Monitor-roof locomotive-hauled coach; porthole windows in end sheets; diaphragms; Pennsylvania-type trucks (314-388); “Interurban”-type trucks (452-461).

Interior: 69-seat coach (P54A), 68-seat coach (P54B) or 72-seat coach (P54E); 2/2 reversible plush seats; one toilet; water cooler; baggage racks; window screens in summer; double sliding end doors (314-358) or single sliding end doors (359-388 and 452-461).

Modifications:  Vinyl seats replaced plush seats, 1950’s; safety chains replaced diaphragms 1954-55.

Modernization: (P54E only) 3/2 vinyl seating for 88; recessed lighting in ceiling; five electric fans on ceiling; electric markers; modified heating.

General:  The P54B’s and P54E’s had heavy center sills and could be mixed with the P70 coaches.  After the Kew Gardens wreck, 11/22/1950, P54A’s 314-358 were prohibited from the rear ends of trains since they lacked heavy collision posts.  The remainder of the P54A’s and all P54B’s and P54E’s had heavy collision posts and were used as rear cars.  Some of these even got electric markers in the early 1950’s.

Dispositions:

378 wrecked near MP114 (west of Montauk) 10/25/1932 and scrapped soon after.

385 saved for preservation, donated to Central New York Chapter, N.R.H.S., 1/8/1976.

388:1 wrecked at Kings Park, 2/16/1947, and scrapped soon after.

41-P54D DETAILS

Exterior:  Arch-roof locomotive-hauled coach; five roof ventilators; diaphragms; porthole windows in end sheets; lightweight trucks.

Interior:  76-seat coach; 2/2 reversible rattan seats (1-50, 91-99, 101-138, 462-481); 2/2 reversible plush seats (rest of class); two toilets; baggage racks; baseboard and underseat heating; water cooler; single sliding end doors; 32v lighting system.

Modifications:

392-421 converted to multiple-unit trailers, class T54A, and 422-451 converted to multiple-unit trailers, class T54B, in 1925 for the Babylon electrification.  Safety chains replaced diaphragms, underseat electric heating replaced baseboard steam heating, bare bulb DC lights replaced 32v lighting, water cooler removed and rattan seats replaced the plush seats in later years.

51-90 converted to multiple-unit control motors, class MP54D1, on dates listed below and renumbered 1944-1983, in sequence:

                              Car #   Date                Car #   Date                Car #   Date

                              51        5/1930             65        4/1930             78        6/1930

                              52        5/1930             66        5/1930             79        5/1930

                              53        5/1930             67        5/1930             80        6/1930

                              54        6/1930             68        6/1930             81        4/1930

                              55        5/1930             69        5/1930             82        6/1930

                              56        6/1930             70        5/1930             83        6/1930

                              57        5/1930             71        5/1930             84        6/1930

                              58        6/1930             72        5/1930             85        5/1930

                              59        6/1930             73        6/1930             86        6/1930

                              60        5/1930             74        6/1930             87        6/1930

                              61        5/1930             75        5/1930             88        6/1930

                              62        6/1930             76        6/1930             89        7/1930

                              63        5/1930             77        6/1930             90        6/1930

                              64        6/1930

These cars had recessed headlights installed, diaphragms replaced with safety chains, heavy roller bearing trucks replaced the lightweight trucks, rattan seats replaced plush with an increase in seating to 78, DC lighting replaced 32v system, electric underseat heating replaced baseboard and underseat steam heating.  Cars reclassified MP54D1c

as automatic speed control apparatus was installed in 1951.

All other cars had their diaphragms replaced by safety chains in 1953-54.

120-122, 125, 126, 131 and 135 had 3/2 leather seats installed in 1953 with no change in their heating systems.

Modernization:  3/2 vinyl seating for 88; recessed lighting in ceiling; one toilet removed; new baggage racks; baseboard heating modified; underseat heating removed; renumbered into the 7000’s.

403, 404, 411, 416, 425, 428-432, 435, 437-439, 442, 444, 446 and 448 received 3/2 vinyl seating for 91, otherwise same as above; renumbered into 6000’s.

392-401, 408, 409, 414, 424, 426, 433 and 436 converted back into locomotive-hauled coaches, class P54D.  Baseboard steam heat replaced underseat electric heat; 32v recessed lighting in ceiling replaced DC lighting; water cooler installed; 3/2 vinyl seating for 88; one toilet removed; renumbered into 7000’s.

1944-1983 received 3/2 vinyl seating for 89; electric fans; recessed lighting; baseboard heat replaced underseat heat; one toilet removed; new side doors with porthole windows were installed on some cars; renumbered into 4000’s.

General:  Commuter traffic on the main line from Floral Park west was extremely heavy from 1925-30.  Westbound 12 car multiple-unit trains were packed by the time they got to Jamaica.  The 12 car multiple-unit’s that started at Jamaica were packed after they left Forest Hills.  The railroad knew traffic was going to decline abruptly from Queens Village west after the IND subway, which was under construction, opened up.  Rather than buy more new multiple-unit’s, which would not be needed after a few years, the railroad converted the locomotive-hauled coaches to multiple-unit’s.  P54D’s 1-137 enabled the railroad to retire the last of its wooden coaches in the summer of 1927.  P54D’s 1-50, 91-99, 101-138 and 462-481 (117 cars), as of 1/1/1942, furnished base service on Patchogue-Babylon “Scoots”, Jamaica-Ronkonkoma and Long Island City-Oyster Bay trains.  They weren’t normally used to Speonk and Port Jefferson.  After 1946, however, they were used everywhere.  38 last unmodernized car in service.

Dispositions:

1 saved for preservation, in storage at Richmond Hill Coach Yard.

20 converted to W59, 4/1969.

21 wrecked in derailment at Pineaire, 1/24/1971, and scrapped on site.

34 wrecked in a yard collision at Speonk, 1/1968.

100 renumbered 138 soon after delivery since wooden business car 100 was already on roster.

121 wrecked at Huntington, 11/27/1966.

125 wrecked in a yard collision in Richmond Hill Coach Yard, 1/2/1968.

466 wrecked at Brookhaven, 3/1964, and scrapped.

765 wrecked in derailment at Pineaire, 1/24/1971, and scrapped on site.

4959 wrecked in a derailment at C Tower, Penn Station, 3/1964, and scrapped.

4971 wrecked in Carleton Avenue Yard, 6/7/1970, and scrapped on site.

7002 sold to Steamtown Foundation, Bellows Falls, VT, 12/21/1974.  Refurbished in 1976 and named Thomas Chittenden for use on the Vermont Bicentennial Steam Expedition.  Resold 19?? to Knox & Kane Railroad, Marienville PA; stored at Kane PA when railroad suspended service.  Sold at auction 10/10/2008 to Arcade & Attica RR, North Java NY.

7003 wrecked in derailment at Winfield, 5/21/1973, and scrapped on site.

7004 sold to a shopping center in Boonton, NJ, 1/13/1975.

7014 sold to a shopping center in Boonton, NJ, 1/13/1975.

7016 sold to Steamtown Foundation, Bellows Falls, VT, 12/21/1974.

7018 sold to a shopping center in Boonton, NJ, 1/13/1975.  Resold to Steamtown Foundation, Bellows Falls, VT.

7031 sold to Steamtown Foundation, Bellows Falls, VT, 12/21/1974.  Resold 19?? to Knox & Kane Railroad, Marienville PA.  Sold at auction 10/10/2008 to ?

7035 sold to Steamtown Foundation, Bellows Falls, VT, 12/21/1974.  Refurbished in 1976 and named Remember Baker for use on the Vermont Bicentennial Steam Expedition.

7037 sold to a shopping center in Boonton, NJ, 1/13/1975.

7042 sold to a shopping center in Boonton, NJ, 1/13/1975.

7045 sold to Steamtown Foundation, Bellows Falls, VT, 12/21/1974.  Resold to West Virginia Northern Railroad, Kingwood, WV.  Resold to Walkersville Southern Railroad, Walkersville, MD and renumbered 14.

7091 sold to Steamtown Foundation, Bellows Falls, VT, 12/21/1974.  Sold to Gettysburg Scenic RR, Gettysburg, PA and renumbered 709.  Sold to Walkersville Southern Railroad, Walkersville, MD, 2/2004 and renumbered back to 7091.

7092 sold to Steamtown Foundation, Bellows Falls, VT, 12/21/1974.

7094 sold to a shopping center in Boonton, NJ, 1/13/1975.

7098 wrecked in a collision at Richmond Hill Coach Yard about 1961 and scrapped.

7099 sold to Steamtown Foundation, Bellows Falls, VT, 12/21/1974.  Rebuilt in 1976 into a diner and named The Cephas Kent Inn for use on the Vermont Bicentennial Steam Expedition.  Resold 19?? to Knox & Kane Railroad, Marienville PA where it was converted into a café car with generator, cooler and freezer; stored at Kane PA when railroad suspended service.  Sold at auction 10/10/2008 to ?

7102 sold to Steamtown Foundation, Bellows Falls, VT, 12/21/1974.  Refurbished in 1976 and named Ira Allen for use on the Vermont Bicentennial Steam Expedition.  Resold to Village Rail Excursions, Inc. (equipment dealer), 7/1987 and resold to Carthage, Knightstown & Shirley RR, Carthage, IN, for excursion service.

7107 sold to a shopping center in Boonton, NJ, 1/13/1975.

7109 sold to Steamtown Foundation, Bellows Falls, VT, 12/21/1974.  Refurbished in 1976 and named Captain Peleg Sunderland for use on the Vermont Bicentennial Steam Expedition.  Resold 19?? to Knox & Kane Railroad, Marienville PA; stored at Kane PA when railroad suspended service.  Sold at auction 10/10/2008 to ?

7113 sold to a shopping center in Boonton, NJ, 1/13/1975.

7114 sold to a shopping center in Boonton, NJ, 1/13/1975.

7115 sold to Steamtown Foundation, Bellows Falls, VT, 12/21/1974.

7118 sold to a shopping center in Boonton, NJ, 1/13/1975.

7127 sold to Steamtown Foundation, Bellows Falls, VT, 3/29/1975.

7128 sold to Steamtown Foundation, Bellows Falls, VT, 12/21/1974.  Sold to Gettysburg Scenic RR, Gettysburg, PA and renumbered 709.  Sold to Walkersville Southern Railroad, Walkersville, MD, 2/2004 and renumbered back to 7128.

7129 wrecked in derailment at Winfield, 5/21/1973.

7133 sold to Steamtown Foundation, Bellows Falls, VT, 12/21/1974.  Refurbished in 1976 and named Ann Story for use on the Vermont Bicentennial Steam Expedition.  Resold to Village Rail Excursions, Inc. (equipment dealer), 5/1986. Sold to McDonald Steel, McDonald, OH for intra-plant tours. Sold or donated to Ashtabula, Carson & Jefferson RR, Jefferson, OH.

7136 sold to Steamtown Foundation, Bellows Falls, VT, 12/21/1974.  Rebuilt in 1976 into a bar car and named The Catamount Tavern for use on the Vermont Bicentennial Steam Expedition.  Resold to Village Rail Excursions, Inc. (equipment dealer), 5/1986. Sold to McDonald Steel, McDonald, OH for intra-plant tours. Sold or donated to Ashtabula, Carson & Jefferson RR, Jefferson, OH.

7138 sold to a shopping center in Boonton, NJ, 1/13/1975.

7393 sold to Steamtown Foundation, Bellows Falls, VT, 3/29/1975.

7394 sold to Steamtown Foundation, Bellows Falls, VT, 3/29/1975.

7399 sold to Steamtown Foundation, Bellows Falls, VT, 12/21/1974.

7401 sold to Steamtown Foundation, Bellows Falls, VT, 12/21/1974.

7408 wrecked west of Port Jefferson, 1/19/1973, and scrapped on the siding at Setauket.

7426 sold to Steamtown Foundation, Bellows Falls, VT, 12/21/1974.  Refurbished in 1976 and named General John Stark for use on the Vermont Bicentennial Steam Expedition.

7433 sold to Steamtown Foundation, Bellows Falls, VT, 12/21/1974.  Refurbished in 1976 and named Colonel Seth Warner for use on the Vermont Bicentennial Steam Expedition.  Resold 19?? to Knox & Kane Railroad, Marienville PA.  Sold at auction 10/10/2008 to Oyster Bay Railroad Museum, Oyster Bay NY, where it arrived on 6/9/2009.

7436 sold to Steamtown Foundation, Bellows Falls, VT, 12/21/1974.  Resold to West Virginia Northern Railroad, Kingwood, WV.  Resold to Walkersville Southern Railroad, Walkersville, MD.

7467 sold to a shopping center in Boonton, NJ, 1/13/1975.

7468 sold to a shopping center in Boonton, NJ, 1/13/1975.  Resold to Steamtown Foundation, Bellows Falls, VT.

7472 sold to Steamtown Foundation, Bellows Falls, VT, 3/29/1975.

7478 donated to Kentucky Railway Museum, Louisville, KY, 4/23/1976.

7483 sold to Steamtown Foundation, Bellows Falls, VT, 9/29/1975.

7485 sold to a shopping center in Boonton, NJ, 1/13/1975.

42-P54F/P54G DETAILS

Exterior:  Monitor-roof locomotive-hauled club cars; porthole windows in end sheets; diaphragms;

window screens in summer.

Interior:  Wicker chairs facing aisle; two toilets; water cooler; hinged end doors.

Modifications:  Converted to 66-seat coach in 1917 with 2/2 plush seating and name removed.  Vinyl seats replaced plush in 1951.  Safety chains replaced diaphragms in 1954.  Electric markers added in 1955.

43-P58 DETAILS

Exterior:  Monitor-roof locomotive-hauled coach; narrow vestibules and steps; wooden, hinged side doors; square windows in end sheets ; diaphragms.

Interior:  72-seat coach; wooden, hinged end doors; one toilet.

Modifications:  Renumbered 1451, 12/17/1907, to vacate 1401 for new multiple-unit’s on order.  Converted into a club car 6/9/1925 with no number but named Smithtown.  Coach seating replaced with individual wicker chairs facing the aisle.  Used as club car weekdays during summer season on rear of train #621 and head end of train #652.  Converted back into a 72-seat coach, 10/1942, and renumbered 179.  Rattan reversible coach seating replaced the wicker chairs.  Withdrawn from revenue service 10/28/1949.  Used as instruction car for Maintenance of Equipment personnel at Morris Park from 1949 to 1959.  Stored from 1959 to 1961.

44-P63 DETAILS

Exterior: Heavyweight, arch-roof locomotive-hauled coach; diaphragms; four-wheel trucks.

Interior:  84-seat (8514) or 78-seat (8515, 8516) coach; 2/2 seating; two toilets.

General:  Bought by the Long Island 6/1962.  Diaphragms replaced by safety chains and electric markers installed shortly after arrival.

8514 ex-Reading 1238                      8515 ex-Reading 1374          8516 ex-Reading 1458

45-P69 DETAILS

Exterior: Heavyweight, arch-roof locomotive-hauled coach; diaphragms; four-wheel trucks.

Interior:  87-seat  or 95-seat coach; 2/2 plush seating; one toilet.

Modifications:

8520 converted into a 115-seat coach, 7/1964, by replacing the 2/2 seating with 3/2 vinyl seats.  All others except 8518 had their plush seating covered with vinyl.

General:  Originally built for the Boston & Albany and were numbered in the 300 series.  Sold to the Delaware & Hudson about 8/1955.  348 renumbered 211 and 327 renumbered 219, others unknown.  Sold to the Long Island 8/1962.  Diaphragms were removed and safety chains and electric markers were installed shortly after arrival.

8517 ex-Delaware & Hudson 208                        8520 ex-Delaware & Hudson 211

8518 ex-Delaware & Hudson 209                        8521 ex-Delaware & Hudson 219

8519 ex-Delaware & Hudson 210                        8522 ex-Delaware & Hudson 221

46-P70D DETAILS

Exterior: Heavyweight, monitor-roof locomotive-hauled coach; diaphragms.

Interior:  92-seat (8523) or 88-seat (8524-8528) coach; 2/2 plush seating; two toilets.

General:  Bought by the Long Island 4/1965.  Plush seats replaced with vinyl and diaphragms replaced with safety chains.

8523 ex-Pennsylvania 821                                    8526 ex-Pennsylvania 822

8524 ex-Pennsylvania 845                                    8527 ex-Pennsylvania 1248

8525 ex-Pennsylvania 830                                    8528 ex-Pennsylvania 1003

47-P71/ P71A DETAILS

Exterior: Heavyweight, monitor-roof locomotive-hauled coach; diaphragms; four-wheel trucks.

Interior:  84-seat (P71) or 68-seat (P71A) coach; 2/2 plush seating; ice air conditioning; two toilets.

General:  Bought by the Long Island 6/1962. Diaphragms removed and safety chains and electric markers installed shortly after arrival.  Plush seats covered with vinyl.

8506 ex-Maine Central 218                                  8510 ex-Maine Central 262

8507 ex-Maine Central 219                                  8511 ex-Maine Central 263

8508 ex-Maine Central 220                                  8512 ex-Maine Central 264

8509 ex-Maine Central 221                                  8513 ex-Maine Central 265

48-P72 DETAILS

Exterior:  Lightweight, arch-roof locomotive-hauled coach; manually operated side doors with porthole windows; safety chains; GM Model 30960 V6 undercar diesel generator; 150 gallon fuel tank; electric marker lights; four-wheel trucks.

Interior:  120-seat coach; 3/2 reversible vinyl seating; air conditioned; fluorescent lighting; baggage racks; baseboard heating; single sliding end doors with square windows; one toilet.  Lighting and air conditioning provided by undercar diesel generator.

Modifications:  Steam heat replaced by electric heat provided by undercar diesel generator.  Toilets removed from some cars, 1/1975 to 2/1979, increasing seating capacity to 123.

2905:1, 2957:1, 2970:1 and 2978 converted to bar cars on date shown below, same class, by removing all seats and installing a bar on one side of car.

                              Car #     Date

                              2905:1   12/1975

                              2957:1   10/1976

                              2970:1   11/1975

                              2978      6/1977

2918 converted into a 108-seat school car, 7/8/1977.

2949:1 renumbered 2970:2, 8/1976.

2958:1 renumbered 2957:2, 7/1977.

2977 renumbered 2949:2, 3/1978.

2979 renumbered 2905:2, 5/1978.

2980 renumbered 2958:2, 7/1977.

2990 renumbered 2977:2, 12/1987.

2927 converted to 44-seat push-pull parlor car 2002:2, class PP72B, 3/1989.  Coach seating was replaced with 2/1 vinyl/fabric movable lounge chairs; bar installed in middle of car on single seat side; carpeting installed on floor and lower portion of walls.

Dispositions:  All cars sold to Mid-Atlantic RailCar Company, PA, 1998 and leased back until withdrawal from service. 

2002:2 used on Northern Central Rwy, New Freedom, PA.  Stored at Landisville, PA.

2901 sold to New Orleans & Gulf Coast RR.

2902 shipped from Long Island 1/30/1999 to Greenville NJ for scrapping.

2903

2904

2905:2

2906

2907 converted into a Sandite car, 1998?  Withdrawn from service 2001?  Stored at Ronkonkoma.

2908

2909 converted into a Sandite car, 1998?  Withdrawn from service 2001?  Stored at Morris Park

2910 sold to Central New York Chapter, National Railway Historical Society, Marcellus NY.  Maintained and operated by New York, Susquehanna & Western RR.

2911

2912 sold/donated to Gold Coast Railroad Museum, Miami, FL.

2913

2914

2915

2916

2917

2918 sold to Walkersville Southern Railroad, Walkersville, MD.  Not in service, 03/2004.

2919

2920

2921

2922

2923

2924 donated to Railroad Museum of Long Island, Greenport, NY, 7/14/2000.

2925

2926 damaged in collision and stored in Yard A, Long Island City, 2000.

2928 held for non payment of freight charges until 12/2004.

2929

2930

2931 sold to Rio Grande Pacific Corp. in 1999 and operated on New Orleans & Gulf Coast RR, Belle Chasse, LA until 5/2001.  Transferred to Idaho Northern & Pacific RR, Horseshoe Bend, ID, 2002.

2932

2933 donated to Railroad Museum of Long Island, Greenport, NY, 7/14/2000.

2934

2935 donated to Friends of Locomotive #35 Inc., Garden City, NY, 7/14/2000.

2936

2937

2938

2939

2940 sold to New York & Atlantic Rwy, Glendale, NY.

2941 sold to Rio Grande Pacific Corp. in 1999 and operated on New Orleans & Gulf Coast RR, Belle Chasse, LA until 5/2001.  Transferred to Idaho Northern & Pacific RR, Horseshoe Bend, ID, 2002 and named Horseshoe Bend.

2942

2943 sold to Newport Dinner Train, Newport, RI, 4/2000.  Received 7/20/2000 and named Roberta G. Mosher.

2944

2945 sold to New Orleans & Gulf Coast RR.

2946

2947 sold to Central New York Chapter, National Railway Historical Society, Marcellus, NY.  Maintained and operated by New York, Susquehanna & Western RR.

2948

2949:2

2950

2951

2952 sold to Georgia Southwestern RR, 11/2001, renumbered 2001 and named City of Miami.  Coach seats and undercar generator removed, rewired for head-end power and converted into a lounge car with bar and open observation platform, normally seating 45; accessible restroom installed.

2953 sold to Rio Grande Pacific Corp. in 1999 and operated on New Orleans & Gulf Coast RR, Belle Chasse, LA until 5/2001.  Transferred to Idaho Northern & Pacific RR, Horseshoe Bend, ID, 2002.

2954

2955 held for non payment of freight charges until 12/2004.

2956 donated to Friends of Locomotive #35 Inc., Garden City, NY, 7/14/2000.

2957:2 sold to Adrian & Blissfield RR, Blissfield, MI

2958:2

2959 sold to Adrian & Blissfield RR, Blissfield, MI, converted into a dining car and named Hudson River

2960

2961 sold to New Orleans & Gulf Coast RR.

2962 sold to Walkersville Southern Railroad, Walkersville, MD.  Not in service, 03/2004.

2963

2964

2965

2966 donated to New York Transit Museum, Brooklyn, NY, stored at Morris Park.

2967

2968

2969 sold to Rio Grande Pacific Corp. in 1999 and operated on New Orleans & Gulf Coast RR, Belle Chasse, LA until 5/2001.  Transferred to Idaho Northern & Pacific RR, Horseshoe Bend, ID, 2002.

2970:2

2971

2972

2973 sold to Central New York Chapter, National Railway Historical Society, Marcellus, NY.  Maintained and operated by New York, Susquehanna & Western RR.

2974

2975

2976

2977:2 sold to Central New York Chapter, National Railway Historical Society, Marcellus, NY.  Maintained and operated by New York, Susquehanna & Western RR.

2991 held for non payment of freight charges until 12/2004.

2992

2993 sold to Jay Eichler (Long Island Railcar Company), Riverhead, NY, 1999.

 

49-P74 DETAILS

Exterior:  Heavyweight, monitor-roof locomotive-hauled club car; safety chains; six-wheel trucks; undercar diesel engine.

Interior:  63-seat (2001), 60-seat (2002) or 55-seat (2003) club car; wicker chairs facing the aisle; air conditioned; porter’s room, one toilet.  Lighting and air conditioning provided by undercar diesel engine.

General:  These cars were built for the Pullman Company as 12 section-1 drawing room sleeping cars equipped with lounge, one toilet on each end and diaphragms.  Ice air conditioning was installed about 1933 and was replaced by mechanical air conditioning about 1946.  Sold to the Pennsylvania 7/1/1947 after court ordered cessation of parlor/sleeping car service.  Purchased by the Long Island, 5/1957, and were intended to replace the aging P70’s in club car service.  J. Finley Wilson was pressed into service almost immediately to replace P70 #816 as the Syosset club car.  The name “Pennsylvania” on the letterboards and the “Pullman” lettering near the doors were painted out in tuscan red and “Long Island” put on the letterboard in gold leaf, but the name remained.  This lasted until 10/1957 when the intended new Syosset club car replaced it.  The cars were converted into club cars by removing the sections, lounge/toilets and mechanical air conditioning and installing one small toilet and the undercar diesel engine.  The drawing rooms were used as porter’s rooms.  Diaphragms were replaced with safety chains as soon after their arrival as possible. 

McEwen was converted 10/1957 and replaced J. Finley Wilson as the Syosset club. Belfast was converted 1/1958, replacing P70 #811 and was used until 12/1976.

J. Finley Wilson was converted 5/1958, replacing P70 #828 and was used until 6/1976.

2001 ex-Pennsylvania 8872-McEwen, nee-Pullman McEwen

2002 ex-Pennsylvania 8736-Belfast, nee-Pullman Belfast

2003 ex-Pennsylvania 8968-J. Finley Wilson, exx-Pennsylvania 8968-Waltersburg, nee-Pullman Waltersburg

Dispositions:

2001 was heavily damaged in a rear end collision just west of Port Jefferson, 1/19/1973, and was withdrawn from service.

2002 donated to Union Center Venture, Inc., St. Louis, MO, 3/1978.  Resold c.1990 to Tom Ellis, Napoleon, Michigan.

2003 sold to Leonard Weiss, Cincinnati, OH, 5/1977.  Leased to Railway Exposition Co., Cincinnati, OH.  Sold 1994 to The Railway Museum of Greater Cincinnati, Covington KY.

50-P74A DETAILS

Exterior:  Heavyweight, monitor-roof locomotive-hauled coach; safety chains; six-wheel trucks.

Interior:  54-seat buffet-coach (7500) or 60-seat coach (7501-7505); 2/2 reclining seats; mechanical air conditioning; lounge/toilet at each end.

Modernization:  Mechanical air conditioning replaced by undercar diesel generator which supplied electricity for air conditioning and lighting; reclining seats replaced with 3/2 vinyl, reversible seating for 118; heating system modified; both lounge/toilets replaced with one small toilet. 

7500 converted into a 60-seat club car during modernization, renumbered 2004 and named Locust Valley; reclining seats replaced with wicker chairs facing the aisle; lounge/toilet on one end converted into a porter’s room; mechanical air conditioning replaced with undercar diesel generator.

General:  Built as 26-seat parlor cars for the Michigan Central, named Andrigo, Pansey, Roxana, Stella, Flavia and Marie, but not numbered and were built with revolving parlor chairs and diaphragms.  The Michigan Central was absorbed into the New York Central system about 1932.  Ice air conditioning was installed about 1934.  All six were converted into reclining seat coaches in 1942, had their names removed and numbers applied as follows:

2800 ex-Andrigo                           2812 ex-Roxana                2819 ex-Flavia

2811 ex-Pansey                             2813 ex-Stella                   2825 ex-Marie

Mechanical air conditioning replaced the ice. 54 seats and a small buffet were installed in 2800.  60 seats were installed in 2811, 2812, 2813, 2819 and 2825.  Sold to the Long Island 1/1958.  Diaphragms were replaced with safety chains and they were relettered and renumbered Long Island but were not repainted.  New York Central on the letterboards were painted out in gray.  All were repainted Long Island when modernized.

7500 ex-New York Central 2800                         7503 ex-New York Central 2813

7501 ex-New York Central 2811                         7504 ex-New York Central 2819

7502 ex-New York Central 2812                         7505 ex-New York Central 2825

2004 was used weekdays on the head end of Oyster Bay-Long Island City trains #523 and #554 until 2/23/1973.  Renamed Syosset:3 and used on Port Jefferson-Hunterspoint Avenue trains #621 and #652 from 6/21/1973 until 2/28/1975.

Dispositions:

2004 donated to Long Island-Sunrise Trail Chapter, National Railway Historical Society, Babylon, NY, 5/1976.  Leased and moved to the Black River & Western, Ringoes, NJ for storage and restoration.  Sold 5/30/1992 to Keith A. Riley and moved to New Hope, PA.

51-P74B DETAILS

Exterior:  Lightweight, arch-roof locomotive-hauled coach; large, square paired windows; diaphragms; four-wheel trucks.

Interior:  84-seat coach; 2/2 reclining seats; mechanical air conditioning; recessed incandescent lighting; full length baggage racks; four toilets.

Modernization:  2/2 reclining seats replaced with 3/2 vinyl reversible seating for 117; three toilets removed; safety chains replaced diaphragms; mechanical air conditioning replaced with undercar diesel generator; electric marker lights.

General:  Built for the Boston & Maine for general long distance service.  Cars were delivered as follows:

               ex-          Date                               ex-       Date                          ex-       Date

Car #      B&M      Rec’d              Car #      B&M   Rec’d            Car #   B&M   Rec’d

7521       4593       9/9/1958          7531       4602    1/23/1959     7541    4601    5/14/1959

7522       4586       9/9/1958          7532       4606    1/23/1959     7542    4614    5/14/1959

7523       4588       9/9/1958          7533       4610    1/23/1959     7543    4605    5/14/1959

7524       4585       9/9/1958          7534       4612    1/23/1959     7544    4608    5/14/1959

7525       4591       10/15/1958      7535       4613    5/2/1959       7545    4599    5/16/1959

7526       4590       10/15/1958      7536       4604    5/2/1959       7546    4607    7/18/1959

7527       4594       10/15/1958      7537       4611    5/2/1959       7547    4595    7/11/1959

7528       4589       10/15/1958      7538       4609    5/7/1959       7548    4603    7/24/1959

7529       4587       10/15/1958      7539       4597    5/7/1959       7549    4596    7/29/1959

7530       4592       9/9/1958          7540       4598    5/7/1959       7550    4600    8/11/1959

Last steam heated train on the Long Island, 3/8/1979, concurrent with last day of service for P74B’s.  Consist was C420 #228, P74B’s #7546, 7537, 7536, 7530, 7525, 7541, 7549, P72’s #2968, 2974 and 2911.

Modifications:  After 1960, the conversion of many cars to bar-coaches proved very popular.  The cars were not originally used in the morning peak period, but starting in 1962 juice, coffee and pastry were served on the morning inbound trips and liquor on the afternoon outbound trips.  The morning service continued until 1971.  Cars that were converted into bar-coaches had recessed incandescent lighting replaced with fluorescent lighting.

7521 converted to a 4-seat bar-coach, 1964.

7522 converted to a 33-seat bar-coach, 1964.

7522 converted to a 4-seat bar-coach, 1965.

7523 converted to a 33-seat bar-coach, 1960.

7523 converted to a 4-seat bar-coach, 1964.

7524 converted to a 4-seat bar-coach, 1965.

7525 converted to a 4-seat bar-coach, 1963.

7527 converted to a 53-seat bar-coach, 1961.

7528 converted to a 48-seat bar-coach, 1960.

7528 converted to a 4-seat bar-coach, 1963.

7530 converted to a 23-seat bar-coach, 1962.

7530 converted to a 4-seat bar-coach, 1964.

7531 converted to a 53-seat bar-coach, 1962.

7531 converted to a 4-seat bar-coach, 1964.

7536 converted to a 105-seat classroom car for Adelphi College, 9/1972, by removing 12 seats and installing a partition and teacher’s room on one end.  Partitions removed 11/1977 and remained in service as a 105-seat coach.  Used on Montauk Branch.

7540 converted to a 28-seat bar-coach, 1960.

7540 converted to a 4-seat bar-coach, 1963.

7541 converted to a 80-seat bar-coach, 1960.

7541 converted to a 117-seat coach, 1964.

7542 converted to a 53-seat bar-coach, 1962.

7543 converted to a 4-seat bar-coach, 1963.

7544 converted to a 4-seat bar-coach, 1964.

7548 converted to a 105-seat classroom car for Adelphi College, 9/1971, by removing 12 seats and installing a partition and teacher’s room on one end.  Converted back to a 117-seat coach, 10/1977.  Used on Port Jefferson Branch.

7550 converted to a 4-seat bar-coach, 1965

Dispositions:

7522 converted to a storage car and moved to Yard A, 1977.  Moved to Holban Yard 1982.

7524 sold to Red Caboose restaurant and moved to Smithtown, NY.

7526 converted to alcohol car W85, 9/1978.  Scrapped on the Tail Track east of Hunterspoint Avenue station, Long Island City, 6/2005.  Which one?

7530 moved from storage in Corona Meadows to Yard A, 10/29/1979.

7533 moved from storage in Corona Meadows to Yard A, 10/26/1979.

7538 destroyed by fire at Richmond Hill Coach Yard, 5/1968.

7544 converted to alcohol car W86, 9/1978.  Scrapped on the Tail Track east of Hunterspoint Avenue station, Long Island City, 6/2005.  Which one?

7527, 7541, 7545, 7548 and 7549 stored in Morris Park Shop Yard, 9/1980, awaiting disposition.

52-P74B1 DETAILS

Exterior:  Lightweight, arch-roof locomotive-hauled buffet-coach; large, square paired windows; diaphragms; four-wheel trucks.

Interior:  58-seat buffet-coach; 2/2 reclining seats; buffet on one end; ice air conditioning.

Modifications:  Converted to 49-seat bar-coaches by removing buffet and reclining seats and installing a bar on one end and 3/2 vinyl seating in the rest of the car.  Diaphragms replaced with safety chains.  Undercar diesel generators were not installed, unlike the similar B&M cars, 32 volt system for lighting left intact.

General:  Bought by the Long Island 6/1962.

8551 ex-Bangor & Aroostook 150           8553 ex-Bangor & Aroostook 152

8552 ex-Bangor & Aroostook 151

53-P74C DETAILS

Exterior:  Heavyweight, monitor-roof locomotive-hauled parlor car; six-wheel trucks; safety chains.

Interior:  28-seat, 1 drawing room parlor car, seating 33; ice air conditioning; 28 revolving parlor seats; two lounge/toilets.

Modifications:

2011:1 was renamed Hamptons, (date?).  Renamed back to Montauk:2, 5/1960.  2012:1 was renamed The Hampton, 5/1960.  Renamed back to Shinnecock:1, 6/1961.  Safety glass in sealed windows and wood paneling installed in both cars, 1965.

General:  Originally operated by the Pullman Company.  2012 was equipped with ice air conditioning, 5/8/1934.  Sold to the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western, 12/31/1945.  Sold to Long Island 10/1958 and 11/1958, respectively.  Diaphragms were removed and cars were relettered Long Island but not repainted.  Repainted, renumbered and renamed Long Island, 5/1960.  Used as parlor cars until 9/1969, then withdrawn from service.

2011 ex- Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Virginia Dare

2012 ex- Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Julia Ward Howe

54-P74D DETAILS

Exterior:  Heavyweight, monitor-roof locomotive-hauled parlor car; six-wheel trucks; safety chains; duplicate air brakes.

Interior:  28-seat, 1 drawing room parlor car, seating 33; ice air conditioning; 28 revolving parlor seats; carpeted floors; large toilet at each end; individual seat lighting; double pane glass windows.

Modifications:

2020 and 2029 received safety glass in sealed windows and wood paneling in 1965.

General:  Built for the Pullman Company with the same names and configuration as on the Pennsylvania.  Originally had no air conditioning, but had four electric fans on the ceiling and cinder fins on the windows.  Ice air conditioning was installed between 1933 and 1936.  Sold to the Pennsylvania 7/1/1947 after court ordered cessation of parlor/sleeping car service by Pullman.  The Pennsylvania repainted them tuscan red with pinstripes above and below the windows and relettered them Pennsylvania.  Numbers were assigned in the 7000 series but the Pullman Company names were kept.

In 1961 the Pennsylvania began phasing out its ice air conditioned cars and the Long Island was able to purchase them for salvage prices.  Cars 2013 to 2031 were purchased 3/1961, repainted, renumbered and renamed and were used as parlor cars from 5/1961 to 1968, then withdrawn from service.  Cars 2039 to 2047 were purchased 3/8/1964, repainted, renumbered and renamed and were used as parlor cars from 5/1964 to 1968, then withdrawn from service.

2013 ex-Pennsylvania 7055-Ames

2014 ex-Pennsylvania 7090-Lane

2015 ex-Pennsylvania 7100-Noel

2016 ex-Pennsylvania 7065-Burgner

2017 ex-Pennsylvania 7074-Fenns

2018 ex-Pennsylvania 7079-Glade

2019 ex-Pennsylvania 7104-Rolfe

2020 ex-Pennsylvania 7060-Besco

2021 ex-Pennsylvania 7089-Kanty

2022 ex-Pennsylvania 7054-Alpha

2023 ex-Pennsylvania 7071-Eaton

2024 ex-Pennsylvania 7073-Elizabeth Cady Stanton

2025 ex-Pennsylvania 7081-Greer

2026 ex-Pennsylvania 7082-Grove

2027 ex-Pennsylvania 7087-James Wilson

2028 ex-Pennsylvania 7113-Susan B. Anthony

2029 ex-Pennsylvania 7091-Ledy

2030 ex-Pennsylvania 7096-Lucretia Mott

2031 ex-Pennsylvania 7097-Markel

2039 ex-Pennsylvania 7044-Robert R. Livingston

2040 ex-Pennsylvania 7067-Curtis Bay

2041 ex-Pennsylvania 7070-Dora

2042 ex-Pennsylvania 7080-Glen Osborne

2043 ex-Pennsylvania 7083-Haines

2044 ex-Pennsylvania 7084-Hazel Dell

2045 ex-Pennsylvania 7102-Quaker Valley

2046 ex-Pennsylvania 7110-Spring Meadow

2047 ex-Pennsylvania 7115-Trindle Spring

Dispositions:

2020:1 wrecked at East Hampton, 11/6/1966.

55-P74DL DETAILS

Exterior:  Heavyweight, monitor-roof locomotive-hauled parlor-lounge car; six-wheel trucks; safety chains; duplicate air brakes.

Interior:  Vestibule on one end only; ice air conditioning; carpeted floors; two toilets; individual seat lighting; double pane glass windows.

2032:  41-seat parlor-lounge-solarium; 12 revolving parlor seats on vestibule end; 29 lounge chairs facing the aisle; large windows on lounge end; large windows in lounge end sheet and door; observation railing on either side of lounge end door.

2033, 2034:  41-seat parlor-lounge; 12 revolving parlor seats; 29 lounge chairs facing the aisle.

2035:  38-seat parlor-lounge; 12 revolving parlor seats; 26 lounge chairs facing the aisle.

2036: 34-seat parlor-lounge; 20 revolving parlor seats; 14 lounge chairs facing the aisle and two tables in the middle.

General:  Built for the Pullman Company with the same names and configuration as on the Pennsylvania.  Originally had no air conditioning, but had four electric fans on the ceiling and cinder fins on the windows.  Ice air conditioning was installed between 1933 and 1936.  Sold to the Pennsylvania 7/1/1947 after court ordered cessation of parlor/sleeping car service by Pullman.  The Pennsylvania repainted them tuscan red with pinstripes above and below the windows and relettered them Pennsylvania.  Numbers were assigned in the 7000 series but the Pullman Company names were kept.

In 1961 the Pennsylvania began phasing out its ice air conditioned cars and the Long Island was able to purchase them for salvage prices.  Bought by the Long Island 3/1961, repainted, renumbered and renamed and were used as parlor cars from 5/1961 to 1968, then withdrawn from service.

2032 ex-Pennsylvania 7020-Plymouth Rock

2033 ex-Pennsylvania 7021-Cornelius Henrickson

2034 ex-Pennsylvania 7022-Thomas Jefferson

2035 ex-Pennsylvania 7030-John Adams

2036 ex-Pennsylvania 7052-Westdale

56-P74EL DETAILS

Exterior:  Heavyweight, modernized, arch-roof locomotive-hauled dining car; picture windows; six-wheel trucks.

Interior:  48-seat cafe-diner with kitchen, tables and movable chairs; mechanical and ice air conditioning; vestibule on one end only; no toilets.

General:  Ex-Lehigh Valley 1000.   Built as a monitor-roof, 18-seat baggage-club car with buffet, lounge with ten movable leather chairs and a cafe section with seating for eight. Rebuilt in 1929 as a full club car.  The baggage section and doors were removed and four windows per side were installed.  The original ten leather chairs were removed and 38 new chairs were installed facing the aisle.  The original eight seat cafe section with tables remained.  Rebuilt in 1953 as a 40-seat club-diner and modernized with an arch roof.  Sold to the Long Island 8/16/1961 for use as a full diner on summer Montauk trains.  Eight seats were added.  Repainted, relettered and renumbered Long Island in 5/1962.  Used as a diner from 5/1962 until 9/1964.  Converted into a lounge car, 4/1965, by removing the kitchen and dining tables and moving chairs to the sides facing the aisle.  Used as a lounge car from 5/1965 until 9/1969.  Converted into a 25-seat parlor car and renamed Onteora:2, 3/1970, by removing the 48 chairs and installing revolving seats from a scrapped parlor car.  Used as a parlor car from 5/1970 until 9/1970 only.

Disposition:  Sold to an unknown person in Atlanta, GA, 1/1974.  Installed on an isolated piece of track in front of the CSX Marietta, GA station as part of the American Flyer Café.  Scrapped on location in 11/2009.

57-P80 DETAILS

Exterior:  Lightweight, stainless steel locomotive-hauled coach; picture windows; safety chains; tight-lock couplers.

Interior:  107-seat (529, 530) or 106-seat (531-543) coach; 3/2 reversible vinyl seating; mechanical air conditioning; vestibule at one end; one toilet.

Modifications:

530 converted to a 24-seat bar-coach, 5/1968, with longitudinal seating and its toilet was removed.

General:  These cars were sold about 6/1967 to the Pickens Railroad where they were rebuilt.  Original reclining seats were replaced with high density seating, two of the three toilets were removed, end lounges were removed and diaphragms were replaced with safety chains.  The Long Island bought cars 2938, 3049, 3063, 3073, 3075, 3064, 3126, 3133, 3136 and 3149 in 10/1967.  Cars 3005, 3067, 3101 and 3147 were bought 11/1967. Car 86-Samuel J. Tilden was bought 12/1967.  These cars were nicknamed “Pickens cars” by Maintenance of Equipment personnel and “Silver Streak” by everyone else.

529 ex-New York Central 2938

530 ex-New York Central 86-Samuel J. Tilden

531 ex-New York Central 3005

532 ex-New York Central 3049

533 ex-New York Central 3063

534 ex-New York Central 3067

535 ex-New York Central 3073

536 ex-New York Central 3075

537 ex-New York Central 3064

538 ex-New York Central 3101

539 ex-New York Central 3126

540 ex-New York Central 3133

541 ex-New York Central 3136

542 ex-New York Central 3147

543 ex-New York Central 3149

58-P80A DETAILS

Exterior:  Lightweight, smooth-side, locomotive-hauled sleeping car or sleeper-lounge; picture windows; four-wheel streamline trucks; safety chains; telephone antenna on roof (2051-2054, 2063).

Interior:  32-seat 6 double bedroom-bar-lounge (2051-2054, 2063), 30-seat 4 double bedroom-4 compartment-2 drawing room sleeping car (2055-2058, 2062) or 13 double bedroom sleeping car (2059-2061); mechanical air conditioning; vestibule on one end.

General:  Originally built for the Pullman Company.  Sold to the Pennsylvania 7/1/1947 after court ordered cessation of parlor/sleeping car service.  The Pennsylvania kept the same names on the cars and assigned numbers, but the numbers were never applied, they being used for office use only.  All were transferred to Penn Central, 2/1/1968, then sold to the Long Island 8/1968.  They were pressed into service immediately as parlor cars, enabling the retirement of 13 heavyweight parlor cars.  “Pennsylvania” on the letterboards were painted out with tuscan red paint in 12/1968 but the old names remained.  Repainted and renumbered Long Island in 5-6/1970, but not renamed.  Names were applied to cars on various dates, as follows:

                  Date                            Date                            Date

      Car #   Named            Car #   Named             Car #   Named

      2051    6/24/1971        2056    7/7/1971          2060    7/7/1971

      2052    6/10/1971        2057    6/18/1971        2061    6/24/1971

      2054    6/18/1971        2058    6/24/1971        2062    6/22/1971

      2055    5/10/1972        2059    6/23/1971        2063    6/18/1971

Car 2053 was assigned the name Peconic:2 but never actually received it.  Diaphragms were removed when cars were repainted, except 2058.

2051 ex-Pennsylvania 8140-Spruce Falls

2052 ex-Pennsylvania 8135-Juniper Falls

2053 ex-Pennsylvania 8133-Hemlock Falls

2054 ex-Pennsylvania 8187-Maple Falls

2055 ex-Pennsylvania 8019-Imperial View

2056 ex-Pennsylvania 8009-Imperial Lawn

2057 ex-Pennsylvania 8010-Imperial Mantle

2058 ex-Pennsylvania 8013-Imperial Path

2059 ex-Pennsylvania 8002-Hamilton County

2060 ex-Pennsylvania 8003-Jefferson County

2061 ex-Pennsylvania 8004-Lake County

2062 ex-Pennsylvania 8018-Imperial Trail

2063 ex-Pennsylvania 8139-Pine Falls

Dispositions:

2053 donated to National Museum of Transport, Kirkwood, MO.

2054 sold to Railroad Passenger Cars, Inc., Baltimore, MD, 1980.

2063 sold to Naporano Iron & Metal Co., Newark, NJ, 6/16/1977.  Resold to Donald Jilson, Lowman, NY.  Stored at Tioga Transportation Museum, Flemingville, NY.

59-P80B DETAILS

Exterior:  Lightweight, smooth-side, locomotive-hauled sleeping car; picture windows; four-wheel streamline trucks; safety chains.

Interior:  24-seat 14 roomette-4 double bedroom sleeping car; mechanical air conditioning; vestibule on one end.

General:  Built for the Louisiana & Arkansas, a subsidiary of Kansas City Southern, but was merged into KCS shortly after.  Sold to the Long Island 8/1968 and Long Island numbers applied to vestibules only.  Cars repainted Long Island 5/1971 (2050), 6/1971 (2049) and 8/1971 (2048).  Diaphragms removed upon repainting, except 2049.  2049 was assigned the name Massapequa:2 and 2050 was assigned Mastic:2, but they never actually received them.

2048 ex-Kansas City Southern Job Edson

2049 ex-Kansas City Southern Leonor Loree

2050 ex-Kansas City Southern William Edenborn

Dispositions:  All sold to E. Tuman Demolition Co.

60-P80C DETAILS

Exterior:  Lightweight, streamlined, locomotive-hauled coach; picture windows; four-wheel trucks; diaphragms; heavily riveted exterior.

Interior:  60-seat (8555-8557, 8563-8568, 8573), 62-seat (8554) or 74-seat (8558-8562) coach; 2/2 reclining seats; mechanical air conditioning; fluorescent lighting; vestibule on one end; four toilets; tile floors.

Modifications: 

8561 and 8562 converted to 108-seat coaches in 1972 by removing 2/2 reclining seats and installing 3/2 reversible seating.  Diaphragms replaced with safety chains during repainting in 1970.

General:  These cars were rebuilt by the Kansas City Southern on the following dates:

                                          Date                            Date                             Date

                              Car #   Rebuilt            Car #   Rebuilt            Car #   Rebuilt

                              251      11/1962           257      12/1963           262      6/1964

                              252      11/1962           258      12/1963           263      6/1964

                              253      11/1962           259      12/1963           264      6/1965

                              254      11/1962           260      1/1964             265      6/1965

                              255      12/1963           261      6/1964             266      6/1965

                              256      12/1963

All sold to the Long Island 8/1968, except #260 which was sold 2/1969.  Operated in Kansas City Southern Paint during 1968 and 1969.  Long Island numbers applied only to inside of vestibule.  Cars repainted and renumbered Long Island in 1970.

8554 ex-Kansas City Southern 251                               8562 ex-Kansas City Southern 259

8555 ex-Kansas City Southern 252                               8563 ex-Kansas City Southern 261

8556 ex-Kansas City Southern 253                               8564 ex-Kansas City Southern 262

8557 ex-Kansas City Southern 254                               8565 ex-Kansas City Southern 263

8558 ex-Kansas City Southern 255                               8566 ex-Kansas City Southern 264

8559 ex-Kansas City Southern 256                               8567 ex-Kansas City Southern 265

8560 ex-Kansas City Southern 257                               8568 ex-Kansas City Southern 266

8561 ex-Kansas City Southern 258                               8573 ex-Kansas City Southern 260

Dispositions:

8564 sold to Charles Conrad, Raytown, MO, 1976.  Leased to Smokey Hill Railway & Historical Society, Shawnee Mission, KS.

8573 stored in Morris Park Shop Yard, 9/1980, awaiting disposition.

61-P80D DETAILS

Exterior:  Lightweight, stainless steel locomotive-hauled coach; picture windows; safety chains; four-wheel trucks.

Interior:  50-seat (8570) or 56-seat (8569, 8571, 8572) coach; 2/2 reclining seats; mechanical air conditioning; vestibule at one end; two toilet/lounges.

General:  Sold to the Long Island 1/1969.  Diaphragms removed and safety chains installed upon arrival.  Cars repainted Long Island 1970, names removed 3/1970 (8570), 2/1972 (8571) and 12/1972 (8569).  Car 8572 kept its name until the end of service.  These were the only named coaches ever operated by the Long Island.

8569 ex-Florida East Coast Boynton                            8571 ex-Florida East Coast Bunnell

8570 ex-Florida East Coast Homestead                        8572 ex-Florida East Coast Titusville

62-P80E DETAILS

Exterior:  Lightweight, stainless steel locomotive-hauled sleeping car; picture windows; safety chains; four-wheel trucks.

Interior:  22-seat 14 roomette-4 double bedroom (2065-2071) or 26-seat 6 section-6 roomette-4 double bedroom (2074-2080) sleeping car; mechanical air conditioning; vestibule on one end only.

General:  Cars transferred to Penn Central 2/1/1969, sold to Long Island 9/1969.  Operated in New Haven/Penn Central colors during 1970 summer season.  Cars repainted, renumbered, renamed and diaphragms replaced with safety chains on various dates, as follows:

                  Date                            Date                            Date

      Car #   Painted            Car #   Painted            Car #   Painted

      2065    5/18/1971        2070    6/19/1971        2077    6/9/1971

      2066    6/9/1971          2071    6/9/1971          2078    6/9/1971

      2067    5/24/1971        2075    5/13/1971        2079    6/17/1971

      2068    5/10/1971        2076    5/24/1971        2080    5/24/1971

      2069    5/18/1971

Cars 2069 and 2080 never had their roofs repainted from New Haven/Penn Central black to platinum mist.  Car 2074 was never painted Long Island; it was kept at Morris Park for use as a parts car for the others.  Car 2080 never had Long Island painted on letterboards.

2065 ex-New York, New Haven & Hartford 512-Manomet Point

2066 ex-New York, New Haven & Hartford 520-Race Point

2067 ex-New York, New Haven & Hartford 525-Stratford Point

2068 ex-Penn Central 4223-City Point, nee-NYNH&H 503-City Point

2069 ex-New York, New Haven & Hartford 518-Pond Point

2070 ex-New York, New Haven & Hartford 506-Goshen Point

2071 ex-Penn Central 4229-Long Point, nee-NYNH&H 509-Long Point

2074 ex-New York, New Haven & Hartford 532-Nantasket Beach

2075 ex-New York, New Haven & Hartford 536-Monument Beach

2076 ex-New York, New Haven & Hartford 527-Bailey’s Beach

2077 ex-New York, New Haven & Hartford 529-Grove Beach

2078 ex-New York, New Haven & Hartford 531-Matunuck Beach

2079 ex-New York, New Haven & Hartford 528-Crescent Beach

2080 ex-New York, New Haven & Hartford 535-Rocky Neck Beach

Dispositions:

2066 sold to Eric Tuman Metal Co., 6/1976, for scrap.

2067 sold to Naporano Iron & Metal Co., Newark, NJ, 7/6/1977, for scrap.  Resold to Geoffrey Knees, Wilton, CT, 1980-81. Currently stored at Danbury Railway Museum, Danbury CT.

2069 sold to Ringling Brothers/Barnum & Bailey Circus Co., Venice, FL, 1976.

2071 sold to Naporano Iron & Metal Co., Newark, NJ, 7/6/1977, for scrap.

2075 sold to Ringling Brothers/Barnum & Bailey Circus Co., Venice, FL, 1976 and renumbered 243.

2076 sold to Eric Tuman Metal Co., 6/1976, for scrap.  Resold to the Delaware Otsego System, 8/1977, no number, but renamed Lake Wallenpaupack.

2077 sold to Eric Tuman Metal Co., 6/1976, for scrap.  Resold to Robert Rendelman for a residence in Silver Spring, MD.  Donated to Nature Conservancy.  Resold to Ken Bitten, Stewartstown, PA.

63-P80F DETAILS

Exterior:  Lightweight, streamlined, locomotive-hauled lounge car; picture windows; four-wheel trucks; telephone antenna on roof; diaphragms.

Interior:  50-seat club-lounge; venetian blinds on windows; mechanical air conditioning; two toilets; no vestibules.

Modifications:

2072 had its diaphragms replaced with safety chains when repainted.

General:  Sold to the Long Island 8/26/1969 and immediately put into parlor car service.  Repainted, renumbered and renamed Long Island 7/6/1971 (6207) and 4/9/1971 (6208).

2072 ex-Union Pacific 6207                     2073 ex-Union Pacific 6208

Dispositions:

2072 sold to Naporano Iron & Metal Co., Newark, NJ, 6/10/1977, for scrap.

2073 stored in Morris Park Shop Yard awaiting disposition, 9/1980.

64-P80G DETAILS

Exterior:  Lightweight, streamlined, locomotive-hauled, flat-end observation car; picture windows; four-wheel trucks; diaphragms; electric markers.

Interior:  48-seat tavern-lounge-observation; mechanical air conditioning; vestibule on non-observation end; venetian blinds on windows.

General:  Built for the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western for use on the “Phoebe Snow”.  Transferred to Erie-Lackawanna 10/30/1960 and sold to the Long Island 6/14/1970.  Immediately put into parlor car service.  Repainted, renumbered and renamed Long Island 3/7/1971 (789) and 7/7/1971 (790).  Car 2081 was used as the South Shore Club car from 6/1976 to 11/14/1977.

2081 ex-Erie-Lackawanna 789                 2082 ex-Erie-Lackawanna 790

Dispositions:  Both cars transferred to Conrail’s Metropolitan Region, 1/1981, for use on Harlem and Hudson Line trains.  Transferred to Metro-North Commuter, 1/31/1983, after disposal of commuter operations by Conrail.  Cars renumbered MN-1 and MN-2, respectively (?) and remain in Metro-North inspection train service to date.

65-P80H/P80J DETAILS

Exterior:  Lightweight, smooth-side, locomotive-hauled coach; picture windows; four-wheel trucks; electric markers.

Interior:  83-seat coach (68 reclining, 15 reversible); 2/2 seating; mechanical air conditioning; vestibule on one end; one toilet.

General:  Built for the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western as 68-seat coaches with two toilet/lounges for “Phoebe Snow” and “Westerner-New Yorker” service.  Transferred to Erie-Lackawanna, 10/30/1960, after merger with the Erie.  Used by Erie-Lackawanna until end of passenger service, 1/4/1970.  Sold to the Metropolitan Transportation Authority on dates shown below:

                                                      Date                                                             Date

PC #                EL #    DL&W #   Sold                    PC #    EL #    DL&W #   Sold

2180                1307    307            1/1971                2187    1317    317            1/1971

2181                1310    310            4/1971                2188    1318    318            1/1971

2182                1311    311            2/1971                2190    1320    320            1/1971

2183                1312    312            1/1971                2191    1321    321            1/1971

2184                1314    314            3/1971                2192    1323    323            1/1971

2185                1315    315            3/1971                2193    1324    324            2/1971

2186                1316    316            1/1971                2194    1325    325            4/1971

Operated by Penn Central, Metropolitan Region, for use on Upper Harlem Line and Upper Hudson Line trains.  The MTA replaced the two toilet/lounges with one small toilet and added 15 seats (three rows of 3/2 vinyl reversible seats).  Cars repainted, renumbered and relettered MTA with M/Central logos.  Used from 1/1971 until 5/1974, when they were transferred to the Long Island.  Cars were not renumbered for Long Island service.  Used from 6/1974 until 5/1976.  Only cars 2182 and 2194 were repainted Long Island.

Dispositions:

2180 sold to Eric Tuman Demolition & Salvage Co., 12/17/1976.

2181 sold to Eric Tuman Demolition & Salvage Co., 12/17/1976.

2182 sold to Eric Tuman Demolition & Salvage Co., 12/17/1976.  Resold to Railroad Passenger Cars, Inc., Baltimore, MD, 6/1977, and renumbered 8305.

2183 sold to Delaware & Hudson, 12/17/1976, and renumbered 35.

2184 sold to Eric Tuman Demolition & Salvage Co., 12/17/1976.  Resold to Railroad Passenger Cars, Inc., Baltimore, MD, 1977, and renumbered 8303.

2185 sold to Railroad Passenger Cars, Inc., Baltimore, MD, 1976, and renumbered 8300.

2186 sold to Eric Tuman Demolition & Salvage Co., 12/17/1976.

2187 sold to Railroad Passenger Cars, Inc., Baltimore, MD, 1976, and renumbered 8301.

2188 sold to Eric Tuman Demolition & Salvage Co., 12/17/1976.  Resold to Railroad Passenger Cars, Inc., Baltimore, MD, 1977, and renumbered 8302.

2190 sold to Eric Tuman Demolition & Salvage Co., 12/17/1976.

2191 sold to Eric Tuman Demolition & Salvage Co., 12/17/1976.

2192 sold to Eric Tuman Demolition & Salvage Co., 12/17/1976. Resold to Railroad Passenger Cars, Inc., Baltimore, MD, 6/1977, but wrecked in a derailment while in transit at Metuchen, NJ, 6/22/1977.

2193 sold to Eric Tuman Demolition & Salvage Co., 12/17/1976.

2194 sold to Railroad Passenger Cars, Inc., Baltimore, MD, 1976, and renumbered 8304

66-PB54/PB54A/PB54B/PB54C DETAILS

Exterior:  Monitor-roof locomotive-hauled combine; porthole windows in end sheets; diaphragm on coach end only (619-626) or both ends (627-631); standard P54-type trucks (619-627) or interurban-type trucks (628-631).

Interior:  53-seat baggage-coach; 2/2 rattan reversible seats; one toilet; 18’ baggage section; double sliding end doors (619-626) or single sliding end door (627-631); window screens in summer.

Modifications: 

619-626 converted into baggage cars in 1951, same class, by removing seats and baggage/coach section partition and covering windows with steel sheets.

Safety chains replaced diaphragms, 1954-55.

General:  After 11/1950 Kew Gardens wreck, all PB54’s and PB54A’s were prohibited from the ends of trains due to thin collision posts.

67-PB57 DETAILS

Exterior:  Arch-roof locomotive-hauled combine; porthole windows in end sheets; five roof ventilators; diaphragms; lightweight trucks.

Interior:  54-seat baggage-coach; 2/2 plush reversible seats; one toilet; single sliding end door; 19’ baggage section with wooden floor and one window per side; aluminum baggage doors.

Modifications:  Vinyl replaced plush seating in 1951.  Diaphragms replaced with safety chains and electric markers installed, 1954-55.

Modernization:  3/2 vinyl reversible seating for 64; recessed incandescent lighting; smaller roof vents; heavier baggage doors with porthole windows; four electric fans on ceiling; modified heating.

General:  7612 was the last PB57 in regular service.

68-PP70 DETAILS (809-818)

Exterior:  High, monitor-roof locomotive-hauled parlor car; square windows in end sheets; diaphragms; heavy belt rails under windows; end gates; heavy center sills.

Interior:  26-seat parlor car; individual revolving parlor seats; two large restrooms with flush toilets; water raising system; water cooler; porter’s room next to men’s room; hinged end doors; window screens in summer.

PP70 DETAILS (819-828, 830-833): Monitor-roof locomotive-hauled parlor car; porthole windows in end sheets; diaphragms; regular size belt rails under windows; end gates; heavy center sills.

Interior:  50-seat club car; wicker chairs facing the aisle; two large restrooms with flush toilets; water raising system; water cooler; porter’s room next to men’s room; hinged end doors; window screens in summer.

Modifications:  Safety chains replaced diaphragms and electric markers added, 1953-54.

809, 810, 812-814 converted into 84-seat coaches, class P70A, in 1925-26 by removing the 26 revolving parlor seats and porter’s room and installing plush 2/2 reversible coach seating. Square windows in end sheets blanked, 1930’s and 1940’s.

811, 816-818 converted into 50-seat club cars, class P70, in 6/1925 by removing the 26 revolving parlor seats and installing 50 wicker chairs, 25 per side, facing the aisle.  The cars received names as follows:

811 Oyster Bay:2                                                  817 Nassau:2

816 Syosset:1                                                        818 South Shore:2

811 equipped with an ice air conditioning system about 1934 and was the first air conditioned revenue car.

815-818 had the square windows in end sheets blanked, 1930’s and 1940’s.

817 and 818 converted into 84-seat coaches, 7/30/1942, by removing the 50 wicker chairs and porter’s room and installing plush 2/2 reversible coach seating.  Car names were removed, as well as from 811 and 816, and numbers were reapplied to sides of cars.

811 and 816 had their wicker chairs replaced with leather chairs in 1950.

815:1 converted into a business car, class BUS, in 12/1925 by completely rebuilding the interior with various rooms and adding an observation platform.  Car named Montauk:1.  Four-wheel trucks replaced with six-wheel roller bearing trucks and an ice air conditioning system was added about 1934.  On loan to the Pennsylvania from 1/1941 to 7/8/1949, as their 7532.  Renumbered 2000:1 and name removed, 7/30/1942.  Used as a business car again when returned from the Pennsylvania and until 1961.  Named Jamaica:1 and repainted light gray with white roof in 1952.  Repainted dark gray with black roof and light blue window stripe in 1962.  Used as a 30-seat lounge-observation car on rear ends of Montauk parlor car trains during summer seasons from 1962 to 1967.

819-833 converted into 84-seat coaches, class P70B (819-826) or P70C (827-833), by removing the 50 wicker chairs and porter’s room and installing plush 2/2 reversible coach seating.

818 converted back into a 50-seat club car, named South Shore:3 (name not applied to car sides), 6/1949, by removing coach seating, installing leather chairs facing the aisle and enlarging one toilet for a porter’s room.

General:  821 was the last P70 in service.

Dispositions:

810 was saved for preservation but was scrapped at Richmond Hill Coach Yard.

821 donated to Kentucky Railway Museum, Louisville, KY, 4/23/1976.

2000:1 donated to Wantagh Historical Society, Wantagh, NY, 10/25/1967.

69-T54/T54A/T54B DETAILS

T54 Exterior: Arch-roof multiple-unit trailer coach; slightly higher than all other arch-roof cars; safety chains; five roof ventilators; lightweight trucks; manual side doors controlled from handles on collision posts; porthole windows in end sheets; automatic air hose couplers; multiple-unit jumpers.

T54 Interior:  80-seat coach; 2/2 rattan seating; electric underseat heating; no baggage racks; no toilets; bare bulb lighting; no armrests on seats; single sliding end doors.

T54 Modifications: Pneumatic doors replaced manual doors in 1920’s.

T54 Modernization:  3/2 reversible vinyl seating for 88; baggage racks; one toilet installed; baseboard steam heating; pneumatic doors changed to manual.

T54A Exterior:  Same as T54.

T54A Interior:  Same as T54 except no heating or lighting.

T54A General:  These cars were immediately put into locomotive-hauled service on troop trains to and from Camp Upton due to the serious coach shortage.  There was no heat and only temporary kerosene lamps on the ceiling.  About 1922 these cars were equipped with electric wiring and multiple-unit jumpers, bare bulb lighting, underseat heating and pneumatic side doors for their intended multiple-unit service.  These were the first all steel locomotive-hauled cars on Long Island.

T54B Exterior: Arch-roof multiple-unit trailer coach; safety chains; five roof ventilators; lightweight trucks; pneumatic side doors; porthole windows in end sheets; automatic air hose couplers; multiple-unit jumpers.

T54B Interior:  Same as T54.

T54B Modifications: 

507 converted into a locomotive-hauled coach, class P54D, during modernization by replacing electric d.c. lighting with 32 volt a.c., steam heat replaced electric and renumbered into the 7000 series.

837, 866, 868, 891 and 917 converted into blind motors, class MP54T, in 1951 using parts from scrapped or wrecked MP54A class cars.  This conversion, and renumbering into the 1000 series, was done as an experiment to surplus multiple-unit trailers.

921 converted into a locomotive-hauled coach, class P54D, during modernization by replacing electric d.c. lighting with 32 volt a.c., steam heat replaced electric and renumbered into the 7000 series.

6508 converted into a 4-seat bar-coach with a counter, 1/1964, becoming the only multiple-unit bar car.  (Originally a 32-seat bar-coach?  It was 4-seat by 1969.)

T54B Modernization:  3/2 reversible vinyl seating for 91; baggage racks; one toilet installed; baseboard heating replaced underseat heating; recessed incandescent lighting in ceiling.

T54B General:  493 was the last unmodernized multiple-unit trailer in service.  507 was the last car modernized.  922 was the last car modernized (?). 1012:2 was the last MP54T in service.

Dispositions:

980 wrecked at Central Islip, 1/1918.

7921 saved for preservation and stored until 4/1976.  Repainted tuscan red with black roof and gold leaf lettering and renumbered back to 921 for use on Heritage Train from 5/1976 to 8/1976.  Stored on Track 1, Flatbush Avenue from 8/1976.  Donated to Long Island Convention and Visitor’s Bureau, (date?), and moved to visitor information center on the south side of the Long Island Expressway between Exits 51 and 52 in Dix Hills, NY.

70-T62 DETAILS

Exterior:  Balloon-roof double deck multiple-unit trailer coach; two rows of seven roof ventilators; safety chains; Pennsylvania-type suburban trucks; 68’ car length.

Interior:  120-seat coach; 2/2 plush stationary seating; recessed incandescent lighting; baggage racks; single sliding end doors; no toilet.

General:  This was the first all-aluminum railroad car produced.

Disposition:  Saved for preservation and stored.  Donated to Suffolk County, 12/1974, and moved to Suffolk County Airport siding at Westhampton.  Relocated to Riverhead, 1979.  Donated to Railroad Museum of Long Island, Riverhead, 1990.

71-T70 DETAILS

Exterior:  Balloon-roof double deck multiple-unit control trailer coach; large, single headlight; porthole windows in end sheets; large, square window in storm door; eight roof ventilators; safety chains; double-deck trucks with third rail shoes; no motors; motor-generator set for lighting; 80’ 8¾” car length.

Interior:  132-seat coach; 2/2 plush stationary seating; recessed incandescent lighting; public address system; centralized door control; baggage racks; one toilet.

Modifications:  Converted to multiple-unit trailer, same class, in 1958 by removing head end controls and headlights and windows in end sheets painted over.

72-T70A DETAILS

Exterior:  Balloon-roof double deck multiple-unit control trailer coach; large, single headlight; porthole windows in end sheets; large, square window in storm door; eight roof ventilators; safety chains; double-deck trucks with third rail shoes; no motors; motor-generator set for lighting; 80’ 8¾” car length.

Interior:  132-seat coach; 2/2 plush stationary seating; recessed incandescent lighting; air conditioned; public address system; centralized door control; baggage racks; one toilet.

Modifications:  Converted to control motors, class MP70A, in 1948 and renumbered 1337-1340.  Reclassified MP70Ac as automatic speed control apparatus was installed in 1951.  1337, 1338 and 1340 converted to blind motors, class MP70AT, in 1958 by removing head end controls and headlights.

General:  These cars were delivered without motors due to a strike at Westinghouse.

73-T72 DETAILS

Exterior:  Arch-roof multiple-unit trailer coach; porthole windows in side doors; safety chains; pneumatic side doors; centralized door control.

Interior: 123-seat coach; 3/2 reversible vinyl seating; air conditioned; fluorescent lighting; baggage racks; baseboard heating; no toilet; single sliding end doors with square windows; window shades.

Modifications:  Converted to push-pull coaches, class T72A, on dates listed below.  Third rail shoes and shoe beams removed, automatic air hose couplers replaced with standard hoses, reversible seating made stationary and window shades were removed.  Heating, lighting and air conditioning provided by power unit at 600 volts d.c..  Reclassified PT72 and then PT72A.

                              Car #   Date                Car #   Date                Car #   Date

                              2801    5/1972             2816    11/1971           2831    6/1971

                              2802    3/1972             2817    9/1971             2832    9/1971

                              2803    5/1972             2818    7/1971             2833    6/1971

                              2804    5/1971             2819    7/1971             2834    11/1971

                              2805    9/1972             2820    6/1971             2835    5/1971

                              2806    10/1971           2821    10/1971           2836    4/1971

                              2807    2/1972             2822    5/1971             2837    6/1971

                              2808    8/1972             2823    8/1971             2838    7/1971

                              2809    9/1972             2824    5/1971             2839    10/1971

                              2810    11/1971           2825    8/1971             2840    4/1971

                              2811    9/1971             2826    6/1971             2841    6/1971

                              2812    7/1971             2827    8/1971             2842    5/1971

                              2813    12/1971           2828    7/1971             2843    11/1971

                              2814    5/1971             2829    9/1971             2844    9/1971

                              2815    10/1971           2830    5/1971

2836 was the first car outshopped.

2801, 2803, 2805, 2807, 2809, 2811, 2813, 2815, 2819, 2821, 2823, 2825, 2827, 2829, 2831, 2833, 2835, 2837, 2839, 2841 and 2843 had one toilet installed, reducing seating capacity to 118.

Cars 28??, 28??, 28??, 28?? and 28?? had public address systems installed, 9/1980, as an experiment, operated by a standard door key.

2840 converted to a 63-seat bar-coach, 1976.  Converted back to 123-seat coach, 1980s?.

2829 and 2833 converted to bar cars on date shown below, same class, by removing all seats and installing a bar on one side of car.

                              Car #     Date               Car #     Date  

                              2829      7/1985            2833      10/1985

All cars (except 2812) had their former reversible seats replaced with M1-style seats, 1980s.

Dispositions:  All cars sold to Mid Atlantic Rail Car Co, Stewartstown PA, 1998 and leased back until withdrawal from service.

2804 sold to New Hope & Ivyland RR, New Hope, PA.

2805 sold to New Hope & Ivyland RR, New Hope, PA.

2816 sold to New Hope & Ivyland RR, New Hope, PA.

2817 sold to New Hope & Ivyland RR, New Hope, PA.

2820 sold to New Hope & Ivyland RR, New Hope, PA.

2826 sold to New Hope & Ivyland RR, New Hope, PA.

2827 wrecked when train #657 struck a disabled tractor-trailer on the Park Avenue grade crossing east of Huntington Station and derailed, 8/25/1988.

2829 scrapped by Hub Scrap Metals LLC at White Plains, MD.

2832 shipped from Long Island 1/30/1999 to Greenville NJ for scrapping.

2834 sold to New Hope & Ivyland RR, New Hope, PA.