LIRR Towers & Cabins
MORE Telegraphic Call Letters 

LIRR Track Profile Map MP 1-5 1994  Towers: F, HAROLD, WIN  Archive:
Steven Lynch

A CABIN

A CABIN: FARMINGDALE (SOUTH SIDE OF TRACKS AND WEST OF MAIN ST. X-ING. FORMERLY “B” CABIN.  RENAMED IN ETT #88 EFF: 10/18/1918.  BLOCK OFFICE CLOSED: 8/21/25 WITH OPENING OF “B” TOWER. CABIN REMAINED IN SERVICE TO PROTECT CROSSING WITH GATES UNDER SUPERVISION OF POLICE DEPARTMENT PER G.O. #76 SPECIAL NOTE.)  Research: Dave Keller


A Cabin west of Farmingdale - View E - c. 1920 Archive: Art Huneke

AMOTT INTERLOCKING

AMOTT INTERLOCKING (R.C.) EAST OF SYOSSET. (CONTROLLED FROM “DIVIDE.” IN SVC: 10/7/61. NAMED IN HONOR OF RETIRED LIRR ENGINEERS JOSEPH H., JR., CHARLES A. AND JAMES A. AMOTT per The Long Island Railroader:  10/11/61)  OUT OF SVC: 05/19/1986.  Research: Dave Keller

 
Amott Interlocking 6/01/1976 Archive: Chris Ciesla

An M1 train is eastbound passing AMOTT CTC cabin and block signals at the end of double track east of Syosset in this NW view shot on 10/10/77 (Wm. Madden photo, Dave Keller archive)

Amott Interlocking 1/30/1987 Archive: Chris Ciesla

BAY BLOCK STATION

BAY BLOCK STATION:  EAST OF BAYSIDE - TEMPORARY BLOCK STATION FOR SINGLE TRACKING DURING TRACK REHABILITATION BETWEEN BAYSIDE AND SHEA STADIUM AND BAYSIDE AND GREAT NECK, BOUNCING BACK AND FORTH BETWEEN THE 1ST AND 2ND CROSSOVER SWITCHES EAST OF BAYSIDE. IN SVC: 4/05/78.  O.O.S:    5/07/78
RELOCATED AND IN SVC:  5/08/78
RELOCATED AND IN SVC:  6/07/78
RELOCATED AND IN SVC:  8/09/78  O.O.S:  10/14/78
IN SVC:  11/01/78.  O.O.S:  12/13/78
IN SVC:   2/05/79.  O.O.S:  4/23/79
IN SVC:  10/02/82 FOR ONE DAY ONLY
RELOCATED AND IN SVC:    3/14/83
RELOCATED AND IN SVC:    4/04/83
RELOCATED AND IN SVC:    5/09/83
IN SVC:  7/12/86 FOR ONE DAY ONLY
IN SVC:  7/19/86 FOR ONE DAY ONLY
IN SVC:  9/27/86 FOR ONE DAY ONLY
IN SVC:  3/28/87 FOR ONE DAY ONLY
IN SVC:  8/15/87 FOR ONE DAY ONLY
IN SVC:  8/22/87 FOR ONE DAY ONLY
IN SVC:  3/12/88.  O.O.S:  3/13/88


BAY Cabin westbound M1 Train east of Bayside - View E
4/12/1978 (Madden-Keller)

B TOWER

B TOWER: 1  BETHPAGE  (JCT. OF CENTRAL BRANCH  EXT. TO MAIN LINE) (WOODEN TOWER OPENED  8/21/1925, SOUTH SIDE OF TRACKS. SAXBY & FARMER 24 LEVER  MECHANICAL MACHINE.  PERMISSIVE  BLOCK ASPECT ADDED TO BLOCK SIGNALS:  6/25/1928.  ADDITIONAL US&S 5  LEVER STYLE TC TABLE MACHINE TO CONTROL “PW” IN SVC:  7/29/1930.  BOTH MACHINES OUT OF SVC:  5/28/36 AND TOWER RAZED ACCOUNT CONSTRUCTION BETHPAGE STATE PKY.) Research: Dave Keller

 
B Tower: 1  - 1925 Archive: Art Huneke

B Tower:1 Bethpage View W  c.1928 (Osborne-Keller)


B Tower: 1  View E - c.1930's Archive: Art Huneke

B Tower: 1 Interior levers -Table machine for PW Interlocking View SE c.1931 Archive: Dave Keller
 
This is the first "B" tower constructed in 1925. Looking west in James V. Osborne's c. 1928 image we see the Long Island Motor Parkway trestle just visible in the distance beyond the semaphore block signals. The switch to access the Central branch is in the immediate foreground and appears to be set for a westbound train. This tower's site was smack-dab in the way of the planned parkway to access the new Bethpage state park in 1936. As a result, the 1925 wooden tower was razed and the replacement brick tower constructed slightly east to allow building of this parkway and railroad girder trestle overhead. Compare the 1925 blueprint with the 1936 blueprint for location of tower versus location of parkway. In this image you can see the tower and tracks were built on an embankment with the surrounding ground at quite a lower level from the tracks. It was probably considered an ideal spot for the girder trestle for the parkway, as special grading of the ROW probably didn't have to take place and the tracks could stay pretty much undisturbed during the bridge installation. (Dave Keller data)
 

B TOWER: 2 BETHPAGE (JCT. OF CENTRAL BRANCH EXT. TO MAIN LINE) (REPLACEMENT BRICK TOWER 230’ EAST OF FORMER LOCATION AND SOUTH SIDE OF TRACKS. INTERLOCKING RELOCATED 85’ SOUTH OF FORMER LOCATION ACCOUNT COMPLETION OF BRIDGE OVER BETHPAGE STATE PKY. ORNATE BRICKWORK WAS DESIGNED BY ROBT. MOSES TO COMPLIMENT THE PARKWAY OVERPASS STONEWORK. 19-LEVER US&S MODEL 14, STYLE F, ALL ELECTRIC MACHINE IN SVC: 05/28/36. UNATTENDED BLOCK SIGNAL IN SVC: 11/1/37. OUT OF SVC: 4/27/87. HEAVILY VANDALIZED AND GRAFFITI-COVERED, WAS PLACED IN USE BY SIGNAL DEPT. (per Robt. Myers, there's been talk [2019] of possible restoration.)  Research: Dave Keller

 
K4s #5406 and Sunday-only train #4229 westbound past "B" Tower  Bethpage Jct. 5/11/47  (G. E. Votava photo)  (Note the white-painted smokebox!) Archive: Dave Keller

Bethpage Junction Blueprint 1925 Archive: Dave Keller
 

Bethpage Junction Blueprint 1936 Archive: Dave Keller

B Tower - Model board  - 3/18/79
Jeff Erlitz photo, Dave Keller archive


Tower B Interlocking Machine Bethpage Junction 3/18/79
Jeff Erlitz photo, Dave Keller archive


B Tower LIRR MP15 155, 164, Freight entering Central Branch Bethpage Junction 3/18/79 View NW  Wm. Madden photo, Dave Keller archive


B Tower Train #4250 eastbound 1/1979
Photo/Archive: Jim Gillin


B Tower Bethpage 2007 Photo/Archive: Joe Gregory

 
BETH INTERLOCKING (R.C.) EAST OF BETHPAGE (CONTROLLED FROM “DIVIDE.” IN SVC: 6/15/87)  Research: Dave Keller
 
LIRR Track Profile Map MP25-30 1994  BETH Tower
Archive:
Steven Lynch

 

 


BABYLON

BABYLON TOWER: 1   BABYLON (SOUTH OF TRACKS AND EAST OF STATION AND DEER PARK AVE. PREVIOUSLY “BJ” TOWER. US&S 23 LEVER MODEL 14 ELECTRO-PNEUMATIC MACHINE.  RENAMED: 4/30/37.  OUT OF SVC:  4/6/63 WITH GRADE ELIMINATION.)  Research: Dave Keller


RDC 1, 2 westbound past BABYLON Tower
View E 1957 (Krzenski-Keller)

BABYLON tower looking SE from the Deer Park Ave. crossing on 9/2/57 (Will V. Faxon, Jr. photo, Dave Keller archive)
 

BABYLON TOWER: 2   BABYLON (NORTH OF TRACKS AND EAST OF STATION AND DEER PARK AVE. NEW TOWER DUE TO GRADE ELIMINATION IN SVC: 4/6/63. US&S 27 LEVER MODEL 14 ELECTRO-MECHANICAL MACHINE, OUT OF SVC:  9/9/64.  US&S STYLE UR CONTROL PANEL IN SVC:  9/9/64.  BRISTOL ALL-RELAY PUSH0BUTTON CONTROL PANEL FOR CONTROL OF AMITYVILLE AND WANTAGH INTERLOCKINGS IN SVC: 9/08/07/1973. TOWER REMODELED: 1987.  BLOCK OFFICE DIVIDED INTO “BABYLON EAST” AND “BABYLON WEST” UTILIZING TWO BLOCK OPERATORS, EFF: 5/28/2006 WITH CLOSING OF “PD” TOWER.  “BABYLON EAST” HAND LED BLOCK FROM BABYLON EASTWARD TO MONTAUK.  “BABYLON WEST” HANDLED BLOCK FROM BABYLON WESTWARD)  Research: Dave Keller


BABYLON Tower: 2 - View W
Photo/Archive:  Joe Gregory


BABYLON Tower 9/30/1979 (Madden-Erlitz)

 
This is the 1964 version of the current BABYLON Tower, view NE. The tower was "widened" in the late-80's for the eventual inclusion of PD and points east. Since it was built about the same time as the current Divide Tower, it looked like a mini version of it. Although Divide was also expanded in the mid-80's, it kept its "airport control tower" windows, which it still has today. I took this photo while posting at Babylon in 9/1987.
Photo/Archive:  Jay Bendersky

BABYLON Tower: 2  interior  9/1987
Photo/Archive: Jay Bendersky

BE CABIN

BE CABIN: BETHPAGE JCT. TEMPORARY BLOCK STATION BUILT 1925, SOUTH SIDE OF TRACKS, JUST WEST OF CONSTRUCTION SITE, FOR USE DURING CONSTRUCTION OF “B” TOWER. CLOSED 8/21/1925 WITH OPENING OF “B” TOWER.  Research: Dave Keller


B Tower:1 Bethpage and BE Cabin - View NW  7/1925 (Osborne-Keller)
The photo was taken by block operator James V. Osborne from the back of a moving train eastbound on the Central branch. 
Note the smoke from the locomotive that has just passed.! Main line tracks are to the right.  Long Island Motor Parkway trestle is visible in the distance.
To the right of the tower is "BE" temporary block office cabin that handled the switches and signals while the tower was under construction. 
It's probably the only view ever taken of that temporary cabin. Info: Dave Keller

BEACH TOWER

BEACH TOWER:  HAMILTON BEACH (PREVIOUSLY “WD” TOWER) (EAST SIDE OF TRACKS AND SOUTH [RAILROAD EAST] OF STATION. SAXBY & FARMER 16 LEVER MECHANICAL MACHINE.  RENAMED:  5/1/37.  US&S 7 LEVER STYLE TC TABLE MACHINE CONTROLLING “HB” [HOWARD   BEACH] INTERLOCKING DURING AQUEDUCT GRADE CROSSING ELIMINATION PROJECT IN SVC: 11/13/39. 7 LEVER MACHINE AND “HB” OUT OF SVC: 9/26/40. “BEACH” TOWER OUT OF SVC: 7/16/51.)  Research: Dave Keller


BEACH Interlocking 12/15/1942 Archive: Stephen McEvoy

BEACH Tower, Hamilton Beach -View NE 1950
Archive: Dave Keller

BEACH Tower, Hamilton Beach severed tracks at
Jamaica Bay  View S - 5/1954

BJ TOWER

BJ TOWER: BABYLON (BELMONT JCT.) (SOUTH SIDE OF TRACKS, E. OF BABYLON STATION AND DEER PARK AVE.  23-LEVER US&S MODEL 14 ELECTRO PNEUMATIC MACHINE IN SVC:  8/25/1925.  RENAMED “BABYLON”: 4/30/37.)  Research: Dave Keller


BJ Tower Babylon - View W 5/1925 (Osborne-Keller)

BJ Tower Babylon view W - 1925 (Osborne-Keller)
 

BN CABIN

BN CABIN:   BABYLON (FIRST APPEARS ON ETT OF 1918.  IN USE THROUGHOUT ELECTRIFICATION PROJECT AND CONSTRUCTION  OF “BJ” TOWER. NORTH SIDE OF TRACKS AT WEST END OF BABYLON STATION PLATFORM. OUT OF SVC: AFTER MAY/1925, WHEN “BJ” TOWER PLACED IN SERVICE.)  Research: Dave Keller

 
BN Cabin - Babylon 5/21/1925 Archive: Dave Keller

BN temporary cabin and "STOP" signal looking NW toward the Carll Ave. crossing from the high-level station platform at Babylon in May, 1925.  (James V. Osborne photo, Dave Keller archive

BLISS TOWER

BLISS TOWER:  BLISSVILLE, L.I. CITY  - JCT. OF MONTAUK BRANCH AND MONTAUK CUT-OFF. (SEE: “BX” TOWER. STEEL SPIRAL STAIRCASE    REPLACED WOODEN STAIRS:   ? .  OUT OF SVC: 10/12/60. RAZED 11/17/60.)   Research: Dave Keller


LIRR Block operator Rosario Zambuto stands on the landing outside the old “BLISS” Tower at Blissville, L. I. City, NY as G5s #35, seen at the right, makes it last run as a railfan extra on October 16, 1955.
Note the spiral staircase to access the upper portion of the tower! View is looking east. Art Huneke photo, Dave Keller archive

BLISS CABIN:  BLISSVILLE, L.I. CITY – JCT. OF MONTAUK BRANCH AND MONTAUK CUT-OFF. (IN SVC: 10/12/60 ON N. SIDE OF TRACKS, WEST OF GREENPOINT AVE., 112’ WEST OF PREVIOUS LOCATION.  US&S 4 LEVER STYLE TC TABLE MACHINE.  YEAR AROUND OFFICE CLOSED 1990s. REOPENED DURING SUMMER MONTHS)   Research: Dave Keller

 
BLISS cabin 12/25/1970
Dave Keller photo and archive

BLISS cabin model board table machine  12/29/1977
Jeff Erlitz photo, Dave Keller archive

BROOK TOWER

BROOK TOWER: 1  FLATBUSH AVE., BROOKLYN (UNDERGROUND: E. END OF STATION PLATFORM BETWEEN TRACKS 4 AND 5. FORMERLY “FT”. RENAMED:  4/15/37. OUT OF SVC: 11/07/1999.  Research: Dave Keller


BROOK Tower: 1  Flatbush Ave, Brooklyn
10/31/1978  (Madden-Keller)

CABIN 7

CABIN 7:  JAMAICA –WEST OF WASHINGTON ST. N. SIDE OF TRACKS.  (IN SVC: 1913 WITH JAMAICA GRADE ELIMINATION. THREE 2-LEVER MACHINES.  JOBS AT THIS BLOCK OFFICE WERE ABOLISHED EFF. 12/01/1929.  PER PHOTOGRAPHIC EVIDENCE TAKEN IN 1925,  THE BLOCK STATION THAT WAS TAKEN OUT OF SVC:  12/8/1929 PER G.O. 11-15 ACCOUNT JAMAICA EAST IMPROVEMENT PROJECT AND OPENING OF CABINS “J1,” “J2,” AND “J3” WAS A TOTALLY DIFFERENT DESIGN SO THE 1913 CABIN WAS REPLACED SOMETIME PRIOR TO 1925. CABIN WAS TAKEN OUT OF SERVICE DUE TO INSTALLATION OF NEW TRACK #6 ON THE N. SIDE OF THE MAIN, PLACED IN SVC. ON 11/26/1929 PER G.O. #111-11.)  Research: Dave Keller


CABIN 7 - Jamaica Grade Elimination Project-View N - 1925 Archive: Art Huneke

 CABIN #11½

CABIN #11½:  JAMAICA PLANK ROAD (INTERSECTION OF JAMAICA AVE. TROLLEY CROSSING AND LEFFERTS AVE., WHICH CRISS-CROSSED OVER THE TRACKS ON THE E. SIDE OF RICHMOND HILL STATION. CABIN BUILT: 1900 ON S. SIDE OF TRACKS AND W. OF JAMAICA AVE. FOUR-LEVER MACHINE TO OPERATE TROLLEY DERAILS. NOT A SIGNAL STATION; NO TELEGRAPH, NO TELEPHONE (Per Art Huneke). PRE-1907 PHOTO SHOWS 3 LEVERS POSITIONED OUTSIDE THE CABIN. RENAMED “L” CABIN IN 1907. REBUILT: 1909. OUT OF SVC: 1924 WITH JAMAICA AVE. GRADE ELIMINATION PROJECT)   Research: Dave Keller


CABIN
11½ Train at Express House Lefferts Ave crossing Richmond Hill c.1905 Archive: Art Huneke

CABIN
11½ Lefferts Ave crossing Richmond Hill c.1905
close-up Archive: Art Huneke
 

CANAL

CANAL:  N. SIDE OF PORT WASHINGTON BRANCH TRACKS AND E END OF FLUSHING RIVER BRIDGE - CORONA/FLUSHING MEADOWS. FORMERLY "FLUSHING DRAW BRIDGE" BRIDGE-TENDER'S CABIN.  RENAMED ACCOUNT STORM SEWER CONSTRUCTION FROM E. SIDE OF WORLD'S FAIR INTO FLUSHING RIVER. (US&S 6 LEVER STYLE TC TABLE MACHINE IN SVC: 07/13/38.  OUT OF SVC: 09/19/38.)  Research: Dave Keller

 
CANAL Cabin - Flushing River View NE 7/17/1938
(W.S. Boerckel-Morrison)

CANAL Cabin - Flushing River View NW 7/17/1938
(W.S. Boerckel-Morrison)

CP CABIN

CP CABIN:  CENTRAL ISLIP (SOUTH SIDE OF TRACKS AND WEST OF STATION. LISTED IN ETT OF 5/14/1916.  GONE FROM ETT OF 6/28/1916.  CALL LETTERS MOUNTED ON CABIN BUT NEVER PLACED IN SVC. LOADED ON FLATCAR AND RELOCATED TO CAMP UPTON JCT: 1916. RENAMED “WC” CABIN.  AGENT AT CENTRAL ISLIP PAID EXTRA TO HANDLE “CI” BLOCK IN TICKET OFFICE. Per George G. Ayling, Block Opr. At  “CI”: 1910-1923, Agent/Opr: 1923-1954. Research: Dave Keller


CP Cabin view E -  Central Islip 1916
Photo: George G. Ayling photo Archive:  Dave Keller

CN TOWER

CN TOWER:  CHESTNUT ST. JCT. (AUTUMN AVE.), EAST NEW YORK (LOCATED ON SIGNAL BRIDGE ON ATLANTIC BRANCH WEST OF RAILROAD       AVE. AND RAILROAD AVE. STATION AT HEMLOCK ST.  FORMERLY TOWER #65. CONTROLLED  CONNECTION BETWEEN LIRR. AND BRT SYSTEMS DURING PERIOD OF JOINT OPERATIONS. RENAMED "CN" IN 1907. 11 LEVER US&S ELECTRIC STYLE "F" MACHINE IN SVC: 1905.
BRT CONNECTION OUT OF SVC: 1917. INTERLOCKING PLANT REBUILT AND 16-LEVER GRS MODEL 2 ALL ELECTRIC MACHINE IN SVC: 11/1922. STATION AND STREET RENAMED AUTUMN AVE., AND TOWER RENAMED “AUTUMN”: 4/15/37.  (SEE: "AUTUMN" TOWER) Research: Dave Keller


 CN Tower Chestnut St. Junction
blueprint 6/13/1912 Archive: Dave Keller

CN Tower Chestnut St. Junction  1923
J. V Osborne photo, Dave Keller archive

CN Tower west of Autumn Ave. Station, Brooklyn view SE  
7/27/1930 (Sperr-Keller)

CU CABIN

CU CABIN: CAMP UPTON JCT. – JCT. OF CAMP UPTON SPUR WITH MAIN LINE. (IN SVC: 3/14/44 SOUTH SIDE OF TRACKS, OPPOSITE JCT. OF WEST LEG OF WYE [EASTWARD FACING POINT SWITCH OF CAMP UPTON BRANCH]. BLOCK STATION, BLOCK LIMIT STATION AND RELATED SIGNALS OUT OF SVC:  10/2/44 PER G.O. #612.  STILL ON-SITE IN 1964 IN USE AS “T” BOX.  MOVED TO PRIVATE PROPERTY AS TOOL SHED.)  Research: Dave Keller


CU Cabin - Upton Jct. switch - View W 5/03/1964
(Makse-Keller)

CY TOWER

CY TOWER:  CYPRESS AVE., RIDGEWOOD TROLLEY CROSSING –BAY RIDGE/MANHATTAN BEACH BRANCH (8 LEVER MECHANICAL MACHINE. IN SVC: 3/14/1895 O  8/15/1895 (?). FORMERLY  TOWER 71. RENAMED: 1907.  OUT OF SVC:  1914 ACCOUNT GRADE CROSSING ELIMINATION.) Research: Dave Keller


CY Tower- Cypress Ave. Station, Bay Ridge Branch
Grade Elimination Project  c.1914 Close-up at right.
Archive: Dave Keller
 
 

D CABIN: 2

D CABIN: 2  DOUGLASTON DRAWBRIDGE (SWING BRIDGE) OVER LITTLE NECK CREEK. BRIDGE REPLACED WITH DOUBLE TRACK SPAN.  BRIDGE TENDER'S CABIN AND BLOCK OFFICE RELOCATED TO N. SIDE OF TRACKS, ON E. SIDE OF CREEK.  IN SVC: 03/07/1923-1926. 4-LEVER S&F CHANICAL MACHINE.  AFTER 1926, BECAME BRIDGE TENDER’S CABIN ONLY. RENAMED “DOUGLASTON DRAWBRIDGE” IN ETT's.  PER ROBERT EMERY DATA,  CABIN REMOVED: 1950  Research: Dave Keller


D Cabin - Douglaston 1925 (Osborne-Keller)

DB CABIN

DB CABIN:  DUTCH KILLS DRAW BRIDGE - L.I. CITY (8-LEVER S&F MECHANICAL MACHINE IN SVC: 10/1915 ON N. SIDE OF MONTAUK BRANCH TRACKS AND E. OF DRAWBRIDGE [SWING BRIDGE] OVER DUTCH KILLS CREEK.)  Research: Dave Keller


 


DB Cabin - Swing Bridge at Dutch Kills LI City
12/25/1970 Dave Keller photo and archive
 
DB Cabin - Dutch Kills Drawbridge - LI City 5/16/1976
Photo/Archive Henry Wagner

DIVIDE TOWER

DIVIDE TOWER: 1  HICKSVILLE (PREVIOUSLY “HX”, “HN”  TOWERS) PORT JEFFERSON BRANCH AND MAIN LINE DIVIDE AT JUNCTION. LOCATED BETWEEN LEGS OF WYE, EAST OF STATION. SAXBY & FARMER 48 LEVER MECHANICAL MACHINE.  RENAMED: 4/23/37. US&S 9 STATION TRAFFIC CONTROL CENTER CONTROL PANEL IN SVC:  10/7/61. TOWER OUT OF SVC: 11/13/62 WITH GRADE ELIMINATION.  Research: Dave Keller


DIVIDE Tower - View NW c.1953 
Photo: John Krause  Archive: Mike Boland


DIVIDE Tower - View W c.1955
 
DIVIDE Tower - Hicksville View SE 1962 Section headquarters
building at rear left. Dave Keller archive

DIVIDE Tower Interior - Block operator Gene Arnold View N 8/30/1959 LI Press collection-Queens Public Library
 

The view is looking north through the tower. The block operator is Gene Arnold and it was taken on August 30, 1959. Most interesting is that we’re looking through the 48-lever Federal/Saxby & Farmer mechanical machine to Gene sitting at his desk with the essentially brand-new US&S Style B-30 control panel that only went into service on July 28, 1959. That panel controlled the newly-configured freight yard to the west of the station, what eventually became Divide 1 and 2 interlockings.

On 10/7/1961, a US&S 9-station Traffic Control Center control panel was placed in service for the Port Jefferson Branch. This was put on the desk where the B-30 panel is here, and that was moved over to the left side of the desk.

The mechanical machine came out of service on 11/13/1962 with the start of service on the shoo-fly tracks for the grade crossing elimination project. On that same date, a 15-lever US&S Model 14 machine was placed in service. This Model 14 machine, which had temporarily been placed to the right of the desk and, in fact, was on little wheels so that it could be moved around, was moved into the position where the mechanical machine was. Though the Model 14 machine had 15 levers, they were numbered 1, 2, 4, 7, 8, 14, 28, 30, 39, 44 and 46. Yes, there were four spare spaces. This way, the signals and switches in the field did not need to be renumbered.

Possibly in early 1963 the old tower was moved about 50 feet to the east to free up space for the construction of the new Divide tower.

On 7/1/1964, the elevation was placed in service, but only for the Main Line tracks. All of the future Divide 3, 4 and 5 interlocking switches were secured for straight-iron moves only and four of the future home signals operated as automatic block signals.

The new tower, and elevated tracks for the Port Jefferson Branch, were placed in service on 9/12/1964 and the old tower, with its three different machines, came out of service.  Info: Jeff Erlitz


DIVIDE Tower - Saxby & Farmer 48 Lever Mechanical Machine 3/1962 Archive: Dave Keller

DIVIDE Interlocking levers - LIRailroader 11/19/1944
Archive: Al Castelli


G.O. 1113 LIRR Hicksville Elevated Station Interlocking Diagram
9/19/64 Archive: Dave Keller

The original US&S Traffic Control Center machine was replaced on 4/30/2000. Oddly, the machine was facing southwest in the tower, not due west towards the station. Jeff Erlitz
 


DIVIDE Tower - US&S TCC -Traffic Control Center interlocking
machine center panel 4/16/1978 Photo/Archive: Jeff Erlitz


 

DIVIDE Tower - US&S TCC -Traffic Control Center interlocking machine 4/16/1978 Photo/Archive: Jeff Erlitz
 

DIVIDE Tower - US&S TCC -Traffic Control Center interlocking
machine left panel  4/16/1978 Photo/Archive: Jeff Erlitz

DIVIDE Tower - US&S TCC -Traffic Control Center interlocking
machine right panel  4/16/1978 Photo/Archive: Jeff Erlitz

DIVIDE TOWER: 2  HICKSVILLE (NEW TOWER BUILT DIRECTLY BEHIND OLD TOWER DURING GRADE ELIMINATION.  US&S 15 LEVER MODEL 14 ELECTROMECHANICAL MACHINE. IN SVC:  11/13/62.  OUT OF SVC: 9/12/64.  TRANS-CONTROL 19 LEVER CONTROL PANEL IN SVC:  9/12/64. US&S 14 STATION TRAFFIC CONTROL CENTER CONTROL PANEL IN SVC: 9/12/64. Research: Dave Keller


 DIVIDE Tower, Hicksville - View SE 1953


LIRR track profile map MP20-25 1994 DIVIDE Tower Archive: Steven Lynch

DIVIDE Tower, Hicksville rear view W after grade elimination project Photo: Joe Gregory

DIVIDE Tower view E  1967 Photo/Archive: Dave Keller
A little window replacement at ground level and removal of the barbed wire fencing around the electrical circuit boxes and an added brick face,
 probably done afterward.


DIVIDE Tower - Movement Director 1987
Archive: LIST Calendar 2020


DIVIDE TOWER - FINAL DAYS

DIVIDE Tower view west as it heads towards Hicksville station, exactly at milepost 25. The elevated structure with the huts on the right were built in 2000 when Divide Interlocking was rebuilt. Note the hut with door stenciled “Divide 4 Office Hut.”

DIVIDE Tower view E

DIVIDE 1-2-3-6 Interlocking panel

This is the left indication panel. Note also that Divide 1 and Divide 2 are separate but Divide 3-6 are all together. That’s probably because there are only three local control panels in the Hicksville area to control those three segments.


DIVIDE Interlocking panel - AMOTT to HUNT

The center-left panel with the Port Jefferson Branch above and the Main Line below. Note that the track occupancies indicate the actual train number on them.


DIVIDE Interlocking panel center right - DUKE to FOX
 

 


DIVIDE Interlocking panel - POST to STONY

The right section showed the east end of the CTC operation at Kings Park and Smithtown, Stations 15-18 here but originally Stations 11-14. Note the Manual Block lever on the right. I never thought to ask at the time why this was used when you could have just called up Station18 and cleared either 2L or 2Lc signals. Once again, if you look at the power off indicators, you’ll see the original names for these four interlockings, Fox, Green, Hare and Post.
 


DIVIDE 3-6 Hut Mauell, Inc. local control panel

 

 

All Photos/Archive/Info: 5/07/2021 Jeff Erlitz 

As of 10:00 AM on Saturday, May 8, 2021 Divide Tower will be remote from Jamaica Central Control per General Notice No. 6-70


General Notice No. 6-70
 

DIVIDE 3 Hut local control left panel. Note that the panel has been modified for the new “third track” at the top, under “Divide 3."

DIVIDE 4 Hut local control panel center

DIVIDE 5-6 Hut local control right panel. Until the 2000 re-signaling of the
entire Divide area, there was no Divide 6. That was just part of Divide 4.

 


DRAW CABIN

DRAW CABIN: 1  ON SWING BRIDGE - BEACH CHANNEL-HAMMEL (WEST SIDE OF TRACKS AND SOUTH OF CHANNEL. REPLACED "DRAW"  TOWER.  IN SVC:  1946. US&S 7 LEVER  STYLE TC TABLE MACHINE. OUT OF SVC:  5/23/50 AND RELOCATED TO SOUTH OF HAMMEL WYE ON ELEVATED VIADUCT PER G. O. #1728.)  Research: Dave Keller


DRAW Cabin at Beach Channel Swing Bridge  - View N
10/31/1948  Archive: Dave Keller
 

DRAW CABIN: 2  HAMMEL – (RELOCATED INSIDE EAST END OF FAR ROCKAWAY LEG OF WYE ON ELEVATED VIADUCT:  5/23/50. [APPROX. LOCATION OF FORMER “HU” TOWER WHEN AT GRADE] IN SVC:  5/23/50. US&S 4 LEVER STYLE TC TABLE MACHINE. SWITCHES HAND   THROWN AND SIGNALS OPERATED FROM RELAY CASES IN THE 5-DAY INTERIM per Art Huneke.  OUT OF SVC: 10/3/55 WITH END OF LIRR SERVICE. CABIN STILL STANDING AS LATE AS 9/06/1962 per Dick Makse Research: Dave Keller


DRAW Cabin - Hammel Wye - View NE 10/22/1955 (Rugen-Keller)

DRAW Cabin 9/06/1962  (eBay)

DRAW TOWER

DRAW TOWER: ON SWING BRIDGE (INCORRECTLY REFERRED TO AS “DRAWBRIDGE” - BEACH CHANNEL - HAMMEL.  PREVIOUSLY “HJ”    TOWER, TOWER 101) WEST SIDE OF TRACKS AND SOUTH OF CHANNEL. 16-LEVER S&F MECHANICAL MACHINE IN SVC:  1894. 4-LEVER US&S MODEL TC TABLE MACHINE IN SVC. TO CONTROL BROAD CHANNEL DRAWBRIDGE [SWINGBRIDGE] AFTER CLOSING OF FORMER “BC” CABIN LOCATED ON THE BROAD CHANNEL SWING BRIDGE:  ? .  RENAMED: 4/30/37.  DESTROYED BY TRAIN DERAILMENT: 01/03/46 AND DEMOLISHED.  REPLACED BY “DRAW” CABIN:1.)  Research: Dave Keller


DRAW Tower Broad Channel 1917
Archive: William J . Madden

DRAW Tower Beach Channel Drawbridge  1/03/1946
(Emery-SUNY Stony Brook- Jeff Erlitz)

DRAW Tower after derailment -View NE 1/03/1946
Archive: Dave Keller

DUNTON

DUNTON TOWER: MORRIS PARK SHOPS (MAURE AVE.) (NORTH SIDE OF TRACKS, EAST OF MORRIS PARK SHOPS AND WEST OF MONTAUK
BRANCH CUT-OFF. DIAGONALLY ACROSS FROM DUNTON STATION. FORMERLY  “MP” TOWER.  35-LEVER US&S MODEL 14 ELECTRO-PNEUMATIC MACHINE. IN SVC:  1/20/1914.  RENAMED: 4/23/37. SIGNAL SYSTEM UPGRADED:  10/23-24/2010. TOWER OUT OF SVC:  10/24/2010. 
REMOTE CONTROLLED FROM “JCC”.  BLDG. USED BY M of E AND M of W PERSONNEL). Research: Dave Keller


DUNTON Tower - DD1 #360 1947 (Ziel-Boland)

The second “MP” tower (later “DUNTON”) looking west towards the shops from the western-most end of Dunton station platform c. 1925.  Dunton station was moved further west over the years. The tunnels at the right accessed the Richmond Hill storage yard.  J. V. Osborne photo, Dave Keller archive

DUNTON Tower view NW 1967 Photo/Archive: Dave Keller

Dunton Duck under  3/30/2000
Photo: S. Thurmovik

DUNTON Tower  3/30/2000
Photo: S. Thurmovik

DUNTON Tower remodeled  c.3/ 2005-11/2006
Archive: Dave Morrison

F TOWER

F TOWER: (PRR) THOMPSON (THOMSON) AVE., L. I. CITY.  NORTH SIDE OF TRACKS, WEST OF THOMPSON AVE. 47 LEVER US&S MODEL 14 ELECTRO-PNEUMATIC MACHINE. IN SVC:  9/1910.  OUT OF SVC: 1995. RAZED: SPRING/2005. Research: Dave Keller


F Interlocking 1947 Archive: Chris Ciesla

F Tower (PRR) Thompson Ave, LI City - 1925 (Osborne-Keller)

LIRR #101 at  LI City F Tower 1978 Photo: A. J. Daly

FAIR CABIN

FAIR CABIN: FLUSHING MEADOWS (N. SIDE OF TRACKS AND W. OF THE N. Y. WORLD'S FAIR STATION PLATFORM.  TEMPORARY BLOCK STATION FOR N.Y. WORLD’S FAIR.  US&S 17 LEVER STYLE TC TABLE MACHINE.  IN SVC: 4/24/39 TO 11/4/39 AND AGAIN FROM 5/6/40 TO 11/4/40.)

FAIR CABIN:  FLUSHING MEADOWS (S. SIDE OF TRACKS. TEMPORARY BLOCK STATION FOR N.Y. WORLD’S FAIR.  10 LEVER TRANSCONTROL
MINI-LEVER CONTROL PANEL IN SVC: 4/16/64.  CONSTRUCTED WITH WIDE, GLASS, BAY WINDOW ON WEST SIDE TO ALLOW FAIR VISITORS TO VIEW
BLOCK OPERATOR AT WORK.  SIGN ATOP WINDOWS READ "COME SEE HOW
WE RUN OUR RAILROAD."  OUT OF SVC: 11/8/65)  Research: Dave Keller


FAIR Cabin Interlocking - NY World's Fair 5/16/1965  (Makse-Keller)

FK TOWER

FK TOWER: 1  FLORAL PARK - JCT. OF HEMPSTEAD AND CREEDMOOR BRANCHES WITH MAIN LINE. (WOOD STRUCTURE BUILT 1909, NORTH SIDE OF MAIN LINE TRACKS AND EAST OF TULIP AVENUE. JOHNSON 32 LEVER MECHANICAL MACHINE. OUT OF SVC: 1924.)  Research: Dave Keller


FK Tower - Floral Park Station and Tulip Ave. crossing -1909 (View SE)
Archive: Art Huneke


FK Tower-Tulip Ave. crossing, Floral Park -View NE  c.1920 Archive: Dave Keller
 

A signal tower was constructed atop the 1887 depot (see "Tower 43" and "Tower 47" for more detailed information) and is visible in this 1909 view.  "FK" tower was constructed that year and is visible here on the west side of the depot.  That same year a new depot was opened west of Tulip Ave. and the old depot with integral tower was demolished.  "FK" tower had a Johnson 32-lever mechanical machine and remained in service until the Main Line was four-tracked out to here in 1924 when it was replaced with a larger brick structure on the south side of the tracks and slightly east of the 1909 tower location. The second "FK" tower was equipped with a 27-lever US&S model 14 electro-pneumatic machine.  It was renamed "PARK" eff. 04/23/37 (see "PARK" tower) (Dave Keller data)


FN CABIN

FN CABIN: FRESH POND JCT. – JCT. OF MONTAUK BRANCH WITH BAY RIDGE BRANCH. (E. SIDE OF TRACKS AND S. OF FREMONT ST., RIDGEWOOD. 
IN SVC: 1/17/1918 THRU 9/10/1927) 
Research: Dave Keller


FN Cabin - Fresh Pond Jct., Fresh Pond  -View E1921 (Osborne-Keller)
Note: FN Cabin was replaced by "FREMONT" Tower in 1927. 

FOX INTERLOCKING

FOX INTERLOCKING (R.C.) WEST OF KINGS PARK (REMOTE FROM “DIVIDE.”  IN SVC: 12/20/63.  NAMED AFTER RETIRED CONDUCTOR WALTER FOX per the Long Island Railroader: 10/11/61. NAMED AFTER RETIRED FREIGHT TRAINMASTER JOE FOX AND CONDUCTOR WALTER FOX per W. S. Boerckel. OUT OF SVC:  10/3/77.  “FOX 1” LOCATION)  Research: Dave Keller


FOX Tower CTC - Kings Park 1969 Archive: Dave Keller

FREMONT TOWER

FREMONT TOWER: FRESH POND JCT., QUEENS– JCT. OF MONTAUK BRANCH WITH N.Y. CONNECTING R.R. (EX-BAY RIDGE BRANCH) (E. SIDE OF TRACKS AND S. OF THEN-EXISTENT FREMONT ST. PREVIOUSLY “FN” TOWER. 23-LEVER US&S MODEL 14 ELECTROPNEUMATIC MACHINE IN SVC:  8/1927. RENAMED: 4/22/37.  2-LEVER US&S STYLE TC TABLE MACHINE TO CONTROL “BAY” AND “BEDFORD” INTERLOCKINGS IN SVC:  4/4/66.  “FREMONT”, “BAY” AND “BEDFORD” INTERLOCKINGS OUT OF SVC: 4/15/70.  INTERLOCKING AND TRACKS BETWEEN “FREMONT” AND BAY RIDGE UNDER JURISDICTION OF PENN CENTRAL TRANSPORTATION CO.: 1/20/71. OUT OF SVC: 10/28/71. TOWER ABANDONED.  BURNED AND RAZED: PRIOR TO 1995. [per Jim Minor, LIRR block opr.] Research: Dave Keller


FREMONT Tower -Fresh Pond  12/1970

Photo/Archive: Dave Keller

FREMONT Tower - Model Board and Interlocking Machine -Fresh Pond Jct.
12/1970 Photo/Archive: Dave Keller

FREMONT Tower Operator Rosario Zambuto
Fresh Pond Jct. 12/1970 Photo/Archive: Dave Keller
 
FREMONT Tower -Fresh Pond Jct. - View NE 12/1970
Photo/Archive: Dave Keller
 

FW TOWER

FW TOWER: FAR ROCKAWAY (SOUTH SIDE OF TRACKS AND EAST OF STATION.  40 LEVER JOHNSON STYLE "A" MACHINE IN SVC: 6/18/1907.  REBUILT WITH 32 LEVER GRS/SAXBY & FARMER MACHINE. IN SVC: 11/01/1919.  RENAMED “ROCK”:  5/11/37.)  Research: Dave Keller

 


“FW” tower at the east end of Far Rockaway station (Mott Ave). View is looking east.  “FW” call letters in Keystone.  6/06/1933. Archive: Dave Keller

When service was ended over Jamaica Bay , and Far Rockaway was turned over to the NYCTA and the tracks severed, this was torn up and end of track relocated east to Nameoke Ave. where the depot and end of track is today.  The tower was no longer needed so was demolished along with the very large depot building and trackage which was elevated through there in the early 1940s. Dave Keller


FX TOWER

FX TOWER:  FAIRVIEW AVE., HAMMEL(S) (X REPRESENTED A JCT. OR CROSSING OF TRACKS BY TRACKS)  (INSIDE WEST END OF WYE, AT WEST STATION PLATFORM. JOHNSON STYLE "A" 16 LEVER MECHANICAL MACHINE.  IN SVC: 4/19/1907.  OUT OF SVC. FOR THE WINTER: 10/10/1922.  PERMANENTLY OUT OF SVC:  4/20/1925 AND RAZED)  Research: Dave Keller

 
FX Tower 1909

FX Tower - Ocean Electric Trolley Nos. 30, 7
Hammels Wye 8/14/1921 Archive: Dave Keller

FY CABIN

FY CABIN:  FREEPORT (S. SIDE OF TRACKS AND E. OF STATION AND S. MAIN ST. 4 LEVER S&F MECHANICAL MACHINE.  IN SVC: 1908 TO PROTECT CROSSING OF LIRR TRACKS BY NY & LI TRACTION CO. OUT OF SVC:  12/12/26 WITH OPENING OF “FY” TOWER.  CABIN CONTINUED IN    USE TO OPERATE CROSSING GATES. OUT OF SVC. WITH GRADE CROSSING ELIMINATION: 1959.) Research: Dave Keller

 


FY Cabin -Freeport View SW 1925 (Osborne-Keller)

GARDEN CABIN

GARDEN CABIN:  GARDEN CITY – JCT. OF HEMPSTEAD BRANCH. NORTH SIDE OF TRACKS,   WEST SIDE OF FRANKLIN AVE., 650’ WEST OF FORMER LOCATION.  US&S 5 LEVER STYLE TC TABLE MACHINE IN SVC: 01/27/39. INCREASED TO 7 LEVERS:  08/17/42.  OUT OF SVC: 11/21/93. RAZED: c. 1999-2000.)  Research: Dave Keller


GARDEN Cabin - Model Board 11/1962

 


GARDEN Cabin with Keystone Sign Garden City c.1947
George Votava photo, Dave Keller archive

GARDEN Cabin -Jct of Hempstead (R) & Central Branches (Mitchel Field Secondary Track) -View E  5/17/1981 (Madden-Keller)

GARDEN Cabin - Model Board,  Garden City
1/01/1978 (Erllitz-Keller)

GARDEN Cabin - Interlocking Machine, Garden City
1/01/1978 (Erllitz-Keller)

GARDEN Cabin - Control Panel, Garden City
11/21/1993 (Erlitz-Keller)

GARDEN TOWER

GARDEN TOWER:  HEMPSTEAD CROSSING – GARDEN CITY JCT. OF HEMPSTEAD, CENTRAL AND MINEOLA-HEMPSTEAD BRANCHES. (FORMERLY “HC” TOWER. NORTHWEST QUADRANT OF CROSSING.  SAXBY & FARMER 40 LEVER MECHANICAL MACHINE. RENAMED: 4/30/37.
OUT OF SVC: 1/27/39.  Research: Dave Keller

 


GARDEN Tower - 1937 view N along the Mineola-Hempstead line with the Central Branch running from left to right in front of the tower. At the right a freight is on the NE leg of the wye. Archive: Art Huneke

GI CABIN

GI CABIN: ON FAR ROCKAWAY BRANCH EAST OF ROOSEVELT AVE, GIBSON.  (US&S 3 LEVER STYLE TC TABLE MACHINE IN SVC:  8/31/32 ACCOUNT VALLEY STREAM GRADE CROSSING ELIMINATION. RELOCATED ON ELEVATION N. OF FORMER LOCATION: 2/7/33. 
OUT OF SVC:  4/30/33.)  Research: Dave Keller

 


GI Cabin, Gibson 1933 Archive: Art Huneke

GREAT NECK

GREAT NECK:  GREAT NECK (IN TICKET OFFICE.  7-LEVER US&S 7 STYLE TC TABLE MACHINE IN SVC:  2/11/35. REDUCED TO 5 LEVER:  ?. OUT OF SVC:  2/21/63.  TRANSCONTROL MINI-LEVER CONTROL PANEL R.C. FROM "HAROLD.")  Research: Dave Keller

Only two LIRR ticket offices, in modern times, controlled interlockings. East New York survived into the modern era, with an extra operator sent out to control the crossovers during trackwork programs.  

The other interlocking machine was at GREAT NECK until the 1950's, the 3rd trick operator was an operator-clerk since Great Neck was a 24 hour ticket office. A block operator was assigned to the office during the first two tricks since ticket sales were usually brisk enough to have two windows open during the busiest parts of the day (the morning rush hour and the afternoon reverse peak for domestics returning to the city). 

Here's a photo I took in 1963 of its US&S Model 14 during the last months of local control. The LIRR assigned the control of Great Neck Interlocking to HAROLD since WIN was closed on the third trick. (see HAROLD Tower sction) In the 1990's the Port Washington Branch would be the first segment of the LIRR controlled from "204", the LIRR's dispatching center. Richard Maske

Note: Great Neck used to be operated by "G" tower, which was removed once the grade elimination project was completed in 1934. Dave Keller

 

 

GREAT NECK Interlocking 1963 Photo/Archive: Richard Maske

 


HALL TOWER

HALL TOWER:  JAMAICA (PREVIOUSLY “JE” TOWER) (SOUTH SIDE OF TRACKS, EAST OF STATION. ORIGINAL US&S 71 LEVER MACHINE REPLACED BY 83 LEVER MODEL 14 ELECTRO-PNEUMATIC MACHINE IN SVC:  2/26/1931 AS A RESULT OF THE JAMAICA EAST IMPROVEMENT PROJECT THAT ELIMINATED  ROCKAWAY JCT., WHICH HAD BEEN CONTROLLED BY “JE.” RENAMED: 4/16/37 ACCOUNT PROXIMITY TO  UNION HALL STREET. TRANSCONTROL ALL-RELAY PUSH-BUTTON CONTROL PANEL FOR CONTROL OF "HALL EAST" IN SVC:  02/26/1989.  SIGNAL SYSTEM UPGRADED:  11/6-7/2010. TOWER OUT OF SVC:  11/7/2010. REMOTE CONTROLLED FROM “JCC”. BLDG. USED BY M of E AND M of W PERSONNEL)  Research: Dave Keller


HALL Tower 1940 Photo: Harold Fagerberg
Archive: Mike Boland


HALL Tower c.1960 (Ziel-Boland)


HALL Tower - Christmas 1963 (Ziel-Boland)


HALL Tower - MB62s 1/1964 (Ziel-Boland)


Hall Tower to Jay Tower Interlocking 1970


HALL Tower Operator Art Huneke 9/1971
Photo/Archive: Dave Keller

HALL Tower - View SE 5/06/1979 (Erlitz-Keller)

HALL Tower - View E post renovation
 

HARE INTERLOCKING

HARE INTERLOCKING (R.C.) WEST OF SMITHTOWN (REMOTE FROM “DIVIDE.”  NAMED AFTER RETIRED CONDUCTOR JAMES HARE per the Long Island Railroader:  10/11/61.  IN SVC: 12/20/63 TO 8/26/71;  9/14/71 TO 10/3/77.  BECAME “POST 1” LOCATION.)  Research: Dave Keller


HARE Tower CTC west of Smithtown - 1969 Archive: Dave Keller

HAROLD TOWER

HAROLD TOWER: 1  HAROLD AVE., L. I. CITY (PREVIOUSLY “H” TOWER) (S. SIDE OF TRACKS AND W. OF HAROLD AVE.  47-LEVER U.S. & S. MODEL 14 ELECTRO-PNEUMATIC MACHINE IN SVC:  1910.  RENAMED:  4/16/37. 5 LEVER TRANSCONTROL MINI-LEVER CONTROL PANEL IN SVC:  2/21/63 FOR CONTROL OF GREAT NECK INTERLOCKING.  OUT OF SVC: 7/90.  DEMOLISHED: 7/1990.) Research: Dave Keller


HAROLD Tower 1 - Pneumatic Levers LI City
3/12/1978 (J. Erlitz-D. Keller)

HAROLD Tower 1 - Model Board LI City
3/12/1978 (J. Erlitz-D. Keller)

GREAT NECK Control Machine at HAROLD Tower 1
3/12/1978 (Madden-Keller)

HAROLD Tower - View W - c.1960 (Ziel-Boland)

HAROLD Interlocking 5/01/1976 Archive: Chris Ciesla

HAROLD Tower -LI City view SE  3/12/1978
(Madden-Keller) 

See LIRR Track Profile Map MP 1-5 at page top for location. 


HAROLD Tower - GP38 #267 View E 4/25/1988 
Photo/Archive: Edward Hand

HAROLD Interlocking 8/01/1996 Archive: Chris Ciesla
 

HAROLD TOWER: 2  HAROLD AVE., L. I. CITY - OPENED: 7/1990, OUT OF SVC: 07/03/99 WHEN CONTROL TRANSFERRED TO "PSCC."

 
HAROLD Tower gone 2005 Photo: S. Thurmovik
 

HAVEN TOWER

HAVEN TOWER: 1  WOODHAVEN JCT. – JCT. OF ATLANTIC AND ROCKAWAY BEACH BRANCHES. (PREVIOUSLY “WT”, “WOODHAVEN” TOWERS ON ATLANTIC BRANCH. SOUTH SIDE OF TRACKS WEST OF STATION, EAST OF JCT. 32-LEVER S&F MECHANICAL MACHINE IN SVC: 11/01/1922.  RENAMED: 4/15/37. OUT OF SVC: 2/29/40 DURING GRADE ELIMINATION PROJECT.)  Research: Dave Keller

Super view looking west from the upper level Rockaway Beach Branch platform at Woodhaven Junction in April 1938, just a year and a half before the shoo-fly tracks were placed in service for the Atlantic Avenue grade crossing elimination project. Haven Tower and Interlocking are front and foremost but you can see Woodhaven station in the distance and a bunch of automatic block signals that are still lower quadrant semaphores on bracket masts. Most of the signals in this interlocking had been converted from lower quadrant semaphore to position light between 1930 and 1935. Haven was formerly known by its telegraph call letters, WT, and was renamed HAVEN on 4/15/1937.

The Saxby & Farmer 32-lever mechanical interlocking machine came out of service on 2/29/1940. It was replaced on that day by a temporary US&S 6-lever Style TC (table top) interlocking machine. Info: Jeff Erlitz


HAVEN Tower - Woodhaven Junction view NW from
Rockaway Beach connection 1939

HC TOWER

HC TOWER:  HEMPSTEAD CROSSING, GARDEN CITY – JCT OF HEMPSTEAD BRANCH AND N.Y. BAY EXTENSION (PER 1903 CR4.) (NORTHWEST QUADRANT OF CROSSING.  ORIGINALLY TOWER #44, 36-LEVER SAXBY & FARMER MECHANICAL MACHINE IN SVC:  1/1890. WAS RENUMBERED TOWER #105 IN 1894 WHEN BLOCK SYSTEM WAS EXTENDED EAST.  TOWER #44 ASSIGNED BRUSHVILLE.  RENAMED “HC” IN 1907.  BECAME TRAIN ORDER OFFICE ON 10/1/1907 WHEN GARDEN CITY STATION CEASED BEING A TRAIN ORDER OFFICE.  INTERLOCKING PLANT INCREASED TO 40 LEVERS:  1/28/1919.  RENAMED “GARDEN”: 4/30/37. OUT OF SVC: 1/27/39.)  Research: Dave Keller


HC Tower blueprint 36 lever - 1907 Archive: Art Huneke

HC Tower blueprint 40 lever - 10/07/1926 Archive: Art Huneke

HC Tower - View NE (Boercel-Huneke)

HM TOWER

HM TOWER: HEMPSTEAD - EAST SIDE OF TRACKS AND NORTH OF JACKSON ST. 4 LEVER DWARF MACHINE IN SVC:  09/01/1912. OUT OF SVC:  4/3/33.


HM Tower - Jackson Street crossing, Hempstead - View NE  - 2/1932 Archive: Art Huneke

HQ CABIN

HQ CABIN:  WEST OF ROCKAWAY JUNCTION – HILLSIDE  (GONE BY 1920s)
Research: Dave Keller

 


HQ Cabin-ROW Hempstead Turnpike crossing
c.1918 Archive: Art Huneke


HQ Cabin-ROW Hempstead Turnpike crossing
c.1918 close-up Archive: Art Huneke


HU TOWER

HU TOWER:  HAMMEL WYE (HAMMEL JUNCTION?) (INSIDE EAST END OF WYE. REPLACED TOWER #102. JOHNSON 44 LEVER STYLE  A   MECHANICAL MACHINE IN SVC: 8/2/1907. OUT OF SVC: 2/19/32.)  Research: Dave Keller

 

This is the east end of the Hammel's wye at the grade crossing of Pleasant Avenue as seen on July 21, 1911.  The view is looking northwest and in the distance is "HU" tower.  Compare this view with the color image of "DRAW" cabin atop the viaduct looking in the same direction in 1955!  The tracks at the right head north towards Jamaica Bay.  The tracks at the left head towards the Hammel's station and on to Rockaway Park. The tracks in the foreground connect with Far Rockaway and are considered part of the "Far Rockaway branch" per employee timetables. (Dave Keller data and archive)


HU Tower Hammel's Wye view NE c.
pre-1932 Archive: Mike Boland

IS TOWER

IS TOWER:  HOLLIS (NORTH SIDE OF TRACKS AND EAST OF HOLLIS STATION. JOHNSON 32 LEVER MECHANICAL MACHINE.  IN SVC: 1905 AS TOWER # 43: 3 (?).  RENAMED “IS” IN 1907.  WHEN STATION WAS ELEVATED, IT WAS RELOCATED ADJACENT TO WEST SIDE OF TOWER. 
 “IS” RENAMED “HOLLIS”: 4/23/37.)  Research: Dave Keller


Looking northwest on 7/1/36, we see the depot, high-level concrete platforms and “IS” tower at Hollis. The building at the right is the section shanty. Visible in the center of the tracks are the crossover switches to allow trains to enter and leave Holban Yard which is located just west of the station and to the left out of the range of the photo.  A year later the tower would be renamed “HOLLIS.”  Archive: Dave Keller
   

JA TOWER

JA TOWER:  VAN WYCK AVE., JAMAICA  (“JAMAICA BLOCK”) (ORIGINALLY TOWER #40: 1.  RENUMBERED TOWER #36: 1 IN 1903.  RENAMED “JA” IN 1907.  RENAMED “V” (VAN WYCK AVE.): 6/1911. OUT OF SVC: 1913 WITH RELOCATION AND ELEVATION OF JAMAICA TERMINAL.)  Research: Dave Keller


JA Tower west of Jamaica -View SE  3/1909 Archive: Dave Keller

JAY TOWER

JAY TOWER: JAMAICA (PREVIOUSLY “J” TOWER) (NORTH SIDE OF TRACKS AND WEST OF STATION. RENAMED: 4/16/37 AS PHONETIC SPELLING OF “J” [JAY]. INTERLOCKING REBUILT WITH US&S 123 LEVER, MODEL 14 ELECTRO-PNEUMATIC MACHINE, IN SVC:  2/21/43.  SIGNAL SYSTEM UPGRADED:  10/23-24/2010. TOWER OUT OF SVC:  10/24/2010. REMOTE CONTROLLED FROM “JCC”.  BLDG. USED BY M of E AND M of W PERSONNEL)  Research: Dave Keller


JAY Tower operator at Interlocking Machine Model Board, Jamaica c.1937Archive: Dave Keller

LIRR valuation photo “J” (later “JAY”) Tower west of new Jamaica station. View looking west. Appears windows are being washed . . . perhaps for the first and last time! 4/2/1921 Archive: Dave Keller

JAY Tower  interior 6/1951 (Ziel-Boland)

JAY Tower New Car and Car Modernization Sign view NE 02/12/57 W. V. Faxon, Jr. photo, Dave Keller archive
 

JAY Tower view E towards Hall Tower c. 1963

 


JAY Tower - 5/26/1971  (Milone-Boland)

JAY Tower - Jamaica 1974  - Dave Keller photo and archive

JAY Tower 3/30/2000  Photo: S. Thurmovik

JAY Tower Model board and Interlocking Archive: Lamont Ward

JAY Tower - LIRR Extra #163 East 8/09/2020
Photo/Archive: Greg Grice

JC TOWER: 2

JC TOWER: 2  WHITESTONE JUNCTION - EAST OF CORONA.  (CORONA JCT.?)  JUNCTION OF PORT WASHINGTON AND WHITESTONE BRANCHES. (OPENED 6/30/1914, NORTH SIDE OF PORT WASHINGTON BRANCH TRACKS, EAST OF THE JUNCTION AND WEST OF FLUSHING CREEK. GRS/S&F 24 LEVER MECHANICAL MACHINE WITH US&S 5 LEVER STYLE TC TABLE MACHINE TO OPERATE DRAWBRIDGE (SWING BRIDGE) OVER FLUSHING RIVER.  OUT OF SVC: 2/19/32 "ALONG WITH ALL SIGNALS OPERATED THERE FROM," PER G.O. #115-18.  BRANCH ABANDONED. TOWER RAZED SHORTLY THEREAFTER. BRIDGE TENDER'S CABIN INSTALLED AT EAST END OF BRIDGE TO OPERATE SWING BRIDGE) 
Research: Dave Keller


JC Tower: 2 - Whitestone Jct., Flushing- 4/1921 Archive: Dave Keller

KN CABIN

KN CABIN: 1   PITKIN AVE., EAST NEW YORK ON BAY RIDGE BRANCH (W. SIDE OF TRACKS  AND S. OF PITKIN AVE. IN SVC:   1/17/1918. OUT OF SVC: 1925) 
Research: Dave Keller


KN Cabin Overpass is Pitkin Ave., East New York.  View N 1925
The BRT Canarsie EL is running parallel to the LIRR tracks at the right.
   (Osborne-Keller)

KO CABIN

KO  CABIN; RONKONKOMA (S. SIDE OF TRACKS AND E. OF STATION. IN SERVICE: 1916.  PERMISSIVE BLOCK ASPECT ADDED TO BLOCK SIGNAL:  6/25/1928. BLOCK STATION OUT OF SVC:  10/26/1931. UNATTENDED BLOCK STATION IN SVC. CONTINUOUSLY:  10/26/31.  CABIN OUT OF SVC:  10/30/34 WHEN BLOCK OFFICE MOVED TO TEMPORARY DEPOT TICKET
OFFICE (PREVIOUS DEPOT BURNED). CABIN REMAINED IN LOCATION AS LATE AS JAN, 1944 (PHOTOGRAPHIC EVIDENCE), OR EVEN LATER.  POSSIBLY USED AS A SWITCHTENDER'S SHANTY TO CONTROL THE SWITCHES INTO THE YARD AND THE PASSING SIDING, WHEN IT WAS MOVED TO THE END OF THE WYE FOR USE AS A TOOL STORAGE SHED. RAZED: 1988 WITH REMOVAL OF OLD YARD AND WYE, ACCOUNT ELECTRIFICATION PROJECT)  Research: Dave Keller


A close-up view of the temporary Ronkonkoma depot and
former "KO" Block office.  New depot is at the left.
T. Sommer photo, Dave Keller Archive

"KO" semaphore block signals controlled at this time by the block office in the station ticket office- 1940  - T. Sommer photo, Dave Keller archive

"KO" call letters in PRR keystone on Ronkonkoma station ticket office bay window.
 Block office at that time was relocated from a cabin at the east end of the platform
to the ticket office - View c. 1940s Archive: Art Huneke


"KO" cabin and semaphore block signals - Ronkonkoma View E  1/07/1944
Fred Weber photo, Dave Morrison archive


KO INTERLOCKING

KO INTERLOCKING (R.C.) RONKONKOMA (EAST OF RONKONKOMA STATION OPPOSITE TRAIN WASH BLDG. (CONTROLLED FROM "DIVIDE."
FORMERLY "KO 2", IN SVC. 12/14/87. RENAMED "KO" 06/25/2018 PER GN #4-9 EFF: 06/23/2018  ETT #4 EFF: 05/21/2018)

KO 1 INTERLOCKING (R.C.) WEST OF RONKONKOMA AVENUE. (CONTROLLED FROM “DIVIDE.” IN SVC: 2/14/87.
RENAMED "POND" 06/25/2018 PER GN #4-9 EFF: 06/23/2018 [ETT #4 EFF: 05/21/2018])

KO 2 INTERLOCKING (R.C.) EAST OF RONKONKOMA OPPOSITE AND BLOCK STATION TRAIN WASH BLDG. (BLOCK STATION CONTROLLED FROM “DIVIDE.” IN SVC: 12/14/87. RENAMED "KO 2" 06/25/2018 PER GN #4-9 EFF: 06/23/2018 [ETT #4 EFF: 05/21/2018])  Research: Dave Keller


KO-1 & KO-2 Interlocking -  3/01/1988 Archive: Jeff Erlitz

KO-1 & KO-2 Interlocking -  11/08/2002 Archive: Jeff Erlitz

KO Yard 1/16/2003 Archive: Jeff Erlitz
     

LEAD CABIN

LEAD CABIN:  EAST SIDE OF SWING BRIDGE AT REYNOLD’S CHANNEL - LONG BEACH (PREVIOUSLY “WL” [WRECK LEAD] CABIN AND ORIGINALLY THE BRIDGE TENDER'S CABIN. RENAMED: 5/1/37.  US&S 7 LEVER MODEL TC TABLE MACHINE OUT OF SVC:  4/29/88. SWING BRIDGE OUT OF SVC:  5/2/88.  REPLACED BY "LEAD" TOWER AND BASCULE DRAWBRIDGE.)  Research: Dave Keller


LEAD Cabin swing bridge Reynold's Channel, Long Beach
View N - 1964 (Schneider-Keller)


LEAD Cabin swing bridge Reynold's Channel, Long Beach View SE 1967 (Keller-Keller)


LEAD Cabin and swing bridge - Reynold's Channel  - View N 2/05/1978  (Madden-Keller)


LEAD Cabin  Interlocking Table Machine-Long Beach
2/05/1978 (Erlitz-Keller)


LEAD Cabin Reynold's Channel, Long Beach open swing bridge view S  - 2/05/1978 (Madden-Keller)


LEAD Cabin  Model Board, Long Beach 2/05/1978
(Erlitz-Keller)


LEAD Cabin Swing Bridge Control - Long Beach
2/05/1978 (Erlitz-Keller)


LEAD INTERLOCKING
 
LEAD Interlocking diagram 9/06//1946 Archive: Jeff Erlitz
 

LEAD TOWER

LEAD TOWER:  DRAWBRIDGE – LONG BEACH AT REYNOLD’S CHANNEL (DRAWBRIDGE LOCATED 400’ EAST OF FORMER LOCATION IN SVC:  5/2/88.  INTERLOCKING STATION RELOCATED 450’ EAST OF FORMER LOCATION ON S. SIDE OF TRESTLE ADJACENT TO DRAWBRIDGE
IN SVC:  5/9/88)  Research: Dave Keller

 
LEAD Tower and drawbridge, Long Beach after Hurricane Sandy
DE30ac Shuttle 11/2012  (Povall-Keller)
 

LOCUST TOWER

LOCUST TOWER: LOCUST VALLEY (BUILT: 1912 ON N. SIDE OF TRACKS AT EAST END OF STATION PLATFORM. FORMERLY “OY”. RENAMED: 4/30/37.  8 LEVER STD. SIGNAL CO. STYLE A MECHANICAL MACHINE.  REPLACED WITH US&S 3 LEVER STYLE B-30 CONTROL PANEL: 11/11/65.
RELOCATED FROM TOWER TO HUT: 11/17/75 AND TOWER ABANDONED. IN USE AS NASSAU COUNTY POLICE PRECINCT ANNEX. EXTERIOR COMPLETELY RESTORED TO ORIGINAL CONDITION FOR USE BY NASSAU COUNTY POLICE AND DEDICATED AT CEREMONY: 8/8/2006 )


LOCUST Tower 1966  - Dave Keller photo and archive
 
LOCUST Tower Levers - 1/1962


LOCUST Tower Model Board - 1/1962

LOCUST Tower  2/1988 Photo: John Fusto


LOCUST Tower 2005


LR TOWER

LR TOWER:  LIBERTY AVE. (ROCKAWAY BEACH BR.) (ON SIGNAL BRIDGE SOUTH OF LIBERTY AVE. IN SVC: 1904. FORMERLY TOWER #92.  JOHNSON STYLE "A" 12 LEVER MECHANICAL MACHINE IN SVC:  1904. OUT OF SVC: 1/30/1925.)  Research: Dave Keller


Tower 92, later LR Tower south of Liberty Ave - Rockaway Beach Branch Archive: Art Huneke

LR Tower Liberty Ave 1904  blueprint
Archive: Art Huneke
 

M CABIN

M CABIN:   FREIGHT DRAWBRIDGE (LIFT BRIDGE) OVER DUTCH KILLS CREEK, L. I. CITY  (CONTROLLED MONTAUK CUT-OFF,  BLISS – YARD A SECONDARY TRACKS.  S. SIDE OF TRACKS AND EAST END OF BRIDGE.  IN SVC:  8/1910.  SAXBY &  FARMER 10 LEVER MECHANICAL  MACHINE. OUT OF SVC:   ? Research: Dave Keller


M Cabin - LI City Newtown Creek, Montauk Cutoff 
12/25/1970 (Keller-Keller)

M Cabin - Montauk Cutoff - Dutch Kills Bridge open
5/16/1976 (Erlitz-Keller)

M Cabin - ROW Signal #8 - Yard A Secondary Track
View W 6/17/1979 (Madden-Keller)

MI CABIN

MI CABIN:  MURRAY HILL (N. SIDE OF TRACKS IN CUT AND E. OF 147TH ST. OVERPASS. IN SVC: 1919 - OCT/1926)  Research: Dave Keller


MI Cabin - Murray Hill 1925 (Osborne-Keller)

MJ TOWER

MJ TOWER:  MANHATTAN BEACH JCT. EAST (RAILROAD WEST) OF STATION - OCEAN AVE., BKLYN.  (JCT. OF BAY RIDGE AND MANHATTAN BEACH BRANCHES.    (BRICK TOWER ON BAY RIDGE BRANCH. BUILT INTO EMBANKMENT ON N. SIDE OF TRACKS.  24 LEVER GRS TYPE B ELECTRO-MECHANICAL MACHINE: 16    ELECTRIC LEVERS, 8 MECHANICAL LEVERS IN SVC:  1917-1918.  INTERLOCKING GREATLY REBUILT: 1927. RENAMED “BEDFORD”: 4/22/37.)  Research: Dave Keller


MJ Tower - Manhattan Beach Jct.- Model Board & Machine - c. 1910 Archive: Art Huneke

MJ Tower - Manhattan Beach Jct. - c. 1918 Archive: Art Huneke
 

MP TOWER

MP TOWER: 1  MORRIS PARK SHOPS (MAURE AVE.) (SOUTH SIDE OF TRACKS AND EAST OF MORRIS PARK SHOPS AND MONTAUK BRANCH CONNECTION. FORMERLY TOWER #67. RENAMED IN 1907. DOES NOT APPEAR ON ETT #59, EFF: 11/1910. APPEARS ON ETT #69, EFF: 05/25/1913. REPLACED BY NEW TOWER: 01/20/1914  Research: Dave Keller


The 1st “MP” tower – Morris Park Shops - View east. 12/29/1908 Archive: Jeff Erlitz

The 1st “MP” tower – Morris Park Shops - looking west towards the shops. The original Dunton station was a distance behind the photographer.  Date is 11/9/1911   Dave Keller archive  
 

MR CABIN

MR CABIN: MANORVILLE – JCT. OF MANORVILLE BR. WITH MAIN LINE (LISTED IN ETT OF
5/14/1916.  6-LEVER MECHANICAL MACHINE IN SVC:  8/5/1916 SOUTH SIDE OF MAIN LINE TRACKS AND WEST OF EAST LEG OF JCT. WYE. UNATTENDED BLOCK STATION SIGNAL
IN SVC: 5/23/1928. PERMISSIVE BLOCK ASPECT ADDED TO BLOCK SIGNALS:  6/25/1928.   BLOCK STATION OUT OF SVC: 10/26/1931.  UNATTENDED BLOCK STATION IN SVC. CONTINUOUSLY: 10/26/31.  BLOCK STATION MANNED “SUMMERS ONLY” AFTER 1/19/33.    PARTIAL DATES AVAILABLE AS FOL LOWS:
IN SVC:  6/25/33.  O.O.S:  9/ ? /33
IN SVC:  6/23/35.  O.O.S:  9/15/35
IN SVC:  6/21/36.  O.O.S:  9/20/36
IN SVC:  6/20/37.  O.O.S:  9/19/37
IN SVC:  6/19/38.  O.O.S:  9/18/38
IN SVC:  6/  ?/39.  O.O.S:  9/17/39
IN SVC:  6/  ?/40.  O.O.S:  9/08/40
IN SVC:  6/  ?/42.  O.O.S:  9/09/42
UNATTENDED BLOCK STATION IN SVC. AT ALL OTHER TIMES. cABIN PERMANENTLY O.O.S: 9/09/42 AND SIGNAL MASTS ALL CUT OFF AT 10' ABOVE   GROUND.  BLOCK LIMIT SIGNAL PERMANENTLY OUT OF SVC PER G.O. #1404 EFF:  6/25/48.  JUNCTION AND MAIN TRACK TO EASTPORT OUT OF SVC PER G.O. #1710 EFF: 12/27/49.)  Research: Dave Keller


MR Cabin  JVO Manorville-1921 (Keller)


MS 1 INTERLOCKING

MS 1 INTERLOCKING (R.C.)  EAST OF MASTIC SHIRLEY (BLOCK STATION CONTROLLED FROM “PD.” IN SVC: 2/5/80.  OUT OF SVC:  5/6/2006
Research: Dave Keller


MS 1 Interlocking model board at PD Tower - Photo/Archive: Jeff Erlitz

MT TOWER

MT TOWER: 1   MINEOLA (MINEOLA TOWER: BRICK TOWER IN SVC: 1890,  SOUTH SIDE OF MAIN LINE TRACKS AT EAST END OF WOODEN STATION PLATFORM, EAST OF MINEOLA BLVD. TO  CONTROL JCT.  OF MINEOLA-HEMPSTEAD  AND OYSTER BAY BRANCHES WITH MAIN LINE. SAXBY & FARMER 52 LEVER MECHANICAL MACHINE.  FORMERLY TOWER #45: 1.  AN “L”-SHAPED BRIDGE CONNECTED THE 2ND STOREY OF THE TOWER AT THE REAR WITH THE 2ND STOREY OF THE 1910 SUB STATION AT THE FRONT WITH STAIRS AT THE SUBSTATION SIDE TO COMPENSATE FOR THE DIFFERENCE IN 2ND STOREY ELEVATIONS. TOWER DESTROYED IN FREIGHT TRAIN DERAILMENT: 12/31/1922.)  (Robt. Emery data:  SUNY @ Stony Brook map)

MT TOWER: 2  MINEOLA (WOODEN TOWER IN SERVICE: 4/25/1923 AT SAME LOCATION AS  “MT (1ST).  NEW TOWER BUILT AROUND THE ORIGINAL 1890 52 LEVER MECHANICAL MACHINE.  REAMED “FAIR”: 4/23/37. RENAMED “NASSAU”: 9/18/38)
(EAST LEG OF WYE OUT OF SVC:
5/18/1927)  Research: Dave Keller


MT Tower: 1 - Substation 8 bridge, Mineola
View SE c.1915 Archive: Art Huneke

MT Tower: 2 - View E  c.1935 Archive: Jeff Erlitz
 

NA TOWER

NA TOWER:  CEDAR MANOR (N. SIDE OF TRACKS AND E. OF NEW YORK AVENUE.  SAXBY & FARMER 8 LEVER MECHANICAL MACHINE IN SERVICE: 1918. CROSSING OF L. I. ELECTRIC RY AND JAMAICA CENTRAL RY. STREETCARS OUT OF SVC: 11/15/33)  Research: Dave Keller


NA Tower - NY Ave. crossing east of  Cedar Manor
View W 1923 (Osborne-Keller)

NASSAU


NASSAU Tower - Sub-Station View SW 1969
Archive: Dave Keller

NASSAU TOWER: MINEOLA – JCT. OF MINEOLA- HEMPSTEAD AND OYSTER BAY BRANCHES WITH MAIN LINE. (PREVIOUSLY “MT” & “FAIR” TOWERS. RENAMED: 9/18/38.
ORIGINAL 1890 S&F 52 LEVER MECHANICAL MACHINE.  BRISTOL ALL-RELAY CONTROL PANEL CONTROLLING “LOCUST” IN SVC:  11/17/75. MECHANICAL MACHINE REMOVED  c. 1997 AND REPLACED WITH ELECTRONIC CONTROL PANEL.) Research: Dave Keller

 


NASSAU Interlocking blueprint 8/06/1941
Archive: Stephen McEvoy


NASSAU Interlocking blueprint 12/01/57 
revised Sheet 36 Archive: Art Huneke


NASSAU Tower LIRR  FA #601 eastbound to Port Jefferson view SW First day of service for push-pull trains 05/25/1971 Photo: Richard Glueck

NASSAU Tower  5/17/1979 Photo: Steve Rothaug
Note: Two windows have been boarded over.

NASSAU Tower partial Interlocking Diagram
2/26/1939 Archive: Dave Keller

NASSAU Tower Operator Raymond B. Hubbs - 1930
Mineola Historical Society

NASSAU Tower - Wartime Operator at Model Board 
c.1945 Archive: Dave Keller

Nassau Tower Model Board - c.1965
Archive: Joe Spinella

Nassau Tower levers c.1972
Photo/Archive: James Mardiguian

NASSAU Tower Model Board 12/1975
Wm. Madden photo, Dave Keller archive

Brian Doohan NASSAU Tower 7/21/2020
Photo/Archive: Dave Morrison


NASSAU Interlocking control panel 5/08/2020
Photo/Archive: Jeff Erlitz

NASSAU Tower interior - Jay Bendersky extra-list Block operator - Winter 1987  Photo/Archive: Jay Bendersky

NASSAU Tower interlocking levers  5/17/1979
Photo: Steve Rothaug

NASSAU Tower levers and model board
  5/17/1979 Photo: Steve Rothaug
 
NASSAU Tower interlocking rods Baldwin with freight on
Hempstead Spur 3/20/54 Archive: Dave Keller
 
 
NASSAU Tower interlocking rod
s view W 05/17/79
Photo/Archive: Steve Rothaug

NASSAU Tower interlocking rods close-up 05/17/79
Photo/Archive: Steve Rothaug 

NASSAU 3 INTERLOCKING

NASSAU 3 INTERLOCKING: (RC) WEST OF CARLE PLACE STATION (SOUTH SIDE OF TRACKS, EAST OF MEADOWBROOK PKY. UNDERGRADE CROSSING. 
CONTROLLED FROM “NASSAU” TOWER. IN SVC:  2/10/98)
 Research: Dave Keller

Carle Place M9 #9033 - Train #7703 from Huntington to Penn Station. It's about to clear Nassau 3 Interlocking and is passing under Signal Bridge #5. This is west of Carle Place station and still in the hamlet of Carle Place. View E 11/28/2020 Photo/Archive: Jeff Erlitz

Consist: 9033-9034+9003-9004+9009-9010+9007-9008+9057-9058+9019-9020
 

 


NO CABIN

NO CABIN: 1 NEW LOTS AVE., EAST NEW YORK ON BAY RIDGE BRANCH (S. SIDE OF TRACKS AND S. OF NEW LOTS AVE. IN SERVICE: 1/17/1918.  OUT OF SVC: 1925 WITH CONSTRUCTION OF NEW LOTS CLASSIFICATION YARD.  CABIN MOVED TO E. 92ND ST.)  Research: Dave Keller


NO Cabin - New Lots, East New York -1921 (Osborne-Keller)

NO TOWER

NO TOWER: 1 EAST NEW YORK ON ATLANTIC BRANCH CONTROLLING THE AT-GRADE CROSSING OF THE LIRR BY THE NY & MANHATTAN BEACH RY. TRACKS (LATER THE LIRR'S MANHATTAN BEACH/BAY RIDGE BRANCH).  (BUILT ON SIGNAL BRIDGE ON WEST SIDE OF THE CROSSING.
FORMERLY TOWER 63.  RENAMED IN 1907. OUT OF SVC: 2/1916 WITH REMOVAL OF AT-GRADE TRACK CROSSING, AND REPLACED BY TUNNELS UNDER THE ATLANTIC BRANCH TRACKS.) Research: Dave Keller


Manhattan Crossing, East New York Manhattan Beach Branch crossed the Atlantic Branch - Tower 63, later "NO" Archive: Art Huneke

NO Tower - LIRR Atlantic Branch, East New York -BRT EL
1913 view E Archive: Dave Keller
 

NU CABIN

NU CABIN:   NEW UTRECHT AVE., BAY RIDGE ON BAY RIDGE BRANCH (S. SIDE OF TRACKS AND W. OF NEW UTRECHT AVE.  IN SVC: 1/17/1918.  OUT OF SVC:  9/30/1927 DUE TO OPENING OF 14TH AVE. BRIDGE ND ELECTRIFICATION OF BRANCH AND OPENING OF “NU” TOWER.)  Research: Dave Keller


NU Cabin - New Utrecht Ave., Bay Ridge-1921 (Osborne-Keller)

OLIVET TOWER

OLIVET TOWER: FLUSHING AVE., MASPETH (MT. OLIVET) (S. SIDE OF MONTAUK BRANCH TRACKS AND W. OF FLUSHING AVE. 8-LEVER JOHNSON STYLE A MECHANICAL MACHINE. FORMERLY TOWER #6 AND “MV” IN 1907. RENAMED: 4/22/37.  OUT OF SVC: 6/24/49.)
Research: Dave Keller


 OLIVET Interlocking 1/23/1941
Archive: Stephen McEvoy

"OLIVET" Tower 8/01/1944 zoom Archive: Art Huneke

H10s (2-8-0) #113 pulling eastbound freight upgrade past "OLIVET" Tower, Flushing Ave, Maspeth, NY 8/30/1946  Archive: Dave Keller

"OLIVET" Tower Interior 1948  Archive: Dave Keller

The interior shot left) shows what appears to be the signal maintainer sitting at the block operator's desk and the photo shot by the block operator. I was told by a former signal maintainer that this was a nasty, drafty tower and was full of rats. The interior condition certainly looks conducive to both. Dave Keller

 

OZONE TOWER

OZONE TOWER:  WOODHAVEN JCT. ON ROCKAWAY BEACH  BRANCH – JCT. OF ATLANTIC AND ROCKAWAY BEACH BRANCHES (W. SIDE OF
TRACKS AND S. OF STATION. FORMERLY  “RK”. 23-LEVER US&S MODEL 14 ELECTRO-PNEUMATIC MACHINE.  RENAMED: 4/15/37 ALTHOUGH AN ENTIRE STATION STOP NORTH OF OZONE PARK.  OUT OF SERVICE: 10/3/55. STILL STANDING IN 1964. GONE BY 1970.) R
esearch: Dave Keller


OZONE Tower - View N 1948 Archive: Mike Boland


OZONE Tower closed -View N (railroad west)
7/1958 Photo/Archive: Art Huneke


OZONE Tower view N c.1961 Photo: Dick Makse 
Archive: Brad Phillips

OZONE TOWER: The tower was located at the southernmost end of the Woodhaven Jct. station platform on the west side of the tracks (same side as the electric sub-station) where Emery's map is indicated by the red star.
Info: Dave Keller


Ozone Interlocking blueprint 12/15/1942
Archive: Stephen McEvoy


PARK TOWER

PARK TOWER: FLORAL PARK – JCT. OF HEMPSTEAD AND CREEDMOOR BRANCHES WITH MAIN LINE.  (PREVIOUSLY 2nd “FK” TOWER. SOUTH SIDE OF MAIN LINE TRACKS AND EAST OF TULIP AVE. AND THE JUNCTION WITH THE HEMPSTEAD BRANCH, WHEN MAIN LINE WAS WIDENED TO 4 TRACKS AS FAR AS FLORAL PARK. 27-LEVER US&S MODEL 14 ELECTRO-PNEUMATIC MACHINE IN SVC: 1924.  RENAMED:   4/23/37. OUT OF SVC:  12/15/60 DUE TO GRADE ELIMINATION.)  Research: Dave Keller


PARK Tower Floral Park - View SE 1939 (Arnoux-Keller)

PARK Tower Interlocking Machine - Model Board
Floral Park 1939 (Arnoux-Keller)


PARK Tower Interlocking Diagram 3/16/1942

PARK Tower 1947 (Ziel-Boland)

PARK Tower - Floral-Park Archive: John Peters

PARK Tower at Floral Park Semaphore and Position Light signals View SW 10/12/51  W. V. Faxon, Jr. photo, Dave Keller archive

PARK Tower Interlocking blueprint - Floral-Park 12/01/1957
Archive: Art Huneke

PD TOWER

PD Tower PRR Position light signals 01/1972 
Photo: Dave Keller

PD TOWER: Located on the south side of the tracks at the east end of the station platform and west side of South Ocean Ave. crossing for protection of LIRR tracks crossed by the Suffolk Traction Co., bound for Patchogue Dock. 

Saxby & Farmer 20 lever mechanical machine in service: 5/29/12. 2-lever US&S model 6 electrical locked semaphore indicator and circuit controller in service: 1913 Interlocking rebuilt and two TC style 1-lever table machines added designated “l” and “R” to control train movements over hand operated switches installed in raised locations in SE and SW corners of  the tower, in service: 9/28/17.  Suffolk Traction Co. out of service: 1919. Tower retained for LIRR use. TC machines out of service: c. mid-1930s (?)  Saxby & Farmer 20 lever machine replaced by electronic control panel: 1991. Out of service: 5/8/2006. Razed: 8/22/06  (Data, per photos and interlocking blueprints, kindly provided by Art Huneke. Date of removal of interlocking plant courtesy of LIRR Block Operator: Chris Soundy)  Research: Dave Keller


PD interlocking blueprint as of 06/03/1912
Note:
The tower has been incorrectly located on the east side of the Suffolk Traction Co.'s line and too close to the crossover switches.  It should be located on the west side of the line which is indicated by levers 15 and 16.
(Dave Keller data)


Interlocking PD 09/28/1917 Sheet #36
Archive: Art Huneke

 


Al Bunker, block operator, at PD Tower levers March, 1930 view E (J.V. Osborne photo, original image at Queensboro  Public Library)


PD Tower Interlocking diagram partial labeled 2/26/1939 Archive: Dave Keller


PD Tower Camelback Westbound 3/18/1930
J. V. Osborne photo, Dave Keller archive


PD Tower interlocking levers and operator's desk 1971
 Dave Keller photo and archive

Note (left): PD Tower footprint with a dot and a horizontal line. This is standard notation on ALL interlocking diagrams. The dot represents the block operator and the horizontal line indicates the model board. Info: Dave Keller


 

Note (right): In general, model boards are always oriented to match the actual railroad outside. In the case of PD, since the machine faced away from the tracks, east was on the left and west was on the right. Info: Jeff Erlitz


PD Tower Model Board and Levers Patchogue
c.1964 Archive: Dave Keller


PD Tower Model Board Patchogue 7/1971 (Keller-Keller)
Note: At the far right, above the timer, you can see the start/end of double track at the spring switch at "Y," east of Sayville.  Those signals were handled by "PD".


PD Tower Model Board 7/1971 locations labeled:
Photo: Dave Keller  Labels: Steven Lynch
 

The PD Tower Model Board when the strong-arms were in service (above right). It was followed up by a small unit lever machine, I believe crafted on the property, which fit on the desk on the opposite wall (facing the tracks). Later, they interlocked MS (now JJD) and that machine was placed next to the unit lever machine. And for a long time, that was it, the PD machine (Y switch was interlocked then and added to the PD control panel), BO block limit, MS, and then the rest of the block limits.

This model board mounted on the interior south wall is oriented to match the actual railroad outside. In the case of PD, since the machine faced away from the tracks, east was on the left and west was on the right. This explains why it is upside down, compared to the follow-up machine. The meter is some sort of voltmeter or ammeter, and it has two buttons, one for + reading and one for negative. Numbers - every signal and switch was numbered in an interlocking, usually matching a lever on the interlocking machine. Sometimes they followed a convention of giving sigs even numbers and switches odd, but that depended on the location.

Also, not seen with many strong-arm machines, buttons on the floor which had to be stepped on to release the upper lock and operate the lever.  The crossover switches lever at PD was one such instance. This had something to do with the "detector", which checked for wheel flanges before permitting a throw. Some strong arms did it with the squeeze lever, and that had a midpoint that could be touchy to find, you'd have to listen for a buzz or relay to pick to get it right.

The glass jar things are "screw releases" or timers which permit an operator to put a signal back if there is a train on the circuit. It's a safety device which keeps the operator from dropping a signal in the engineer's face and then throwing a switch under a moving train. What is supposed to happen is the operator gets permission from the engineer via radio to take it back (implying that the engineer will stop short of the signal, or if stopped won't move. Prior to radio, whistle/horn signals were used), and once that's received the operator can activate the timer using the dial on the front of the jar. Then a noisy timer goes off and after it "runs time", the machine will permit the operator to restore the signal and THEN throw switches to change the route. The glass jar is locked and only the maintainer has a key to unlock the jar and then clean the "fingers" or contacts which do this. Each signal is assigned one (can be more than one signal to a release) and the timer length is determined by the MAS (max speed) on that portion of track. So, a siding or yard track signal would be much less than one on the main.

The buttons nearby were "punch" buttons which would "call-on" a signal, causing it to display it's most restrictive aspect. This was used in following movements, putting an engine on its train, or dealing with a track circuit failure.

Between the Y and PD is a pair of circuits and where they meet has "clear/occupied" lights. Now, I'm not sure what that portion of rail's rules were. When the newer machine mentioned above came online, between Y and PD was manual block/Rule 261, meaning there was direction of traffic, but only one train in the block at a time. This is different, and I'm guessing they had to have both bulbs lit "clear" before they could get the signals into that portion of rail. I did hear an old-timer say that at one time you had to give out A-Cards for PD/Y (a PITA considering the workload was like back then), so that may have been tied into that. Some of the older Mainline towers (SG, etc) did have the option to display a "permissive block", wherein a freight of certain size could follow another train in a manual block at restricted speed, perhaps those lights were for that also.

Except for the freight yard (Patchogue team), all of those sidings were gone, and then later they extended PD, by lengthening the Schoolhouse and trailing the fence into, and then the Schoolhouse trails into the main now at PD2. Where the Schoolhouse track is painted on the board, that is now considered the North Track, west from the cross-over by the tower.


PD Tower floor plan 1968 indicating Armstrong Lever location Research/Design/Archive: Dave Keller


PD Tower- Desk and Model Boards 5/04/2006
Archive: Dave Keller


PD Tower - Operators desk 1971 interior and the overall tower was completely restored and freshly painted shortly after. Photo/Archive: Dave Keller

"PD" block Operator H. Edward ("Ed") Sorensen pulls the lever moving the crossover switches east of the tower at Patchogue, NY in 1971 (Dave Keller photo and archive)

PD Tower view W c. 10/1966 - early '67, from the back of the #2038 "Setauket" on a LIST-NRHS excursion, the car was tacked onto the back of the morning Montauk run one Saturday Photo: Steve Hoskins

PD View E  2001 Photo: Steven Lynch
 

PD View E  2006
 

PD 1 INTERLOCKING (R.C.) PATCHOGUE (NORTH OF TRACKS AND EAST OF WEST AVENUE. CONTROLLED FROM “PD 2.”  IN SVC:  05/06/2006.)
PD 2 INTERLOCKING (R.C.) PATCHOGUE (SOUTH OF TRACKS AND EAST OF SOUTH OCEAN AVE. CONTROLLED FROM “BABYLON”.  IN SVC: 05/06/2006.)
PD 3 INTERLOCKING (R.C.) PATCHOGUE (SOUTH OF TRACKS AND WEST OF RIDER AVE. CONTROLLED FROM “PD 2.”  IN SVC:  05/06/2006.) Research: Dave Keller


PD 1 R.C. Interlocking Cabin -West Ave. crossing -Patchogue View W  4/29/2006 (Masterson-Keller) (Zoom)

PD 1 R.C. interlocking cabin looking west towards West Ave. crossing from station platform - Patchogue, NY - 04/29/2006 (Pat Masterson photo, Dave Keller archive)

PD 2 R.C. interlocking cabin and new color dwarf signal looking east at S. Ocean Ave. crossing - Patchogue, NY on 05/06/2006 (last day of PD tower control). PD 3 R.C. interlocking cabin is visible in the center background at Rider Ave. crossing. (Chris Soundy photo, Dave Keller archive)

POND TOWER

POND Tower May, 1968  The tower had been newly renovated, removing most of the upper windows and adding a new roof and new siding.  Dave Keller photo and archive.

FRESH POND JUNCTION - EAST OF STATION, FRESH POND (PREVIOUSLY “DF” TOWER) (NORTH SIDE OF TRACKS AND WEST OF N.Y. INTERCONNECTING R.R. TRESTLE. 

RENAMED: 4/22/37.  36 LEVER GRS/S& F IMPROVED MECHANICAL MACHINE. TOWER REMODELED: 1967.  INTERLOCKING AND INTERLOCKING PLANT TAKEN OUT OF SVC: 10/14/85 PER G.O. #409 AND **UPPER LEVEL BECAME CAR CONTROL AND TRAINMASTER'S OFFICE.  LOWER LEVEL AND/OR ATTACHED ADJACENT FORMER CREW LOCKER ROOM HOUSED CAR INSPECTORS.** TOWER ABANDONED BY JUNE, 1986 AND VANDALIZED (photographic provenance). **TRANSFER OF OWNERSHIP AND OPERATION TO NY & ATLANTIC RAILWAY: MAY 11, 1997 WHEN THAT RAILROAD TOOK OVER LIRR FREIGHT OPERATIONS** WITH A 20-YEAR LEASE. (Data between asterisks (**) courtesy of retired LIRR conductor Ben Jankowski) Research: Dave Keller


Fresh Pond - POND Tower blueprint 1946-56
Archive: Art Huneke

POND Tower levers 3/05/1978

POND Tower model board 3/05/1978

POND Tower c. June, 1968+

After the tower renovation of  05/1968, this photo was perhaps taken sometime between Summer/1968 and Spring/1970 or 1971, judging by the jackets worn and the trees appearing to begin showing leaves.  All the RS3 units were repainted by 1971, though. Historical Info: Dave Keller


POND Tower interlocking levers c.1981

POND Tower levers 1987 Archive: Roger Edington
 
POND Tower 6/17/2000 Photo: Steven Lynch 
Archive: Dave Keller
 

PORT TOWER

PORT TOWER: 1  FREEPORT (S. SIDE OF TRACKS, .3 MILES E. OF STATION. FORMERLY “FY”. SAXBY & FARMER 24 LEVER MECHANICAL
MACHINE IN SVC:  1926.  RENAMED: 4/30/37. OUT OF SVC: 5/5/59 WHEN TEMPORARY TRACKS PLACED IN SERVICE ACCOUNT GRADE CROSSING ELIMINATION.) Research: Dave Keller


Freeport "PORT" Tower in 1959 View SE. Original tracks in foreground.  Temporary tracks beyond the tower and temporary station facilities to the left of the old tower, between the two sets of tracks.  Archive: Dave Keller

PORT Interlocking Freeport 12/12/1941


PORT Interlocking Baldwin-Freeport 12/01/1960 Archive: Jeff Erlitz

Note: In 1960 Track 1 east of the station was temporarily using the alignment of future Layup Track 2 and Track 2 was temporarily using the alignment of future Track 1.  Jeff Erlitz
 


PORT Interlocking Freeport 7/171961 Archive: Jeff Erlitz

Freeport was grade separated between 1958 and 1961. In general, interlocking diagrams were issued only once per year, in December, unless something major occurred. In the case of Freeport, the new elevation and interlocking configuration was completed 6/27/1961, hence the new drawing dated 7/17/1961

PORT TOWER: 2  FREEPORT (RELOCATED 2,765’ WEST OF PREVIOUS TOWER, N. SIDE OF TRACKS AND EAST OF STATION. US&S STYLE UR
CONTROL PANEL  IN SVC: 10/11/60. OUT OF SVC:  5/16/83. STILL STANDING [9/2013] FOR MANNED USE IN THE EVENT OF AN EMERGENCY.  (Robert
Myers data) 


Port Tower Freeport - View SE 1968  (Keller-Keller)

PORT Tower - Wantagh-Amityville Panel 7/08/1978
(Madden-Erlitz)

John Scala's "Diesels of the Sunrise Trail", page 81: "...PORT Tower to the left, was brand new with fresh dirt at the right and freshly-ballasted track in this 10/08/1960 photo and LIRR #2008, brings the first train past it to inaugurate the Freeport grade crossing elimination project.." Photo: Arthur L. Mirick Collection: Harold Fagerberg

"PORT" Tower in service per G.O. #709. 10/11/1960
Dave Keller

POST INTERLOCKING

POST INTERLOCKING (R.C.)  EAST OF SMITHTOWN (REMOTE FROM “DIVIDE”. IN SVC: 12/20/63.  NAMED AFTER RETIRED SIGNAL DEPARTMENT CIRCUIT
ENGINEER HOWELL B. POST per The Long Island Railroader:  10/11/61. OUT OF SVC:  10/3/77.  BECAME “POST 2” LOCATION.)  Research: Dave Keller


POST Tower CTC - Smithtown 1969 Archive: Dave Keller

PT CABIN

PT CABIN: WEST OF EASTPORT – JCT. OF MONTAUK BRANCH AND MANORVILLE-EASTPORT   CONNECTION (IN SVC: 06/28/1916 PER ETT #82.  SOUTH SIDE OF MONTAUK BRANCH TRACKS, EAST OF EAST LEG OF JUNCTION WYE AND WEST OF STATION. 4-LEVER DWARF MACHINE AND 1-LEVER US&S MODEL 6 ELECTRICAL LOCKED SEMAPHORE INDICATOR & CIRCUIT
CONTROLLER IN SVC:  1923.  UNATTENDED BLOCK STATION SIGNAL IN SVC: 5/23/1928. PERMISSIVE BLOCK ASPECT ADDED TO BLOCK SIGNAL:  6/25/1928. FULL TIME BLOCK OFFICE PERMANENTLY OUT OF SVC:  1/19/33. UNATTENDED BLOCK STATION AND SIGNAL
RELOCATED 550’ WEST OF FORMER LOCATION AND IN SVC. CONTINUOUSLY: 1/19/33.  BLOCK STATION MANNED “SUMMERS ONLY” AFTER 1/19/33. PARTIAL DATES AVAILABLE AS FOLLOWS:
IN SVC:  6/25/33.  O.O.S:  9/ ?/33
IN SVC:  6/23/35.  O.O.S:  9/15/35
IN SVC:  6/21/36.  O.O.S:  9/20/36
IN SVC:  6/20/37.  O.O.S:  9/19/37
IN SVC:  6/19/38.  O.O.S:  9/18/38
IN SVC:  6/  ?/39.  O.O.S:  9/17/39
IN SVC:  6/  ?/40.  O.O.S:  9/08/40
IN SVC:  6/  ?/42.  O.O.S:  9/09/42
UNATTENDED BLOCK STATION IN SVC. AT ALL OTHER TIMES. BLOCK LIMIT SIGNAL PERMANENTLY OUT OF SVC PER G.O. #1404 EFF:  6/25/48.  JUNCTION AND MAIN TRACK TO EASTPORT OUT OF SVC. PER G.O. #1710 EFF: 12/27/49.) Research: Dave Keller


PT Cabin Eastport - View NW 1923  close-up (Osborne-Keller)


PT Cabin - H10s #108 freight east on Montauk Branch at Eastport Junction.  1943  Dave Keller archive


PT TOWER

PT TOWER: LYNBROOK  - (PEARSALL’S TOWER: JCT. OF LONG BEACH AND MONTAUK BRANCHES. (WOODEN TOWER LOCATED ON MONTAUK BRANCH S. SIDE OF TRACKS AND E. OF ATLANTIC AVE. AT STATION PLATFORM. 14 LEVER S&F MECHANICAL MACHINE IN SVC: BY 1884.  FORMERLY TOWER 21. RENAMED IN 1907. OUT OF SVC: 1910  Research: Dave Keller


PT Tower Lynbrook Post-1907

PW CABIN

PW CABIN:  WEST OF PINELAWN (END OF DOUBLE TRACK) (NORTH SIDE OF TRACKS. IN SERVICE: 8/1918. APPEARS IN ETT #88 EFF: 10/18/1918.  MOVED TO S. SIDE OF TRACKS. UNATTENDED BLOCK STATION SIGNAL IN SVC:  5/23/1928 [?].  PERMISSIVE BLOCK ASPECT ADDED TO BLOCK SIGNALS:  6/25/1928.  BLOCK AND UNATTENDED BLOCK STATION OUT OF SVC: 7/29/1930.  AUTOMATIC BLOCK CONTROLLED BY “B” INTERLOCKING STATION IN SVC:  7/29/1930.  UNATTENDED BLOCK SIGNAL AGAIN IN SVC:  11/1/37.  AGAIN MANNED 1943 – 1946 TO HANDLE TROOP TRAIN MOVEMENTS DURING WW II.)  AFTER TAKEN OUT OF SERVICE, IT WAS REPLACED BY A SWITCHTENDER'S SHANTY AND AN IDENTIFYING SIGN ON A POST WITH THE CALLS "PW." Research: Dave Keller


PW Cabin west of Pinelawn - View W - c. 1925
Archive: Art Huneke

PW Cabin west of Pinelawn -View E 1970
(Keller-Keller)
 

Q TOWER

Q TOWER (PRR): LONG ISLAND CITY (N. SIDE OF TRACKS AND E. OF QUEENS BLVD.  83 LEVER US&S MODEL 14 ELECTRO-PNEUMATIC MACHINE.
IN SVC: 11/1910)  Research: Dave Keller


Q Tower - PRR Sunnyside Pullman Coach Yard 
View NE c.1910 Archive: Dave Keller

PRR Sunnyside Yard - Q Tower - View E c.1920 Archive: Bill Mangahas
 

QUEENS TOWER

QU TOWER: 1 QUEENS VILLAGE (N. SIDE OF TRACKS AND EAST OF SPRINGFIELD BLVD. AND STATION.  JOHNSON 16 LEVER MECHANICAL MACHINE.  PREVIOUSLY TOWER #45. RENAMED “QU” IN 1907.  OUT OF SVC: 1924.)


QU Tower: 1 (Tower 45) - Queens Village  - View W - c. 1912 Archive: Art Huneke

QU TOWER: 2   QUEENS VILLAGE (BRICK TOWER N. SIDE OF TRACKS AND EAST OF QUEENS VILLAGE STATION AND WEST OF BELMONT PARK JUNCTION.  15-LEVER US&S MODEL 14 ELECTRO-PNEUMATIC MACHINE IN SVC:  1924.  RENAMED “QUEENS”: 4/23/37.)  Research: Dave Keller

 
QU Tower: 2 Queens Village view W c. 1925
(Osborne-Keller)
 

QUEENS TOWER: QUEENS VILLAGE (FORMERLY “QU” TOWER:2. RENAMED: 4/23/37. 15-LEVER US&S MODEL 14 ELECTRO-MECHANICAL MACHINE IN SVC: 1924. OUT OF SVC: 10/17/57. REPLACED BY 35-LEVER US&S MODEL 14 ELECTRO-MECHANICAL MACHINE IN SVC: 10/17/57. INTERLOCKING THROUGH BELLEROSE AND FLORAL PARK REWORKED WITH ELEVATION OF TRACKS. "PARK" AND "HOLLIS" TOWERS TAKEN OUT OF SERVICE AND INTERLOCKING CONTROLLED BY "QUEENS." 8 LEVERS ADDED ONTO THE "QUEENS" INTERLOCKING MACHINE FOR THIS PURPOSE: 12/12/60. QUINDAR ELECTRONICS ALL-RELAY CONTROL PANEL IN SVC: 11/5/76 TO CONTROL SIGNALS AND SWITCHES AT BELLEROSE.) OUT OF SVC: 01/11/2020 AND R.C. FROM "JCC-QUEENS" PER G.N. 5-42. Research: Dave Keller


QUEENS Tower - View E  Photo: Joe Gregory

QUEENS  Tower 5/09/2003 Photo: S. Thurmovik

Queens Interlocking 12/01/1954 Archive: Jeff Erlitz

Queens Interlocking 12/01/1957 Archive: Jeff Erlitz

LONG ISLAND RAIL ROAD’S QUEENS TOWER CLOSES
The The Bulletin from the Electric Railroaders’ Association, Inc.
Photographs/Article by Jeff Erlitz


At 1:05 p.m. on January 9, 2020, the second to last day of “staffed” operation, M7 7683 (Bombardier Transportation, 6/2006) is seen
leading Huntington to Penn Station Train #1641 past the 96-year-old Queens Tower. (Jeff Erlitz photo) 

At of 12:01 a.m. on Saturday, January 11, 2020, the Long Island Rail Road’s Queens Tower, located just east of the Queens Village station, was no longer staffed. It’s controls and indications were transferred to the dispatcher’s office in Jamaica, known as Jamaica Central Control. Queens had also controlled the entire Hempstead branch since November 21, 1993. 

Built during the Main Line grade crossing elimination and four-tracking project from Hollis to Queens Village, it put into service around March of 1924. 

Originally named QU for its telegraph call letters, the tower had a 15-lever Union Switch & Signal Company Model 14 interlocking machine. Four levers controlled four upper-quadrant semaphore home signals mounted up on two signal bridges and six color-light dwarf signals. Six levers controlled ten electro-pneumatic switch machines and there were five spare levers. In those days, most of the train movements were for Queens Village local electric trains that relayed into and out of the Belmont Park spur. QU Tower was renamed Queens on April 23, 1937.  

On October 17, 1957 the interlocking machine was increased from 15 to 35 levers. Whether this was done by installing a whole new machine or adding levers to the existing machine is not known for certain. This was done for a few reasons. On that date, a “controlled manual block” signal system was installed on the middle tracks, 1 and 2, between Queens Tower and Park Tower, two stations to the east in Floral Park. With this in place, trains could be run east on the westbound express track or west on the eastbound express track. In addition, three new single crossovers were added to the interlocking, increasing flexibility.

Two months later, on December 19, 1957, the tower two stations to the west at Hollis closed. This tower controlled the crossovers that provided a route from any of the four Main Line tracks into Holban Yard, mostly used by freight trains. Hollis controlled five single crossovers and a single switch for the lead track into Holban Yard. When it closed, all of the then-extant switches were removed and one new switch, at the east end of the Holban Yard lead track, well east of Hollis station, was installed, connecting the yard lead with eastbound local Track 4. This one switch, the three home signals protecting it and two additional signals governing moves on the Holban Yard Lead track, were added to Queens Tower’s control. In addition, one traffic lever was added so that freights bound for Holban Yard from the east could operate west on eastbound local track 4. Lastly, one lever was added for two electrically-locked hand-operated switches on eastbound Track 4 at the Queens Village team yard, just west of the station, and the Anchor Fuel siding in Bellaire. These two freight sidings had trailing-point switches for the usual eastbound trains on that track but with westbound trains now able to operate on it, the electric locks added further signal protection.


US&S 43-lever Model 14 interlocking machine in Queens Tower, March 1, 1978 Photo/Archive: Jeff Erlitz


Indication panel (model board) of the Model 14 machine, March 1, 1978.
Photo/Archive: Jeff Erlitz

On December 12-15, 1960, Park Tower in Floral Park closed in conjunction with the grade crossing elimination project in that village. This was the junction of the Main Line and Hempstead Branch. A new set of crossover switches were built west of Bellerose station to essentially replace the interlocking that had been east of Floral Park station for that junction. Eight levers were added to Queens Tower’s Model 14 machine to handle the extra signals and switches. 

On November 5, 1976, all those crossover switches west of Bellerose that were only 16 years old were reconfigured and replaced with a set of equilateral, relatively high-speed crossovers. These new crossovers enabled trains to operate at 60 miles per hour through the interlocking. For whatever reason, rather than reassign existing levers to control the new switches, an all-relay push-button control panel made by Quindar Electronics Inc. was placed into service. This control panel was built with the provision to take over all of Queens Tower’s functions, but I do not believe this ever happened.


Quindar Electronics, Inc all-relay push-button control panel installed for the new “Bellerose” interlocking, March 1, 1978. Photo/Archive: Jeff Erlitz

On November 21, 1993, Garden Tower (actually a cabin rather than a full-sized tower) closed and its controls and indications were transferred to Queens. Garden controlled the end of double track on the Hempstead Branch east of Garden City station. With that, all of the wayside automatic block signals on the Hempstead Branch between Floral Park and Garden City were removed from service with trains
able to operate in either direction on either track. I do not know what type of control panel was installed in Queens Tower for this function.

Sometime around 2008, the venerable US&S Model 14 interlocking machine and the Quindar control panel were removed from service and replaced with computer consoles using Alstom’s PTM Office Control System. Queens and the Hempstead Branch are now controlled from the Jamaica Central Control office using Railware, Incorporated’s Dispatch X office control system.
 

QUEENS Tower has Closed 1/15/2020 The LIRR Today

The LIRR is one of a rapidly dwindling number of railroads in the United States that controls train movements using towers scattered throughout the system. While the LIRR has consolidated and demolished many of its towers over the course of its history, there are still a small handful in operation (plus a couple of more that have been abandoned, but still remain standing or have been converted to other uses).
But the list of active towers got shorter this past weekend: as of 12:01a on the morning of Saturday, January 11, the block operator in QUEENS Tower has been relocated to the railroad's Jamaica Control Center (JCC) in the Jamaica AirTrain building. This means that movements through QUEENS Interlocking, HOLLIS Interlocking (a single switch for the Hillside Yard lead east of Hollis station), and GARDEN Interlocking (just east of Garden City) are now coordinated from the block operator ("JCC-Queens") in Jamaica.

QUEENS Tower is located just east of Queens Village station, on the north side of the tracks. Built in 1924 as "QU" tower during the grade separation of the Main Line through this area, the two-story brick structure stands north of the tracks and just east of Queens Village station. The tower was renamed "QUEENS" on April 23, 1937.

According to research compiled by Dave Keller, at trainsarefun.com, the tower was put into service to replace the old "QU" tower, which was built in 1894 and located a little to the west, at Springfield Boulevard. The old tower was demolished as part of a grade separation project through this area. The replacement tower was built with a 15-lever US&S model 14 electro-pneumatic switch machine, which was placed into service in 1924. US&S, which stands for Union Switch and Signal, was founded in 1881, and acquired by Ansaldo STS S.p.A. in 1988. Today, the company operates under the name Ansaldo STS USA, which still supplies the LIRR with signal equipment to this day (including for the Main Line Grade Crossing Elimination project). In October 1957, the equipment was upgraded to a larger 43-lever US&S model 14 electro-mechanical machine (which used mechanical means to throw switches, instead of air). In November 1976, a Quindar Electronics relay control panel was placed into service to control the signals and switches just west of Bellerose station.

The last LIRR towers to formally close were the three control towers around Jamaica: HALL, JAY, and DUNTON, which were consolidated into JCC as part of a major signal upgrade completed in the fall of 2010. Prior to that, PD Tower in Patchogue was made obsolete as part of the Patchogue to Speonk signalization project in 2006. The tower structure itself, which had been nicknamed "the leaning tower of Patchogue" due to its southward slant, was razed on August 22, 2006. As the LIRR continues to move slowly towards Centralized Train Control (CTC), eventually most or all of the railroad's towers will close, with operations relocated to a new operating theater at Jamaica. EAST NEW YORK Tower, which was underground just east of East New York station, was also formally abandoned in September 2001 (after years of being staffed only when it was used), adding up to a grand total of six towers closed to date in the 2000's...

At one point in time, nearly every interlocking facility on the railroad likely had a tower of some sort, and the LIRR has opened and closed hundreds of towers over the course of its history (Steve Lynch's LIRR history website TrainsAreFun  has an extensive list of these facilities, including details about their histories). 1/15/2020 The LIRR Today
 


QY CABIN

QY CABIN:  JCT. OF BELMONT PARK RACE TRACK WITH MAIN LINE EAST OF QUEENS VILLAGE.  (BUILT 1905 S. SIDE OF TRACKS AND EAST OF MADISON AVE. USED ONLY DURING RACING EVENTS AT BELMONT PARK.  POSSIBLY NAMED FOR QUEENS WYE? CLOSED 1924)  Research: Dave Keller


QY Cabin - Belmont Park Junction east of east of Queens Village - View E  c. 1911 Archive: Dave Keller

R TOWER (PRR)

R TOWER (PRR):  SUNNYSIDE, LONG ISLAND CITY (WEST OF HAROLD AVE., NORTH OF THE MAIN IN THE CLASSIFICATION YARD.  71 LEVER, US&S
MODEL 14 ELECTRO-PNEUMATIC MACHINE.  IN SVC:  11/1910.)  Research: Dave Keller


R Tower (PRR) West of Harold Ave - Sunnyside Yard, LI City - View NW 9/05/1960 (Faxon-Keller)

R TOWER

R TOWER:  RICHMOND HILL STORAGE YARD - EAST OF RICHMOND HILL STATION AND MORRIS PARK SHOPS (SOUTH SIDE OF MONTAUK BRANCH TRACKS, NORTH OF MORRIS PARK SHOPS. US&S 23 LEVER MODEL 14 ELECTRO-MECHANICAL MACHINE IN SVC: 1913.
OUT OF SVC: 8/16/1928.)  Research: Dave Keller


R Tower opposite Richmond Hill storage yard - View NW 6/01/1921 Archive: Dave Keller

R Tower - Richmond Hill Yard -1925 (Osborne-Keller)

RACE CABIN

RACE CABIN:  AQUEDUCT RACEWAY (TEMPORARY BLOCK STATION WITH NO FIXED SIGNALS IN SERVICE DURING RACING SEASON ONLY.
EAST SIDE OF TRACKS AND 380' SOUTH [RAILROAD EAST] OF EAST END OF AQUEDUCT STATION. IN SVC:  6/14/54 PER G.O. #2228;   
OUT OF SVC:  7/10/54 PER G.O. #102;  8/30/54 TO 9/21/54 PER G.O. #105;  6/13/55 TO 7/9/55 PER G.O. #204; 
8/29/55 TO 9/20/55
PER G.O. #212.)
  Research: Dave Keller


RACE Cabin - Aqueduct - View N  6/26/1955 (Rugen-Keller)

RK TOWER

RK TOWER: 1  OZONE PARK  - JCT. OF ATLANTIC AND ROCKAWAY  BEACH BRANCHES.  (FORMERLY TOWER #91. ABOVE STATION BUILDING AT
GRADE ON W. SIDE OF TRACKS. TAYLOR 28 LEVER MECHANICAL MACHINE IN SVC:  12/1906.  OUT OF SVC:  5/8/1930 AND RAZED WITH OZONE PARK GRADE
CROSSING ELIMINATION.)  Research: Dave Keller

In this LIRR valuation image from May, 1914, we see the old Ozone Park station at grade.  What was unusual about this depot building is that RK interlocking tower was built as part of the structure, affording a good view down the tracks towards nearby Woodhaven Junction.  This view is looking southwest.  The depot was razed when the tracks were elevated through here in 1931.  (Dave Keller archive)

RO CABIN

RO CABIN: WEST OF ROOSEVELT AVE., VALLEY STREAM, ON FAR ROCKAWAY BRANCH (US&S 3 LEVER STYLE TC TABLE MACHINE IN SVC:  8/31/32 ACCOUNT VALLEY STREAM GRADE CROSSING ELIMINATION. RELOCATED ON ELEVATION N. OF FORMER LOCATION:  2/7/33. 
OUT OF SVC:  4/30/33.)  Research: Dave Keller

 


RO Cabin -Valley Stream - 1933 Archive: Art Huneke

RO Cabin -Valley Stream - 1933 closeup

ROCK TOWER: 1

ROCK TOWER: 1  FAR ROCKAWAY (PREVIOUSLY “FW”  TOWER) SOUTH SIDE OF TRACKS AND EAST OF STATION. IN SVC: 1907.  RENAMED: 5/11/37. OUT OF SVC: 7/8/41.


ROCK Tower, Far Rockaway c.1939 Archive: Art Huneke

ROCK TOWER: 2

ROCK TOWER: 2 FAR ROCKAWAY (LOCATED EAST OF NAMEOKE AVENUE, 576’ EAST OF FORMER LOCATION, ON SOUTH SIDE OF TRACKS. US&S19 LEVER
MODEL 14 ELECTROMECHANICAL MACHINE. IN SVC:  7/8/41. OUT OF SVC: 11/20/50.)  Research: Dave Keller


ROCK Tower: 2 - Nameoke Ave., Far Rockaway - View N 1/1942 Archive: Art Huneke


ROCK Tower: 2 View W c.1948  Archive: Mike Boland

The track curving to the right in front of the camera is the yard lead. Tracks at the left head towards the old Far Rockaway station area. MP19 is visible between the tower and the cars. Nameoke Ave. crosses under the tracks just beyond the crossover in front of the tower.

The tower was placed in service on 7/8/1941 and this view is sometime between then and 11/20/50 when the tower was removed. The new station was opened at Nameoke Ave., on 02/21/58 and the tracks cut back to east of the Ave. Research: Dave Keller

 

 
Far Rockaway (Nameoke Ave.) Station - Abandoned ROCK Tower: 2 View NE - 05/10/58  Archive: Mike Boland

The photo left is historically interesting.  It shows the geographical relationship between the right-of-way after the old Far Rockaway branch tracks have been removed and the "new" Far Rockaway (Nameoke Ave.) station terminal.  Although taken out of service in 1950, the old ROCK tower was still standing, albeit abandoned and boarded-up, as late as May, 1958!  Mike Boland states that, while not used as an interlocking tower after 11/20/1950, the tower continued to be used for storage and other stuff for LIRR employees.

This new, substantial, brick-construction tower had a relatively short life span (1941-1950) after being placed in service when the Far Rockaway / Rockaway Beach branch was elevated on a concrete viaduct between Far Rockaway station and just east of Rockaway Park (Beach 116th St.) terminal yard.  This second "ROCK" tower replaced the first old wooden "ROCK" tower (formerly "FW") located geographically east of the old Far Rockaway station when tracks were at-grade.    (Dave Keller data)


ROCKY INTERLOCKING

ROCKY INTERLOCKING (R.C.) 2,750’ EAST OF ROCKVILLE CENTRE (REMOTE FROM “VALLEY” OR “BABYLON.” IN SVC: 4/30/83.)  Research: Dave Keller


S CABIN: 2

S CABIN: 2   SYOSSET (N. SIDE OF TRACKS AT END OF DBL. TRACK. 2 LEVER DWARF GROUND FRAME IN SVC: 1914.  MANUAL BLOCK SIGNALS IN SVC: 9/8/1915 PER ETT #79 (Art Huneke data), OUT OF SVC: 4/1/38. UNATTENDED BLOCK STATION IN SVC: 4/1/38 WHEN SPRING SWITCH INSTALLED. US&S STYLE TC TABLE MACHINE IN SVC. PART-TIME: 6/12/49. BLOCK STATION OUT OF SVC. PER G.O. #811 EFF: 10/07/61 AND CABIN LATER REMOVED.  Research: Dave Keller


SG CABIN
SG CABIN: 1  THOMPSON’S SIDING: W. OF BRENTWOOD (N. SIDE OF TRACKS AND W. OF 2ND ST. BLOCK OFFICE WITH US&S 4 LEVER STYLE TC TABLE MACHINE IN SERVICE: 6/28/1916 PER ETT #82.  PERMISSIVE BLOCK ASPECT ADDED TO BLOCK SIGNALS: 6/25/1928.  OUT OF SVC:    10/26/1931.  UNATTENDED BLOCK STATION IN SVC. CONTINUOUSLY: 10/26/31. BLOCK STATION MANNED “SUMMERS ONLY.”  PARTIAL DATES AVAILABLE AS FOLLOWS:
IN SVC:  6/23/35, O.O.S:  9/15/35
IN SVC:  6/21/36, O.O.S:  9/  ?/36
IN SVC:  6/20/37, O.O.S:  9/  ?/37
CABIN CLOSED: 9/37 – 1943.  PER G.O. #601, BLOCK AND BLOCK LIMIT STATION RELOCATED TO E. END OF PINEAIRE SIDING, N. OF MAIN TRACK. IN SVC: 6/11/44. OUT OF SVC:  10/4/66. PER G.O. #112.)  Research: Dave Keller

SG Cabin signal west of Brentwood - View E 1925
(Osborne-Keller)


"SG" Interlocking  - 1959 Archive: Dave Keller

The double-ended passing siding is indicated in its entirety (west switch and east switch) as meets were held here.  In later years, when "SG" cabin and signal were relocated west of Fifth Ave. crossing, the passing siding was reconfigured and meets were held between Fifth Ave. where the east end of the siding was located and just short of Pine Aire where the west end of the siding was located.


SG Cabin - Thompson's siding 10/1966


Looking northeast, the old wooden "SG" block office cabin is seen here in early October, 1966 on what was probably its last day of operation at this location at Thompson's Siding, just west of the Brentwood station. The block station is displaying the yellow train order board signal advising the expected eastbound train there's a train order to be caught on-the-fly.  This little cabin was taken out of service on 10/04/1966 per G.O. #112 and was replaced further west by a brick and block cabin on the north side of the tracks and on the west side of Fifth Avenue in Brentwood.  Thompson's Siding was truncated and a new passing siding running from Fifth Avenue to the east side of Pine Aire station was constructed at the new "SG" cabin with new block signals installed.  (Art Huneke photo, Dave Keller archive)


"SG" Cabin - Thompson's Siding west of Brentwood - View W   This October, 1966 view shows the cabin as relocated further east, back on June 11, 1944.  
Photo/Archive: Dave Keller

Note: The train order board displayed on the trackside wall of the cabin.  It has the black side with white stripe facing the photographer, meaning the yellow side is facing the other way, to advise an eastbound train engineer there are orders for him to pick up here.

You can see the jog in the passing siding to accommodate the distant (and very tall) position light signal as indicated on Emery's map (below. Very distant is the Sagtikos Parkway overpass west of Pine Aire! Dave Keller


Emery map - Brentwood MP40-41 5/1958 prior to when "SG" cabin was placed out of service, the passing siding and new cabin relocated on the west side of Fifth Ave. in Brentwood. Archive/Info: Dave Keller

SG CABIN: 2 W. OF BRENTWOOD (EARLY SITE OF THOMPSON'S STATION,  2,292’ WEST OF FORMER CABIN LOCATION, N. SIDE OF TRACKS AND W. OF FIFTH AVENUE. 2 LEVER TABLE MACHINE.  IN SVC: 10/4/66.  BLOCK AND BLOCK LIMIT STATION OUT OF SVC:  9/14/87 WITH ELECTRIFICATION PROJECT)  Research: Dave Keller


Relocated  “SG” cabin on the west side of  5th Avenue and north of the tracks. This cabin is just east of MP 40, view west in 1969. Photo/Archive: Dave Keller

SG Cabin  - View NW 1977 Photo/Archive: Richard Makse

SG Cabin west of Brentwood  - View NE
7/07/1979 (Madden-Keller)

SP TOWER

SP TOWER: 2  SPRINGFIELD JCT. – JCT. WITH OLD SOUTHERN ROAD (S.S.R.R. OF L.I.) - ROSEDALE (IN SVC:  5/12/1906 ON SIGNAL BRIDGE WEST OF FOSTER’S MEADOW RD. AND APPROX 1,000’ EAST OF EARLIER TOWER #19 PER G.O. #12: 5/10/1906.  16 LEVER JOHNSON STYLE "A" MECHANICAL MACHINE.  OUT OF SVC: 9/10/1923)   Research: Dave Keller


1923 shot of SP interlocking tower, built on a signal bridge, controlling Springfield Junction, the start of the Springfield branch just west of Rosedale J. V. Osborne photo, Dave Keller archive

SR CABIN

SR CABIN: W. OF LAURELTON (S. SIDE OF TRACKS AND E. OF SPRINGFIELD BLVD. IN SERVICE: 1912 – 1923)  Research: Dave Keller


SR Cabin - Laurelton-1923 (Osborne-Keller)

SW CABIN

SW CABIN:  NEW HYDE PARK ROAD, STEWART MANOR (SOUTH SIDE OF TRACKS AT E. END OF STATION PLATFORM AND W. SIDE OF NEW HYDE PARK RD. BLOCK STATION IN SVC:  7/30/32.  OUT OF SVC: 10/8/34 WHEN BLOCK STATION RELOCATED TO STATION TICKET OFFICE.)  Research: Dave Keller


SW Cabin - Stewart Manor - View E 1933 Archive: Art Huneke

TOWER #9

TOWER #9:  GLENDALE (c. 1903: S. SIDE OF TRACKS AND E. OF COOPER AVE. RENAMED “GW”: 1907 DUE TO PROXIMITY OF GLENDALE WELLS. SEE: "GW" TOWER)  Research: Dave Keller


TOWER 9 (GW) - Glendale Station - View E 1906 Archive: Dave Keller

TOWER #41: 2

TOWER #41: 2  “OLD” JAMAICA / “EAST END OF JAMAICA” (SOUTH SIDE OF TRACKS AND EAST SIDE OF JAMAICA STATION.  ALL ELECTRIC. IN SVC:  JUNE 29, 1906 PER G.O. 53.  RENAMED “JE” IN 1907.)  Research: Dave Keller


TOWER #41: 2 Jamaica - View W 6/1906
 Archive: Dave Keller

TOWER #43: 1

TOWER #43 : 1  E. HINSDALE – JCT.OF EX-CRR OF L.I. CREEDMOOR AND CENTRAL BRANCHES WITH L.I.R.R. MAIN LINE (OPENED OCT/1887 NORTH SIDE OF TRACKS AND EAST OF TULIP AVE., ABOVE 1878 EX-STEWART JUNCTION. DEPOT. 24 LEVER MECHANICAL MACHINE. STATION RENAMED FLORAL PARK IN 1890. SHARED CALLS OF “JN” WITH 1ST FLOOR DEPOT. TOWER RE-NUMBERED #47 WITH INSTALLATION OF BLOCK SYSTEM BETWEEN ROCKAWAY JCT. AND FLORAL PARK: 1894. #43 REASSIGNED TO HOLLIS UPON OPENING.)  Research: Dave Keller


Stewart Jct., Hinsdale - Floral Park integral interlocking TOWER #43: 1 Archive: Art Huneke

TOWER #45: 1

TOWER #45: 1  MINEOLA (BRICK TOWER IN SVC: 1890 SOUTH SIDE OF MAIN LINE TRACKS AT  EAST END OF WOODEN STATION PLATFORM, EAST OF MINEOLA BLVD. TO CONTROL JCT. OF MINEOLA-HEMPSTEAD  AND OYSTER BAY BRANCHES WITH MAIN LINE. SAXBY & FARMER 52 LEVER MECHANICAL MACHINE. TOWER RENUMBERED #48 WHEN BLOCK SYSTEM INSTALLED FURTHER EAST AND MORE TOWERS PLACED IN SERVICE:  1894.  #45 REASSIGNED TO QUEENS UPON OPENING. RENAMED “MT”: 1907.)  Research: Dave Keller


TOWER #45: 1 Mineola c.1905 Archive: Dave Keller

TOWER #47

TOWER #47:  FLORAL PARK (EX-STEWART JUNCTION.  PREVIOUSLY TOWER #43: 1. RENUMBERED IN 1894 WITH INSTALLATION OF BLOCK SYSTEM FROM THE WEST AND MORE TOWERS PLACED IN SERVICE. ORIGINALLY SHARED CALLS OF “JN” WITH 1ST FLOOR DEPOT.  RENAMED “FP”: 1907.  THESE CALLS ARE INDICATED IN THE LIRR JOB POSTINGS LIST OF 9/20/1907. TOWER RAZED WITH OLD STATION BLDG. WHEN NEW, RELOCATED STATION [JULY, 1909] AND NEW, FREE-STANDING “FK” TOWER:1 [1909] PLACED IN SVC.) 
Research: Dave Keller


TOWER #47 - Floral Park Station - View NE 1898 Archive: Dave Keller

TOWER #50

TOWER #50: EAST END OF WINFIELD STATION PLATFORM.  IN SVC: c. 1880s.  Research: Dave Keller


TOWER 50 (background) - Winfield Station c. 1894 Archive: Dave Keller

TOWER #74½

TOWER #74½  OCEAN AVENUE TROLLEY CROSSING – OCEAN AVE.,BKLYN. ON BAY RIDGE BRANCH.  (WOODEN TOWER BUILT SOUTH OF TRACKS JUST BEYOND EAST END OF MANHATTAN BEACH JCT. STATION PLATFORM.  TOWER WAS CLOSED FOR WINTER AND SWITCHES WERE CONTROLLED FROM TOWER 75 AT THE JUNCTION WEST OF TOWER 74 ½ AND JUST WEST OF THE MANHATTAN BEACH JCT. STATION. CLOSED: 1907 WITH GRADE ELIMINATION PROJECT.)  Research: Dave Keller


Tower 74.5 - Ocean Ave. Trolley crossing - Brooklyn - c. 1906 Archive: Art Huneke

TOWER #75

TOWER #75: 1  MANHATTAN BEACH JCT. (WEST OF OCEAN AVE., BROOKLYN, RAILROAD EAST) JCT. OF BAY RIDGE AND MANHATTAN BEACH BRANCHES (BRICK TOWER ON BAY RIDGE BRANCH NORTH OF TRACKS AND DIRECTLY OPPOSITE THE JCT.  WYE.  IN SVC: c. 1885.  LAST LISTED IN ETT AND CR4 OF 1903 AS INTERLOCKING.  CONTINUED AS A TRAIN ORDER AND TRAIN REPORTING OFFICE AND BLOCK STATION WHEN RACES RUN AT CONEY ISLAND JOCKEY CLUB. REMAINED IN SITU AT GRADE WHEN TRACKS DEPRESSED FOR GRADE ELIMINATION PROJECT: 1909.  OUT OF SVC: c. 1910 WITH
DISCONTINUANCE OF RACE TRAINS. STILL INDICATED ON LIRR BLUEPRINT OF 1915 AS STILL STANDING, BUT NOTED AS “ABANDONED.”) 
Research: Dave Keller

 
Tower #75 and Station - Manhattan Beach Jct. - View W  1905 Archive: Dave Keller


Tower 75-Manhattan Beach Jct. and Station after Grade Elimination project. Tower remained at grade while the tracks were depressed.  View W - 1910 Archive: Art Huneke

 


TOWER #79

TOWER #79:  SHEEPSHEAD BAY, BKLYN. ON MANHATTAN BEACH BRANCH (TOWER LOCATED AT EAST SIDE OF TRACKS AND SOUTH OF SHEEPSHEAD BAY RD. PROBABLY GONE BY 1909 WITH GRADE ELIMINATION AND TRACK RELOCATION.)  Research: Dave Keller


TOWER 79 -heepshead Bay - 1903 Archive: Art Huneke
 
TOWER #7

TOWER #79½:  SHEEPSHEAD BAY JCT. - EMMONS AVE. (LATER NEPTUNE AVE.) TROLLEY CROSSING - NORTH OF MANHATTAN BEACH STATION ON W. SIDE OF MANHATTAN BEACH BRANCH TRACKS AND NORTH SIDE OF EMMONS (NEPTUNE) AVE. (16 LEVER MACHINE IN SVC: 10/1898 OR 12/1898.  REBUILT WITH
20 LEVER MECHANICAL MACHINE IN SVC: 6/11/1906.  RENAMED “SQ” IN 1907.) 
Research: Dave Keller


TOWER 79½ - Sheepshead Bay Jct., Emmons Ave. Crossing - View W  - 7/1903 Archive: Art Huneke

TOWER #93

TOWER #93:  WEST END TRESTLE (HAMILTON BEACH)  (E. SIDE OF TRACKS AND S. OF STATION. NORTH OF JAMAICA BAY TRESTLE ON LAND. 16-LEVER S&F
MECHANICAL MACHINE IN SVC:  06/011904. RENAMED “WD” IN 1907.) 
Research: Dave Keller


TOWER 93 (WD) - West end of Trestle - Hamilton Beach - View N - c. 1917 Archive: Art Huneke

TOWER A

TOWER A:  LONG ISLAND CITY PSGR. YARD (W. SIDE OF VERNON AVENUE, IN CENTER OF PLATFORM ACCESS TRACKS.  4-STOREY STRUCTURE REPLACED
TOWER #1.  167 LEVER WESTINGHOUSE ELECTRO-PNEUMATIC MACHINE IN SVC:  11/6/1904. LAST LISTED IN ETT #72 OF 10/21/1913.)  Research: Dave Keller


TOWER A - LI City passenger yard 1904
Archive: Art Huneke


TOWER A - LI City passenger yard 1904 - Archive: Art Huneke


TOWER A -  LI City passenger yard - View W Archive: Art Huneke

LI City passenger yard diagram TOWER A at center Archive: Art Huneke


VALLEY TOWER

VALLEY TOWER:  VALLEY STREAM – JCT. OF FAR ROCKAWAY AND WEST HEMPSTEAD BRANCHES WITH MONTAUK BRANCH. (FORMER    LY “VA”. US&S 35 LEVER MODEL 14 ELECTRO-PNEUMATIC MACHINE.  RENAMED: 4/30/37.  QUINDAR ELECTRONICS ALL RELAY CONTROL PANEL CONTROLLING SIGNALS AND SWITCHES AT “ROCKY” AND “PORT” IN SVC:  4/30/83. ALSTOM PTM OFFICE CONTROL SYSTEM FOR CONTROL OF W. HEMPSTEAD INTERLOCKING IN SVC:  12/31/2004.  Research: Dave Keller


VA Tower No.2 In service: 6/27/33 after VA Tower: 1 razed with 1933 grade elimination. Renamed “VALLEY”: 4/30/37 Photo: LIRR valuation  Archive: Art Huneke Data: Dave Keller


VALLEY Tower - Valley Stream 1967
Dave Keller photo and archive


VALLEY Tower - View E  2007


VAN TOWER

VAN TOWER:  VANDERBILT AVE., BROOKLYN (“VD” YARD) (PREVIOUSLY “VD” TOWER. 11-LEVER US&S MODEL 14 ELECTRO-MECHANICAL MACHINE IN SVC: 8/3/1906. MACHINE INCREASED TO 19 LEVERS: ? RENAMED: 4/15/37. UNDERGROUND LOCATION. CLOSED: SUMMER/1999)  Research: Dave Keller


VAN Tower interlocking machine and model board Vanderbilt Ave. Yard, Brooklyn - 4/1978
Wm. Madden photo, Dave Keller archive

WA CABIN

WA CABIN:  EAST WILLISTON (S. SIDE OF TRACKS AND 1,270  W. OF STATION.  TEMPORARY BLOCK STATION IN SVC:  3/25/36 ACCOUNT JERICHO TPKE. (ROUTE 25) GRADE CROSSING ELIMINATION.  USED IN CONJUNCTION WITH “NI” CABIN. OUT OF SVC: 8/31/36 WITH COMPLETION OF GRADE CROSSING ELIMINATION.  Research: Dave Keller


WA Cabin  - East Williston temporary for Jericho Tpke
Grade Elimination - View E 8/27/1936 (eBay)

WIN TOWER

WIN TOWER:  WINFIELD, QUEENS – JCT. OF MAIN LINE AND PORT WASHINGTON BRANCH (N. SIDE DIVISION) (WINFIELD JCT.) (PREVIOUSLY
“WJ” TOWER, TOWER #35. RENAMED: 4/16/37. 40 LEVER G.R.S. ELECTRO-MECHANICAL MACHINE. US&S 5 LEVER STYLE TC TABLE MACHINE
TO CONTROL ROCKAWAY BEACH TRACKS TO WHITE POT JUNCTION IN SVC:  8/12/54. DESTROYED BY FIRE AND PLACED OUT OF SVC: 3/28/77.
(per N. Y. Times: 3/29/77)  NORMAL DIRECTION HOME SIGNALS MODIFIED TO AUTOMATICALLY FLEET, AS AUTOMATIC BLOCK SIGNALS. PLANS DRAWN UP EFF. 5/02/77 TO REBUILD THE INTERLOCKING AND MOVE THE TABLE-TOP MACHINE INTO THE OLD SUB-STATION BUILDING BUT THIS WAS NEVER  ACCOMPLISHED.  (Jeff Erlitz data post fire) 
 Research: Dave Keller


WIN Tower, Winfield Junction  -  View SW 8/65


WIN Tower - Winfield Junction after the fire 3/29/1977 
Archive: Dave Morrison


WIN Tower  View NW 1968 
Photo/Archive: Art Huneke


WIN Interlocking blueprint 12/20/1940 Archive: Stephen McEvoy


WIN Tower Winfield Jct., Woodside Model Board Interlocking Machine Photo/Archive: Art Huneke

 
WIN Tower Winfield Jct., Woodside 8/1974 
Photo/Archive: John Ciesla

WJ TOWER

WJ TOWER: 2  WINFIELD JUNCTION., QUEENS - JCT. OF MAIN LINE AND PORT WASHINGTON BRANCH (NORTH SIDE DIVISION). NORTH SIDE OF PORT WASHINGTON BRANCH [NORTH SIDE DIVISION) E. OF JUNCTION AND SOUTHEAST OF INTERSECTION OF THOMPSON AND GREENPOINT AVES., S. SIDE OF TRACKS.  FORMERLY TOWER #35. S&F MECHANICAL MACHINE IN SVC: 1884. REBUILT: 3/1/1898. MOVED: 12/1915,  SOUTH SIDE OF TRACKS, .7 MILES EAST OF WOODSIDE. 40-LEVER GRS MODEL 2 UNIT LEVER TYPE ELECTRO-MECHANICAL MACHINE IN SVC: 1908.  RENAMED “WIN”: 4/16/37.)  Research: Dave Keller


WJ Tower--Winfield Junction - East of Woodside c.1910 Archive: Dave Keller


WJ Tower Winfield Jct.  interior c.1910 Archive: Dave Morrison


WJ Tower c.1925 (Ziel-Boland)


WT TOWER

WT TOWER:  WOODHAVEN JCT (1903 CR4). – JCT. OF ATLANTIC AND ROCKAWAY BEACH BRANCHES. (ON ATLANTIC BRANCH, SOUTH SIDE OF TRACKS,  WEST OF STATION AND EAST OF JCT. FORMERLY TOWER #66. 12 LEVER SAXBY & FARMER MECHANICAL MACHINE INSTALLED BY 1884. RENAMED “WT” IN 1907 POSSIBLY FOR WOODHAVEN TOWER?  SAXBY & FARMER 32 LEVER MECHANICAL MACHINE IN SVC: 11/01/1922. RENAMED  “HAVEN” TOWER 1: 4/15/37.)  Research: Dave Keller


WT Tower - Woodhaven Junction, Atlantic Branch 4/24/1918
Archive: Dave Keller

WT tower - Woodhaven Jct. on Atlantic Branch (View E) - Connection to Rockaway Branch at right.  Atlantic branch at left behind picket fence.  Depot and LIRR substation in center background - c. 1925 (J. V. Osborne photo, Dave Keller archive)
 

 Y CABIN

Y CABIN: EAST OF SAYVILLE (SAXBY & FARMER 4 LEVER MECHANICAL MACHINE. IN SERVICE: 11/27/1917 ON N. SIDE OF TRACKS AT END OF DBL. TRACK.  TEMPORARILY OUT OF SERVICE:  1/8/1930.  NEW, TEMPORARY CABIN LOCATED ON N. SIDE OF TRACKS AND WEST SIDE OF LINCOLN AVE., 3,000’ WEST OF FORMER LOCATION, IN SVC:  1/8/1930 ALONG WITH CUTBACK OF END OF DOUBLE TRACK WEST OF CROSSING, ACCOUNT MONTAUK HWY (ROUTE 27) GRADE CROSSING ELIMINATION. TEMPORARY CABIN OUT OF SVC: 6/30/1930.  END OF DOUBLE TRACK MOVED BACK TO ORIGINAL LOCATION AFTER COMPLETION OF PROJECT, FORMER CABIN RELOCATED TO SOUTH SIDE OF TRACKS, PLACED BACK IN SERVICE:  6/30/1930. PERMANENTLY OUT OF SVC:  6/7/39.  SPRING SWITCH INSTALLED.  PROTECTED BY “PD” SIGNAL #16 CONTROLLED FROM “PD” TOWER: 6/7/39.)   Research: Dave Keller


Y Cabin east of Sayville c.1925
J. V. Osborne photo, Dave Keller archive


Y Cabin east of Sayville c.1929
Archive: Art Huneke


Blueprint of Y Cabin after Montauk Hwy. grade elimination project completed and former end of double track reinstated – 1930 Cabin moved to south side of tracks.  Archive: Art Huneke

MORE Y CABIN


 Y INTERLOCKING

Y INTERLOCKING: (R.C.) EAST OF SAYVILLE (BLOCK STATION CONTROLLED FROM “PD.” IN SVC: 06/07/39. OUT OF SVC: 05/06/2006 WITH CLOSING OF "PD" TOWER.)   Research: Dave Keller

 


Y Interlocking  view E of Sayville  5/2021 Photos/Archive: Craig Lignelli

 

LIRR ACTIVE TOWERS - 2008

LIRR active towers 2008 (not counting PSCC and West Side Yard):

Jay
Hall
Dunton
Queens
Brook
Divide
Nassau
Babylon
Valley
Lead

Harold is only opened in the event that PSCC goes down. Right now it's a lounge for signalmen and track workers.

CTC is in the inevitable future, but not all towers have computer controls yet. Jay, Hall and Dunton still have their Model 14s. Up until recently, Queens did too, but with the interlocking work, they've switched over to computers. Haven't been up in Valley for some time. They may have a few levers left, don't know. PD tower is gone - it's now 261, automatic block from PD to SK controlled by Babylon Tower. 

What I've heard is that they would like to centralize the operation, much like Metro North has done, with one control center in Jamaica (Air Train bldg). How long this takes, who knows. Get your pictures and visit the towers while they're still around. Passed Hall tower today in the wee hours of the morning with the whole interlocking aglow from switch heaters. What a sight 

Jay is located at the west end of Jamaica station
Hall is at the east end
Queens is just north of the Belmont wye (near Belmont racetrack)
Nassau is at the east end of Mineola station
Divide is at the east end of Hicksville station, where the Mainline and Port Jeff branches split
Valley is at the east end of Valley Stream station
Lead is atop a drawbridge which connects Island Park and Long Beach
Brook is at the east end of Flatbush Avenue station, south of track two
Dunton is at the throat of the yard to Morris ParkPort Washington yard and Wood, Shea, Bay and Neck Interlockings are all controlled by Section A as of 2008.


LIRR ACTIVE TOWERS - 2020

BABYLON
BROOK: 2
DIVIDE
LEAD
VALLEY